We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay on Loch Melfort”
Review of Melfort House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melfort House
Ranked #1 of 5 Kilmelford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights for my 50th in February. Absolutely gorgeous place! Matthew and Yvonne were so welcoming and helpful. They even very kindly got us tickets for a Scottish National Opera evening at the local village hall. We stayed in the Loch suite and the view is stunning. Lovely big comfortable room, bed and bathroom. Matthew's cooking is fantastic! Locally sourced food beautifully cooked for a very reasonable price. The lounge is beautiful with big comfy sofas next to a roaring fire. I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Loch suite has a fantastic view but the other (two) rooms are also gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueR99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just spent 2 days at Melfort and so enjoyed the fantastic food and wonderful warm welcome from Matthew and Yvonne. Everything was so relaxed and rooms are big and really comfortable. The food is amazing and fresh from local suppliers including the Polytunnel in the garden!! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FIONA_606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We absolutely loved or stay at Melfort House, it was so relaxed and calm.

The bedroom was amazing, with a big huge bed, cute bathroom, and lush decor. It felt so homely, yet contemporary and fresh.

We arrived late, but Matthew stayed up and welcomed us. We were in the area for a friend's wedding, and Melfort House was a perfect home from home.

Breakfast was wonderful in their roomy dining room which hosts one old school dining table with gorgeous views of the loch.

The only thing that I was a little taken aback by was there are no locks on the rooms, but as soon as we were told this, it actually made us even more relaxed.

On our final morning, Matthew spent a good 20minutes talking us through various routes we could take on our hillwalk, which was so kind and helpful. The scenery is amazing also, which makes Melfort House probably one of our favourite places in Britain!

Love it! We definitely hope to return soon :) Hanna & Joe

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannaBanans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Just came back after spending one night at this perfect little place.
We arrived to Melfort House later in the evening, and was met by the perfect host, who helped us settle in. And just about 10 minutes after our arrival we were served tea and pancakes by the fire place. In a perfect surrounding. Even though the weather had more to wish for, we were warmed up my this place and the hosts, Matthew and Yvonne. The room was big and fabulous with a view over the hill. The next morning, we had breakfast with another couple. And they told us about their room that has a view over the lake. What they have done in that room is to elevate the bed, so you have to climb up into it. But it is all worth it, since that way you will wake up seeing the lake. Very thoughtful and clever little touch.
We didn't have dinner at the hotel, but if you do, make sure you ask for it before arrival and they can arrange it. Apparently Matthew, is also a very good chef.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_bach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Whenever I read effusive reviews I often think there must be a catch but having just returned from two nights at Melfort House I can honestly say that all the wonderful reviews are absolutely true and accurate.
Although we encountered miserable weather we could still see that the surrounding countryside and the views from the house are amazing.
Yvonne and Matthew are perfect hosts taking care of your every need in a caring yet unobtrusive manner. Yvonne has decorated and furnished the house in a classic and comfortable country house style (not so much a home from home, more the home I wish I lived in!) and Matthew's culinary skills are simply outstanding. If you do choose to stay here you would be mad not to have dinner as well.
I cannot recommend Melfort House highly enough. We will be back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank jaraGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights recently with our teenage daughters. The room are exquisite, the guest lounge for enjoying complimentary afternoon tea is incredibly welcoming with the open roaring fire.
The icing on the cake was Matthews imaginative menu for dinner. A 4 course gastronomic delight. I'm not kidding, the best food I've had in a long while & for someone who has dined at Gordon Ramsays restaurant in Chelsea, the quality of the food combined with the effortless hosting by chef, was right up there.
The surrounding area is lovely and I would say this would make an excellent summer retreat too.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMonty1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had heard of Melfort House, but had never actually been. Now that we have, we will definitely go again. The owners of this beautiful property have this fantastic blend of not being at all intrusive, and yet somehow always close at hand to help, to answer queries, or even offer gloves and hats to our entire family when we went out! The location is stunning, overlooking the sea loch; the comfort is sumptuous, and as for the food! Fine dining is guaranteed, and part of the attraction is that you are served what is in season, the way it should be. There is plenty to do all around, and we enjoyed our trip to Easdale where we took a bracing journey across the water in a powerful rib. Oban is close at hand, and of course hills, walks, sailing, nature trails and so on, all over the place.

Room Tip: All three rooms are gorgeous, but of course, the sea view is the one to die for.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmelford
3.5 mi away
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
9.8 mi away
Glenmore Country House Bed and Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Cuilfail Hotel
Cuilfail Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kilmelford
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melfort Village
Melfort Village
#2 of 2 in Kilmelford
126 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Melfort House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melfort House

Address: Kilmelford, Kilmelford PA34 4XD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilmelford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmelford
Price Range: £113 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melfort House is a large country family House with southerly views over Loch Melfort about 15 miles south of Oban in Argyll, Scotland. Matthew and Yvonne offer three large double/twin bedrooms and their guests are encouraged to make use of the houses beautiful south facing drawing room and dining room. Dinner is available by arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Melfort House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melfort House Kilmelford, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing