We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“outstanding food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cuilfail Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cuilfail Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Kilmelford B&B and Inns
kilmelford
1 review
“outstanding food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Cuilfail Hotel has now 2 excellent chefs and great staff, the service is excellent and the food amazing. we live locally and often have a take out, which is the same menu as in the dinning room or bar but cost a little less - we also enjoy a meal in the cosy bar which has a lovely welcoming atmosphere, and a good place for a catch up with friends. highly recommended - love it!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    43
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
21
58
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Went for a pub supper but the small tired and gloomy bar wasn't large enough to seat more than the 4 or 5 couples who were already seated so were shown to a small narrow anti room next door which was utterly characterless with a row of tables and chairs and nothing else. The only alternative was the "whisky lounge" - a larger room with tables and chairs a couple of sofas and interestingly, a box of kleenex tissues on a coffee table.

We opted to eat here but were the only customers so atmosphere nil. The menu is very basic and unimaginative which is fine if there is no one around who is able to cook properly which, if this is the case it is sensible not to try to be adventurous. The list of main courses consists of fish and chips, scampi and chips, lasgne (and chips) etc.etc.

Its disappointing to find a place which could have so much potential being run without what seems to be any form of direction. There was no sign of or greeting by a friendly owner or manager which is so important in these small country hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker5452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

I was working in the area and visited the cuilfail hotel several times for an evening meal and wasn't disappointed once. Owners and staff are friendly. Only down side is the meals are a little pricey, overall a thumbs up from me.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Thesparke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stopped off here for a drink after a coastal walk and stayed for lunch once we knew the dogs were allowed in the bar.
The bar was traditional and cosy and very well stocked. The Guinness excellent as was the haddock and chips and husbands steak pie and chips!
We were even given information on good dog walking areas before we left.
Very friendly and helpful just wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgeandbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glassgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

Friendly atmosphere,warm welcome from the owners,friendly staff,food and service fantastic,a place worth visit! If you want to see a collection of over 100 currency notes from different countries all over the the world,then this is the place to relax,with an old but warm bar,very cosy ta h

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotlandventuring201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Owners working hard to update this hotel. It's a mammoth task and will take time. Some bedrooms have been refurbished and breakfast room ok. Our room needed a new bed, it was soft and lumpy and we both rolled into the middle. Food as good as most hotels in Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

We eat at the cuilfail with family while on holiday the bar was very busy service nice nice and friendly great food i think the hotel could do with a little refurb but the bar is a great old fashioned bar would come back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mpa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmelford
0.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Glenmore Country House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Galley of Lorne Inn
0.0 mi away
Melfort House
Melfort House
#1 of 5 in Kilmelford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuilfail Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuilfail Hotel

Property: Cuilfail Hotel
Address: Kilmelford PA34 4XA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilmelford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmelford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cuilfail Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Victorian hotel started life as a drover’s inn which was extended in the mid 1800's to take advantage of the fabulous fishing and hunting the area has to offer. There is plenty to see and do whilst staying at the hotel, walking, sailing, canoeing, horse riding, Shooting, cycling (on and off road), boat trips, gardens, or just relax in the wonderful highland atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cuilfail Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuilfail Hotel Kilmelford, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing