We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect break!”
Review of Ardtorna B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardtorna B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Barcaldine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I can't fault the service provided by Karen, Sean and Fiona - the location, food, room, general service and value for money is all brilliant. Following a hectic work schedule I decided to surprise my fiancee with a weekend break away from Glasgow. We left Saturday morning and visited Oban then arrived at ArdTorna around 3.30pm.

ArdTorna is not a B&B - it's an exceptional boutique retreat where the service from start to finish is of the highest standards.

Tips for people about to visit: definitely ask Karen about Eriska & book before arriving. The restaurant was fully booked when we arrived but sounded excellent. Karen recommended Coast in Oban which was brilliant too!

We'll both be back in the future!

Highlights: The warm welcome, friendly & approachable hosts, home made baking, breakfast, the amazing view & the best nights sleep in at least 6 months!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2011

Thank you for taking time to post a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was most certainly a pleasure to meet you both.
I was sorry I was unable to book a table for you at The Isle of Eriska Hotel. Perhaps next time...
They have just won 'Hotel Restaurant of the year ' this week. It isan amazing experience to dine there , and for such a reasonable price.
Give us plenty notice next time , and we can book a table for you and drop you off on the private island too. We offer this service for all of our guests eating at the hotel.

Karen Webster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2011

We recently had a fantastic one night break at Ardtorna, during our Highland tour. We received a very warm welcome from Karen and Sean, who really are the perfect hosts. We were shown to our luxurious room, complete with superking size bed, ensuite comprising of a wet room and complete with Molton Brown toiletries. The view from the room was stunning , overlooking the loch and part of the surrounding forestland ... a real treat to wake up to. It was the little touches like the homemade shortbread and traditional Scottish "Granny's Tablet" that Karen and Sean put in each room,together with the white fluffy robes,and not forgetting the amazing variety of breakfast choices in the morning, that make this B&B outstanding and an experience we will not forget. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wisteria36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2011

Thank you for taking time to post a review on Ardtorna. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us , and I hope it is not too long before we are welcoming you back again...

Karen Webster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This was my second visit to Ardtorna but this time with my partner. I had told him how amazing this place was but he couldnt believe just how amazing when he saw it himself! This time was even better than the first trip! The rooms have been decorated more and there are lots more extra touches that just make the house more and more perfect! We had some amazing home made shortbread and tablet in our room along with baileys,whiskey,coffee ice and water along the corridor. The rooms are just breathtaking and the view from the dining room is so beautiful. The owners are so friendly and will do anything they can to make your stay enjoyable. Breakfast is delicious with such a vast choice but also extras like homemade banana pancakes and soda bread! We had a walk at a nearby mountain which was recommended by the owners and was excellent! There are lots of things to do nearby but sitting outside the B&B with a glass of wine taking in the views is enough! We would recommend this place to anyone as it is so peaceful, luxurious and heavenly! Cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krispy1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It was great to be able to welcome you back again. We enjoyed meeting your boyfriend on this trip. We do hope it will not be too long until we welcome you back to Ardtorna again.

Karen Webster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Had a superb weekend away in style and comfort. Quality and attention to detail makes this B & B a treat! A friendly welcome from Karen, Sean and Fiona, a sumptuous bed, a jacuzzi, a view over the loch, peace and tranquility, a breakfast feast, superb coffee and much, much more.
Thanks for a perfect 3 night stay. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you both ,and we look forward to seeing you back at Ardtorna soon.

Karen Webster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Just rerturned home from 2 excellent nights at the ardtorna with my wife, we had seen Ardtorna on the hotel website and thought we would book it because it looked mordern & a nice place to spend a weekend away. As soon as we arrived we realised why this is a 5 star B&B from the warm welcome we received from Karen & Sean, the attention to detail is incredible, from complimentary chocolates, Whisky, specialised coffees & Molton Brown toiletries to the sophisticated modern decor. The super kingsized bed was extremely comfortable in fact the best nights sleep my wife has had in years.

On the first night we ordered room service food, an antipasti board for two, and were blown away by the value for money & quick service. The breakfast is also excellent, and a vast choice is available for all tastes. We were also privileged to take up the offer of day passes to the Isle of Eriska Hotel & Spa, which is an exclusive resort set in the peaceful tranquility of it's own island. I would recommend anyone staying at the Ardtorna to take up the opportunity that Karen & Sean can offer, as this is an exclusive members and hotel residents only. 2 day passes are available at a very reasonable price. The resort offers the use of the swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi & steam room, as well as discounts on spa treatments. There is also a 9 hole golf course on the island as well as other activities.

We would definately recommend the Ardtorna & we look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevieKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Ardtorna. We enjoyed meeting you both , and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am glad the Antipasti platter went down well. I have to say they do look fabulous when they are laid out on the trolleys...One of these nights I am going to sit down and enjoy one all to myself !

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the spa at the Isle of Eriska Hotel. It is such an amazing place in the most tranquil setting on its own private island.

I look forward to welcoming you both back again in the not too distant future.

Karen Webster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Just spent 4 delightful nights at this wonderful place,,, booked as a surprise for my girlfriend and a treat for myself!!! Have to say I dithered for some time between Ardtorna and a similarly well reviewed hotel in the same area, mainly due to having reservations about the whole B&B thing from previous,, let's say,, "interesting" B&B experiences!
Needless to say I'm 110% certain I made the right choice,,, Karen and Sean are perfect hosts, unobtrusive yet wonderfully friendly and helpful and it would seem very much determined to provide their customers with nothing short of the finest facilities and service.
The rooms are a delight,, the beds almost too damn comfortable,,, breakfasts are bloody great and set you up till tea time,,, trust me I'm an active bloke and no slouch when it comes to eating!!! You already heard about all the complimentaries, the views, the bathrooms and the rest so i won't go on.
Suffice to say Karen and Sean will most definitely be receiving my repeat custom later in the year when by the sound of things they will be offering even more guest services and I’m feeling another treat is due.
Don't dither,,,, just book,,, go there,,, relax and enjoy,,, you won't regret it,,, you just won't want to leave,,, we didn't!!
Thank you Karen, Sean and Fiona.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fartydonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Ardtorna. It was a pleasure to meet ,and chat to you both over your 4 night stay.
I am delighted to hear that you felt that you had made the right choice by staying with us.
We all enjoy welcoming people to Ardtorna , and to recieve such glowing reviews is a delight !

Karen Webster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Stayed here for two nights and it was everything anyone could want.The views from the room were amazing and the room was very stylish and comfortable. We had every luxury including Molton Brown toiletries,complimentary chocolates and fluffy bath robes. The power shower was great as was the jaccuzi bath. My highlight was the great breakfast - all you could eat and more . the home made banana bread was a delight! Karen, Sean and Fiona couldn't do enough for you but weren't over intrusive just helpful with suggested trips and ideas.A complimentary dram in the evenings was greatly appreciated!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auchans3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehouseconnel, Owner at Ardtorna B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us. You are correct , Fiona's banana bread is amazing ! We do love it when she arrives every morning with her box of fresh home baking.......
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Ardtorna in the not too distant future.

Karen Webster.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcaldine
4.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
2.7 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
15.4 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
640 reviews
15 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardtorna B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardtorna B&B

Address: Mill Farm, Barcaldine PA37 1SE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Barcaldine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barcaldine
Price Range: £182 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ardtorna B&B 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ardtorna is a purpose built eco friendly property. It is Scotlands only 5 star gold bed and breakfast with the AA. In 2013 it won the best ' Guest House / B and B for Scotland with the AA, Visit Scotland and The Scottish Hotel Awards, making it the first time in history that all 3 organisations picked the same accommodation ! It picked the title again of " Best Guest House for Scotland ' in 2015 from The Scottish Hotel awards. All the deluxe bedrooms with vaulted ceilings are en-suite with either a spa bath and a high powered shower or a colour changing wet room. Each bedroom has spectacular loch views. Each room has full sized Molton Brown toiletries, TV, I pod docking station, DVD player,fresh flowers, Hand made chocolates, fluffy bath robes, gigantic bath towels, hospitality tray, etc are a few of the items for you to enjoy while staying at our amazing property. Scones straight from the oven are served with clotted cream and home made jam between 4 and 6 pm on the day of arrival. Each bedroom has a fridge with complimentary items such as nuts, sweets etc.During a stay at Ardtorna guests can help themselves to complimentary Malt Whisky and Home Made Whisky Cream Liqueur. Spa and golf passes are complimentary for any 3 night stays ( This must be arranged at the time of booking , and is subject to availability ). Please contact us directly by booking on our own web site or by e mail - this is always the cheapest option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ardtorna B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardtorna Hotel Barcaldine
Ardtorna Bed And Breakfast
Ardtorna B&B Barcaldine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing