We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but could do better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalmally Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalmally
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dalmally Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Dalmally B&B and Inns
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Not bad but could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was my second New Year trip with Highland Heritage. Firstly, the good points: the Dalmally Hotel is so much better than the Royal Hotel was last year. The rooms were better appointed. There was no rendering falling off the walls of this hotel! With one exception, it looked cleaner and fresher.

If you like the heat, the Dalmally is for you. The heater in my room was only controllable by using the on/off switch. Good job I could open the window in my room otherwise I would have roasted.

Other reviewers have described the other aspects of the tour and I agree with them. I would echo Hilary C - the singer on New Year's Eve should realise that singing is not for her. A cat with someone standing on its tail would have sounded better!

Now the bad points: I agree with the comments about the dining room chairs. Some of them were disgusting and are in urgent need of cleaning. As for the food - as last year it was plentiful and hot. However, for this veggie it was deeply disappointing. Being served soup with a meat stock and being told it was vegetable soup is unacceptable, as is attempting to serve me trifle with jelly in it! As for the main courses, each of the 4 night stay, I was served cheese (cheese salad, veggie lasagne, broccoli cheese and lasagne - again). Ian Cleaver lauds his chef's reputation in his brochure yet they serve veggie food that would have been questionable 20 years ago! They need to search the internet (I know they have it) and realise there is more to wholesome veggie food than cheese!!!

Overall, the trip represents good value for money and the staff are, by and large, eager to please but I won't be returning for another Cheesefest, sorry New Year until such time as the menu improves.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jb012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    56
    29
    13
    12
See reviews for
25
72
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Just had new year at the dalmally hotel. Staff very good, nothing was to much trouble for them. Entertainment on the whole was very good only one bad night but that didn't spoil our break. Just hope the singer from New Year's Eve losses her nerve and gives up singing!!!!
Really good time.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our holidays in 2013 was confined to staying in the uk so we ( my wife and myself ) had a couple of short breaks and three coach trips , two in Scotland and one in England . Coach trips are not everyones choice since they are very routine and you have to go with the flow .
Our third trip was our new year break with Highland Heritage to the Dalmally Hotel from Mon 30th Dec to Frid 3rd Jan . We were picked up pm in Glasgow and stopped at the groups hotels in Tyndrum to drop off passengers at both hotels , we were greeted there by Fraser the hotel manager .
We then arrived at our hotel about 20 mins later and was also greeted by Michael our hotel manager . The cases were unloaded and taken to your room by porters . Our room was large and had a bath and shower which we both like . Our room was a superior room and it is worth the extra cost for having a bath and extras . The only complaint in many of these hotels is the very squeaky floorboards , the people in the room above seemed to walk a marathon every day to our annoyance .
The dinners and the breakfasts were all first class and always hot which is a bonus , the waiters were mostly polish , very smart and polite and hard working . The bar was not open all day but had hours to suit the trips , the hotel operations are geared for breakfast and dinner and is empty during the day . The bar prices were very good and the bar staff worked hard , the entertainment all nights were of a very good standard and most people had a dance and enjoyed the Scottish hospitality .
The coach tours were comfortable and drivers had a good local knowledge of the tour areas , the coaches although eight years old were very clean and kept in good condition although none had a toilet fitted .
I have read elcondo,s report and agree the dinning room chairs were very dirty and require urgent attention . However we had a good holiday and enjoyed the hotel , the meals and the entertainment which was all good value for this time of year .
As I said before coach trips are not everyones cup of tea but they certainly give great value , we met up with some nice people on all our trips and enjoyed their company at night after dinner .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jontro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

my wife and I had a fantastic stay at the highland heritage dalmally hotel the journey was long winded all though the hotel and staff were superb the food was very good the entertainment was good on all the nights we stayed. new year was seen in with toast of special whiskey I could not fault..my stay ... we travelled from derby the rest of guests were a brilliant crowed from Doncaster Nottingham Mansfield driver Darren was brill I would recommend this holiday to all my friends for value and content phillip peach

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phillip555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I really enjoyed our visit to Dalmally. The transport arrangements worked smoothly. The bedroom was clean and spacious. The staff were very hard working and cheerful. The tour was amazing value. The entertainment was much better than we expected. Considering about 150
people were served simultaneously each meal time with 3 choices each course the food was fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new waltham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

After a very long journey from Grimsby we arrived at the Dalmally hotel and was greeted by Michael the manager and his hard working staff, we were soon on our way to our rooms where our luggage was waiting for us. We had a large comfortable room and good size bathroom with shower .all were very clean, there was also a good supply of tea and coffee, we also had chocolates and fruit. The dining room experience was a little fast and furious and although we didn't get a choice of where we could sit or with whom we enjoyed the company of our dining pals. The food was always hot and there was a choice of courses, we did think the Christmas lunch could have been better, veg was a little overcooked and the roast potatoes could have been cooked the day before ?? The evening buffet was a triumph ..With regard to the sanitizer I didn't see anyone FORCED to use it both in the Dining Room or Coach and why shouldn't they be used how many people don't wash their hands after using the bathroom answer MANY ..If you are on a cruise they use the same hygiene rules .Two nights of entertainment were good and one terrible . The hotel would benefit from having a chill out lounge its not much fun just sitting in your rooms. The journey home was very long mainly due to poor weather, the drivers did their best to get us home safely, they had after all been on the road since 4am they must have been exhausted. All in all for what was paid for this break it was good value for money, would I go back the answer is yes but not for Christmas . Lastly thank you highland heritage for calling us to check that we had in fact got home okay.

Room Tip: remember its a long way to travel by coach even with comfort breaks..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanhalladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

After a 10hr long journey we finally arrived at the dallmally hotel. First impression was what a pretty hotel from the road all lit up for Xmas. We was greeted by Michael the manager who was dressed in a kilt but unfortunately wasn't Scottish but indeed eastern European as was every single member working in the hotel. Not once was there anything Scottish about out break apart from John our coach driver who was indeed lovely, friendly and humorous. Food was ok served to you fast and furious just like in a works canteen. Wasn't a lot of choice and the menu was indeed limited on every night, but was always served hot. The staff do work very hard and seem to enjoy what they do. Rooms where just ok need to be revamped relatively soon please for us ladies we need hooks and shelves in bathrooms. One other very important problem as you don't receive any signal in any part of the hotel except the snooker room telephones are a must in hotel rooms especially for emergencies who the he'll would get to the elderly or disabled in any emergency during any time of the day (scary thought). Not to mention you are zapped 24/7 with antiseptic spray before meals on/off the coach was getting a bit irritating to say the least. To sum up our break we had a nice time could be made special with a little more thought from the owner, more of a Scottish influence would of been lovely considering we are in scotland.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalmally
4.5 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
5.8 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ardlui Hotel
Ardlui Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardlui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
0.2 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#6 of 7 in Tyndrum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
6.2 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmally Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmally Hotel

Property: Dalmally Hotel
Address: Dalmally Hotel Dalmally, Dalmally PA33 1AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dalmally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dalmally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dalmally Hotel Lying in the village of Dalmally in Strathorchy The hotel is sited in the village of Dalmally in Strathorchy. It has spectacular mountain views all round and three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens. The famous salmon river "Orchy" flows down the Strath and the favourite morning walk is past the ancient medieval church down to the 300 year old "Wade" Bridge to watch for salmon, trout and otter. The hotel is of modern construction with large en-suite bedrooms and spectacular public areas awash with plants and flowers. The lounge has a dancefloor and bar, and there is also a billiard room. The bedrooms have comfortable modern divan beds, tea makers, hair dryers, TV and controlled heating. Furnishings are modern and crisp; there are heated towel rails in every room. There are four floors serviced by a modern lift. The dining room and lounges each seat two hundred people and are a joy for flower lovers everywhere. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dalmally Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing