We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B”
Review of Loch Creran View

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Loch Creran View
Ranked #2 of 3 Barcaldine B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The owners welcomed us with open arms and made our stay there very pleasant. Peter and Edith were enjoyable to sit and talk with and helpful with local information. Edith told us about a drive she likes to take on occasion and it is spectacular. The breakfasts were excellent I would recommend the poached haddock if it available.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochcreran74, Owner at Loch Creran View, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Many thanks for the review you gave us we really appreciate you taking the time to write it. We are glad hat you enjoyed your stay, Peter especially enjoyed the stories that you both shared!! Hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to you returning sometime, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed one night at this b&b. Even thought we were late, we still had a great welcome by Peter. Peter and Edith are both very warm and welcoming people. The rooms we stayed in were very nice and comfortable. The view from the house is beautifull, We only wished we could have stayed longer, and are sure not to make that mistake again if we come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mast_Lia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochcreran74, Owner at Loch Creran View, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Many many thanks for the wonderful review that you gave us, we really appreciate you taking the time to write it. Peter and I enjoy meeting the guests for all the different parts of the world. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return sometime, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

we have stayed at this bed and b reakfast twice before and were so glad there were vacancies for our dates because this by far is one of the best bed and breakfasts we have stayed in .we stay in at least 14 each year so we know a good one when we find it.peter and edith do all they can to ensure a perfect stay. the views from the windows are fantastic but what makes it stand out from similar establishments is the absolute attention to detail andl the lovely little touches - fresh pastries in your room plenty of milk tea bags coffee etc.the room and en-suite are so clean and fresh and have everything you need. the breakfast is delicious.we cannot fault it in any way.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisyOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochcreran74, Owner at Loch Creran View, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Many thanks for the superb review that you gave us, it was so nice to see you again and it is always a good sign when guests return. Wishing you both well and look forward to your next return visit, kindest regards, Edith and Peter, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I cannot recommend this beautifully situated BNB enough. The room over looking the Loch was spacious, clean and bright with a spectacular view. The drinks tray included chocolates, plenty of biscuits and complimentary fudge. There was also a plate of pancakes and jam! The breakfast was lovely too. Our hosts Pete and Edith are lovely people very welcoming and knowledgeable of the area and passionate about Scotland. Very highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank punkrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochcreran74, Owner at Loch Creran View, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Many thanks for the wonderful review that you gave us, we appreciate you taking the time to write the review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our aim is to make guests feel welcome and have a pleasant stay. We look forward to you returning again and wish you well, thanks again Peter and Edith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Wonderful B&B. Highly recommended. Breath taking views over the lake. Sparkling, cosy room with a lot of space. Landlords are very helpful and welcoming. Brilliant breakfast. It's all together more than you need. Definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for tips how to see the most going by car to Oban.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krzysztof p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochcreran74, Owner at Loch Creran View, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write the superb review you gave us, we truely appreciate it and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you both again, thanks. Kindest regards Peter and Edith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This B&B has it all! It really does have a fantastic view - from the guests' lounge/dining-room and from any window at the front. Our large double had plenty of space, an en-suite and the view over the loch. Edith is excellent at e-mail communication and has thought of everything: there was not just tea/coffee making equipment and the more usual accompaniments, but scones+butter+jam the first day and iced cake on the second. Breakfast, whether traditional Scottish or a more diet-friendly poached smoked haddock was excellent in any case.

It's in an excellent position for travel, up a short drive by the main Oban-Fort William Road (despite what the map on Tripadvisor wrongly indicated when I booked...). There is a pretty similar alternative at Irene's farm opposite, where we had stayed before and we'll be very happy to stay at either in the future. Have a look at Hugh's pots at the Argyll Pottery opposite: this is seriously good studio pottery, favourably comparable with Winchcombe, for example.

Room Tip: If you want the view - which is outstanding - you'll be facing the main road, but well above it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eburacensis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochcreran74, Owner at Loch Creran View, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on our B&B, we take great pride in our house and are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you both back again, many thanks again, Edith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Very family B&B.One simply feels at home. Real cosy rooms and an incredible breakfast. And the view is amazing. In addition to the rooms, a small living room for the guests can also be used.
The only problem might be, that you can easily drive by if you don't see the sign. We felt very welcome even though we didn't have a reservation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lochcreran74, Owner at Loch Creran View, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Loch Creran View, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We enjoy meeting our guests and take pride in making guests feel at home. Many thanks again and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Loch Creran View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Creran View

Address: Barcaldine PA37 1SE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Barcaldine
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Barcaldine
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Loch Creran View Barcaldine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing