We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fabulous feat of engineering”

Cruachan Power Station Visitor Center
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Dalmally
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: AN UNDERGROUND WORLD ON A SPECTACULAR SCALE. Cruachan is a place like no other, journey deep into the heart of this mountain to discover how we convert the power of water into electricity. An experienced guide will lead you inside the power station to help you understand how we can create 440MW of power in just 2 minutes! Our interactive FREE EXHIBTION is a great way for all ages to further understand how today's energymix is made up. The cafe and gift shop are available for anyone who just wants to stop in for some light refreshments and retail therapy.
Forres, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fabulous feat of engineering”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great value for money interesting , loved going under mountain to see the hollow mountain, guides very knowledgeable and cafe was not expensive like you may expect

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    130
    44
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but short”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A 30 minute experience that involves a trip into the mountain on a bus for a short walk up to the viewing gallery of the turbine hall. An enthusiastic and informative guide (Anne) provided an interesting commentary. A nice cup of coffee and a cake followed in the cafe overlooking Loch Awe. An enjoyable and entertaining experience well worth doing. No photos or bags allowed but there are free lockers.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank usa12354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good tour but disappointing end!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We went on the tour of Cruachan Power Station and found it very interesting. The tour guide was enthusiastic and certainly knew her stuff. However, we where on the last tour of the day and the visitor centre had let us down by closing the toilets and also telling us we have 2 mins left if we wanted to buy a drink!! To be we felt unwelcome as we came off the tour bus. The place should remain open until the last person leaves. We should of been informed that the facilities would be closed when the tour finished. It ruined our experience and probably won't return again! If this didn't happen I would rate as excellent!

Helpful?
Thank garethcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun & short trip for a family”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is good for a family as the tour was short but very interestingb and driving deep into a mountain is fun for all ages. The tour guide was excellent. The cafe had fresh & local food with lots of information about food sources.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarkOregon608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
444 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“An interesting indoor attraction”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We visited here on a wet blustery day in Argyll. The 'whole' and the power station is really interesting although probably of more interest to the engineering type visitor. You are driven into the power station so there is limited walking - and not the thousands of steps one might envisage. The guide, Anne was very enthusiastic so it was hard not to return her view. There is a lovely little cafe and nice gift shop there too. Great views of Loch Awe.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank FionaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cruachan Power Station Visitor Center also viewed

Dalmally, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Loch Awe, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Cruachan Power Station Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing