We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
Review of Cuilfail Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cuilfail Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Kilmelford B&B and Inns
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Had a lovely meal, best sea bass in a long while and thank you simon for making us laugh so much! Seriously, a very unpretentious place with excellent food. Well worth a visit.good veggie options too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    46
    30
    9
    6
See reviews for
21
65
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stopped for lunch just as 2.30 approached. Owners could not have been more helpful. Food served was scrumptious.Very reasonable. Lovely log fire burning. Atmosphere and food in this hotel must be sampled when in this part of Scotland. Owners working exceptionally hard to make their mark on the hospitality trade in Argyll........and it's working. Will most certainly stop by when next in area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mailex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazeing
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Stopped here on our way back to our rented holiday cottage in Dalavich. Great friendly atmosphere and superb scones. Will visit again if we are in the area again. The hotel was being refurbished when we were there but it did not detract from the ambiance in the bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliNazeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Ducked in here to escape the rain and grab a cup of coffee while on a cycle camping trip, but ended up having a delicious meal and thoroughly enjoying the company the staff!

Don't know what the rooms are like, but we would definitely go back and check them out some time. Lovely countryside and a simply relaxing and friendly atmosphere in the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMacPhail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nivaa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We visited this little and a bit worn down hotel for three days. Don't expect luxury in the classical sense of the word, but the service mindedness of the owners and all the staff were just incredible. The food was excellent and very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilmelford
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Cuilfail Hotel has now 2 excellent chefs and great staff, the service is excellent and the food amazing. we live locally and often have a take out, which is the same menu as in the dinning room or bar but cost a little less - we also enjoy a meal in the cosy bar which has a lovely welcoming atmosphere, and a good place for a catch up with friends. highly recommended - love it!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Went for a pub supper but the small tired and gloomy bar wasn't large enough to seat more than the 4 or 5 couples who were already seated so were shown to a small narrow anti room next door which was utterly characterless with a row of tables and chairs and nothing else. The only alternative was the "whisky lounge" - a larger room with tables and chairs a couple of sofas and interestingly, a box of kleenex tissues on a coffee table.

We opted to eat here but were the only customers so atmosphere nil. The menu is very basic and unimaginative which is fine if there is no one around who is able to cook properly which, if this is the case it is sensible not to try to be adventurous. The list of main courses consists of fish and chips, scampi and chips, lasgne (and chips) etc.etc.

Its disappointing to find a place which could have so much potential being run without what seems to be any form of direction. There was no sign of or greeting by a friendly owner or manager which is so important in these small country hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker5452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmelford
13.8 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
276 reviews
13.4 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
363 reviews
15.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
3.5 mi away
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
The Galley of Lorne Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuilfail Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuilfail Hotel

Property: Cuilfail Hotel
Address: Kilmelford PA34 4XA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilmelford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmelford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cuilfail Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine Victorian hotel started life as a drover’s inn which was extended in the mid 1800's to take advantage of the fabulous fishing and hunting the area has to offer. There is plenty to see and do whilst staying at the hotel, walking, sailing, canoeing, horse riding, Shooting, cycling (on and off road), boat trips, gardens, or just relax in the wonderful highland atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cuilfail Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuilfail Hotel Kilmelford, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing