We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcome break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Muthu Dalmally Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Dalmally B&B and Inns
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“welcome break”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Initially in room 72 (2nd floor) Plenty of room although the bathroom seems unnecessarily small given the overall size. This was a twin with reasonably comfy beds and extra blankets if required.(Wife did, I didn't as the room heating did it for me) Brilliant hot water supply. Bath and shower both used and good. Regrettably noise from room 38 below was intrusive and unacceptable.(At midnight I went to knock on their door for quiet) Reported the next morning to manager Michael who instantly undertook to change room. We said we would give it another night in case it was a "one off". It wasn't,(and this time it went on till 0130) so the next morning we repeated our problem and an alternative room was provided on the 3rd floor (room 100). We were offered a twin or a double and shown rooms before we decided. Speaking to others, we realised we were not the only ones to have a problem from above or below.
Restaurant service was superb and food well cooked and adequate. I had "kipper" each morning although I think it was more closely related to smoked mackerel than smoked herring. Fortunately I like both. Evening entertainment unexpectedly good.

Room Tip: Noise seems to travel up and down easier than side to side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianW0061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    58
    32
    13
    14
See reviews for
25
77
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Based at the hotel with Highland Heritage Coach Tour. Our room was on 2nd floor, small lift but we used the stairs. Room size adequate, bathroom small with shower over bath. High side to bath so could be a problem if mobility issues. Not enough plug sockets in bedroom. Extension lead to plug everything in, however kettle had to be used on floor as it's lead was too short to fit on dressing table.
Only 1 large lounge & seating not very comfortable. Hotel has a billiard room but looked to be used as a bit of a store room for spare chairs.
Hotel has greenhouse rooms on ground floor with lights constantly on. This caused glare into the eyes when sat in thebar area. Entertainment each night singer/musician/comedian all rolled into 1 act. Jokes could have done with updating!
Food was basic but on a cheap coach holiday was to be expected.
Very difficult to get signal for mobile phones due to hotel location.
Only shop nearby was gift. Hotel located on busy main road but not near any other hotels or pubs.
Hotel staff seemed to be mainly Eastern European & very hard workers.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dreamholiday09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our first experience of a coach tour in this five day/four night January Short Break with Highland Heritage. We hadn't realised the significance of the 13 hrs on the coach to get there from Lincolnshire and on our return, but the driver(s) were very good on stopping about every 2 hrs for comfort breaks and looked after us very well throughout the daily tours.The food was varied and of good quality for the supplied breakfasts and dinners, with hardly any waiting considering the number of people in the dining room. The room was excellent and warm, often requiring us to switch off the heater before being overcome by the build-up of heat, and served us very well. The daily tour(s) was good, well planned and executed by our driver after our leisurely breakfast - timewise at least!

We met and made friends with several of our fellow coach travellers from the Yorkshire/Lincolnshire area.

A very satisfying short trip away from our home area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jsthorneycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This was my second New Year trip with Highland Heritage. Firstly, the good points: the Dalmally Hotel is so much better than the Royal Hotel was last year. The rooms were better appointed. There was no rendering falling off the walls of this hotel! With one exception, it looked cleaner and fresher.

If you like the heat, the Dalmally is for you. The heater in my room was only controllable by using the on/off switch. Good job I could open the window in my room otherwise I would have roasted.

Other reviewers have described the other aspects of the tour and I agree with them. I would echo Hilary C - the singer on New Year's Eve should realise that singing is not for her. A cat with someone standing on its tail would have sounded better!

Now the bad points: I agree with the comments about the dining room chairs. Some of them were disgusting and are in urgent need of cleaning. As for the food - as last year it was plentiful and hot. However, for this veggie it was deeply disappointing. Being served soup with a meat stock and being told it was vegetable soup is unacceptable, as is attempting to serve me trifle with jelly in it! As for the main courses, each of the 4 night stay, I was served cheese (cheese salad, veggie lasagne, broccoli cheese and lasagne - again). Ian Cleaver lauds his chef's reputation in his brochure yet they serve veggie food that would have been questionable 20 years ago! They need to search the internet (I know they have it) and realise there is more to wholesome veggie food than cheese!!!

Overall, the trip represents good value for money and the staff are, by and large, eager to please but I won't be returning for another Cheesefest, sorry New Year until such time as the menu improves.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jb012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Just had new year at the dalmally hotel. Staff very good, nothing was to much trouble for them. Entertainment on the whole was very good only one bad night but that didn't spoil our break. Just hope the singer from New Year's Eve losses her nerve and gives up singing!!!!
Really good time.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our holidays in 2013 was confined to staying in the uk so we ( my wife and myself ) had a couple of short breaks and three coach trips , two in Scotland and one in England . Coach trips are not everyones choice since they are very routine and you have to go with the flow .
Our third trip was our new year break with Highland Heritage to the Dalmally Hotel from Mon 30th Dec to Frid 3rd Jan . We were picked up pm in Glasgow and stopped at the groups hotels in Tyndrum to drop off passengers at both hotels , we were greeted there by Fraser the hotel manager .
We then arrived at our hotel about 20 mins later and was also greeted by Michael our hotel manager . The cases were unloaded and taken to your room by porters . Our room was large and had a bath and shower which we both like . Our room was a superior room and it is worth the extra cost for having a bath and extras . The only complaint in many of these hotels is the very squeaky floorboards , the people in the room above seemed to walk a marathon every day to our annoyance .
The dinners and the breakfasts were all first class and always hot which is a bonus , the waiters were mostly polish , very smart and polite and hard working . The bar was not open all day but had hours to suit the trips , the hotel operations are geared for breakfast and dinner and is empty during the day . The bar prices were very good and the bar staff worked hard , the entertainment all nights were of a very good standard and most people had a dance and enjoyed the Scottish hospitality .
The coach tours were comfortable and drivers had a good local knowledge of the tour areas , the coaches although eight years old were very clean and kept in good condition although none had a toilet fitted .
I have read elcondo,s report and agree the dinning room chairs were very dirty and require urgent attention . However we had a good holiday and enjoyed the hotel , the meals and the entertainment which was all good value for this time of year .
As I said before coach trips are not everyones cup of tea but they certainly give great value , we met up with some nice people on all our trips and enjoyed their company at night after dinner .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jontro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

my wife and I had a fantastic stay at the highland heritage dalmally hotel the journey was long winded all though the hotel and staff were superb the food was very good the entertainment was good on all the nights we stayed. new year was seen in with toast of special whiskey I could not fault..my stay ... we travelled from derby the rest of guests were a brilliant crowed from Doncaster Nottingham Mansfield driver Darren was brill I would recommend this holiday to all my friends for value and content phillip peach

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank phillip555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalmally
4.5 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
5.8 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
252 reviews
18.4 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
Muthu Ben Doran Hotel
#3 of 7 in Tyndrum
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clifton Cottage
Clifton Cottage
#4 of 7 in Tyndrum
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Dalmally Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Dalmally Hotel

Property: Muthu Dalmally Hotel
Address: Dalmally PA33 1AY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Dalmally
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dalmally
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Dalmally Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dalmally Hotel Lying in the village of Dalmally in Strathorchy The hotel is sited in the village of Dalmally in Strathorchy. It has spectacular mountain views all round and three acres of beautiful landscaped gardens. The famous salmon river "Orchy" flows down the Strath and the favourite morning walk is past the ancient medieval church down to the 300 year old "Wade" Bridge to watch for salmon, trout and otter. The hotel is of modern construction with large en-suite bedrooms and spectacular public areas awash with plants and flowers. The lounge has a dancefloor and bar, and there is also a billiard room. The bedrooms have comfortable modern divan beds, tea makers, hair dryers, TV and controlled heating. Furnishings are modern and crisp; there are heated towel rails in every room. There are four floors serviced by a modern lift. The dining room and lounges each seat two hundred people and are a joy for flower lovers everywhere. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Muthu Dalmally Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muthu Dalmally Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing