We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilmelford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Melfort Pier & Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The perfect getaway”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My husband is in a wheelchair and we find it difficult finding suitable cottages to stay that cater for his needs. The cottage we stayed in had everything we could need plus more, right down to especially adapted sweeping brush. The views are breath taking and I have never had such a warm welcome. Hazel and Oscar made us feel very at home, especially with the dog biscuits from Oscar himself. Ideal place to recharge your batteries, paint, read and get away from the rat race. Can't wait to return in the very near future

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsmaleeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    28
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
54
109
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Calder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We booked the one bedroom Bridge Deck and had a lovely stay. In Mid November, we were expecting typically wet and cold weather but didn't plan on doing much anyway, we wanted just a lazy few days.

Anyway, a very warm welcome on arrival and we had previously been advised of a special offer of an extra night free when you stay 3 nights.

The Bridge Deck was a very spacious lodge, large sitting room, open plan kitchen, good sized bedroom, 2 bathrooms, one of which had a spa bath and a sauna.

We made good use of the lodge and especially the sauna and did exactly what we intended, which was as little as possible. There is a good restaurant called Shower of Herring in Melfot Pier and we ate there twice, both times the meal and service was excellent.

Overall, we had a good time, one complaint we did have was that the bed wasn't comfortable. It's a pine slatted bed frame but the mattress wasn't good enough and it took a little shine off what otherwise was an excellent 3 day break.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dyet92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paisley
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

After just returning from a 3 night stay, i have to say me and my partner had a fantastic time. We were in the comodore suite. The sauna, sunbed and spa bath provided much needed relaxation and the log fire at night makes it super cosy and warm, The views from the terrace are also breath taking. We will definatley be going back. All the staff are really friendly too. All in all worth every penny

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paisleylass12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I wont go into details as that would mean me sitting here for hours.
Arrived with sewage coming out the tops of the manholes.Then shunted into 2 different appartments for 2 nights.Drains not cleared so told we had to move upstairs,from our friends.Said we weren't prepared to move again just for 2 more nights and no assurance where we would have to move after that.We were offered a £10.00 rebate if we shared our friends en-suite.Then told we could sling our hooks if we dint take that offer.

Constantly lied to.Finally they cleared the drains and we were told we could move into the room we should have been in from day 1.Just as soon as they had refitted the toilet and cleared all the drain rods,plumbers tools etc.The smell was horrendous.We finlly moved back in that night but couldn't take a shower as it was scoldingly hot.I managed a shower of sorts while crouching on the floor and my girlfriend pointing the shower head to the ceiling intermittently while i tried to wash.

They removed all our clothes and belongings while we were out and just put them in a differet room

OOps,almost forgot the bed.Very poor quality

1 star,only because i cant rate it none

A lovely area of Scotland but an horrendous experience

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chukka63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etonella, Manager at Melfort Pier & Harbour, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Just to let one know what really happends....
The couple who left Anchrage, had put a towel down the toilet. It was a weekend and we could not get a plumber, as we are in the rual area. 2 couples arrived, and we gave them an upgrade, two bed rooms with two bath rooms, en suite both with spabaths.
Monday, the plumber arrived, he tried every thing to remove the towel. We had to get a high pressure truck to blow the pipe out. They came, everyone worked very hard to get it fixed as soon as possible. The guests were out all day , they returned at 4;15 pm. We were nearly finished and pay them £ 20,00,- to go and have a cup of tea in the local hotel. Our staff stayed on till 5:30 pm to get every thing ready and cleaned. We also gave them a check for £ 160,- .
It has been cashed. These things can happend at any time, and I am proud of the staff of Melfort Pier and our local plumbers for doing such a great job. We have been fully booked the
whole summer, and then it is hard when the houses are in and out, to fix a problem like this in a few hours. The couples stayed here a full week, and the ladies, thanks us for a nice stay when they left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Spent two nights at Melfort Pier and Harbour. The views are amazing and the lodge was fantastic. A great place to stay for rest & relaxation and also well placed for exploring the surrounding area. Spent a lovely day in Oban.
The owners and staff are wonderful. We left an item behind and did not discover it was missing until 3 months later. On the off chance I contacted the owners as we could not remember where we last had it and they were marvellous. Item was safely kept by them having been found left at the lodge. Item was returned and I cannot praise their customer service standards highly enough.
Thank you to all at Melfort Pier and Harbour, great experience all round.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Harbour Master - balcony with fantastic views, could not fault accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindylou8590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Spent four nights at Melfort Pier and Harbour. Views stunning and apartment excellent. All in all a brilliant place and would highly recommended. Enjoyed free fishing from peir which was a stones throw from our apartment and plenty of places for our labs to swim. The dogs were made very welcome by the staff, whuch helped made the break very relaxing for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed here for a week in September 2011 and as I am doing reviews for our latest trip I shall do this one also.

What can i say. Absolutely fantastic idilyc place to be with free mooring for residents and some great mackerel fishing off the pier.

Theses are self catering apartments with some restaurants a few minutes drive away

Room Tip: I would suggest a room with a view. The one we stayed in looked directly out onto the loch with a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BIGGMATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmelford
16.6 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,406 reviews
9.8 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
418 reviews
3.1 mi away
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Melfort Village
Melfort Village
#2 of 2 in Kilmelford
120 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melfort House
Melfort House
#1 of 5 in Kilmelford
115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cuilfail Hotel
Cuilfail Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kilmelford
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melfort Pier & Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melfort Pier & Harbour

Property: Melfort Pier & Harbour
Address: Melfort | near Oban, Kilmelford PA34 4XD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilmelford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kilmelford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the West Coast of Scotland, just 16 miles south of Oban, the Gate way to the Isle, is Melfort. Melfort Pier & Harbour is right on the shore of one of the most beautiful sea Loch's in Scotland, where the Highlands come down to the sea.............We have 10 Scandanavian houses, all with a different lay out. Some all on one level. Other ones up stairs. Every house has a superb view of the Loch. Our main asset is our unique location,protected on the seaward side by uninhabited islands and sheltered by the hills of the Melfort wood to the North. Our high quality, self contained houses, surround our private harbour. When you are here, we provide you with privacy and the freedom and flexibility to do what every you like. We have 6 houses for the less mobile. 2 Pets per house are very welcome ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melfort Pier & Harbour Hotel Kilmelford
Melfort Pier And Harbour
Melfort Pier & Harbour Kilmelford, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing