We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a wee stroll”
Review of Arduaine Garden

Arduaine Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$14.39*
and up
Battle of Bannockburn Visitor Centre Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Arduaine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Arduaine is a wonderfully moist and mossy coastal garden, influenced beneficially by the North Atlantic Drift and enjoyed by enthusiasts from all over the world. Twenty acres of outstanding woodland plants include not only a major rhododendron species collection with a leaning towards the more tender, but also all the usual spring-flowering favourites such as camellia, pieris, azalea and magnolia. Other trees and shrubs take the flowering season on into the autumn along with an inspiring miscellany of bulbs, perennials, climbers, water plants and ferns, many rare and unusual, many down to earth and familiar, all interesting and beautiful in their diverse ways. A spectacular coastal and island panorama can be enjoyed from the easily accessible cliff top viewpoint. Visitors are welcome every day and will find something of interest throughout the year, come rain or shine.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good for a wee stroll”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I'd the whole thing in flip flops and was disappointed that they didn't tell us that two of the viewpoints are currently closed, enjoyed the walk and it was well kept in most parts and rugged in others which is good to see. Would benefit from a wee tea and coffee place in the middle of the gardens.
And yes to did it in flip flops but wouldn't recommend it we were lucky with the weather but would be too dangerous if wet and it is often wet,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Milly1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice W, Property Manager/Head Gardener at Arduaine Garden, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
I think it fair to say that visitors would be safer wearing suitable shoes as this is a hillside woodland garden and not a public park, and flip flops might not be the ideal footwear! I would go as far as saying that it's as well to expect rain sometimes too, as the west of Scotland tends to be a trifle damp on occasions, so to be well shod and waterproof might be a good idea!

Regarding the suggestion of a cafe in the garden, I'm afraid that local agreements make this unlikely. I should also point out that we are a weather dependent property and there are occasions when very few visitors are about, so it probably wouldn't be econmical to do so.

Thanks for your interest and for sending in this review. Maurice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    67
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens..”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner took a walk around the gardens and the gardens themselves are beautiful. The flowers were all in bloom and so many bees and wildlife with lots of information points everywhere. Although it is National Trust though and is volunteer run I feel the entry price for £6.50 per adult is a little high... other than that we spent about an hour wandering around and theres plenty of places to sit and have a picnic.

Helpful?
Thank Jassumms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice W, Property Manager/Head Gardener at Arduaine Garden, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Glad to hear that you enjoyed the garden. I must point out though that although Arduaine is owned and operated by the National Trust for Scotland it is not run by volunteers. I have been Head Gardener here for 22 years and have two garden staff; we also have reception staff to run the front desk and shop 7 days a week from April to September. We do have one or two
occasional volunteers, but there is a very small local population from which to ask for help.

So the £6.50 entry charge doesn't in fact cover the cost of running the garden and we have a considerable annual deficit, in spite of income from our endowment fund and the many donations we receive. We rely totally on the public for our running costs and have no government assistance.

I hope that I've persuaded you that for a 20 acre garden crammed full of the most wonderful and exciting plants, and maintained and developed by a very small and dedicated staff, our current entry charge is very reasonable!

Many thanks for taking the time to send a review. Maurice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardersier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We went back in May this year to see the fabulous Rhodos in flower. and weren't disappointed. Well worth a visit at any time of the year.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice W, Property Manager/Head Gardener at Arduaine Garden, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Always pleased to hear that visitors enjoy their time here. The garden is absolutely superb in the spring, though we say it ourselves; it's hard not to be with the huge collection of spring flowering plants that we have here.

But for those of you who are thinking of coming later on, we do have a very varied plant collection which goes on right up into late autumn and sometimes beyond, so please don't think that west coast means spring only! By no means!

Many thanks, Maurice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden, rhododendrons everywhere in May”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What a treat to find this stunning garden hidden away on the wild and bleak west coast, yet full of colour and very sheltered. The azaleas and rhododendrons were in full bloom and the paths just draw you onwards to see more. Disability kept me down at the comfortable lower levels of the garden but the wooded higher areas with their views out to sea were sadly missed.
The garden is looked after by the NTS, and the reciprocal arrangement with the NT is much appreciated!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SFTWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice W, Property Manager/Head Gardener at Arduaine Garden, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to this beautiful garden! I'm sorry that your disability prevented you from exploring further up into the woodland garden and viewpoint, but the route up to the top is a surprisingly gentle slope and depending on the ability of our visitors it's sometimed found to be easier than expected. Our reception staff can always advise and garden staff are happy to help in any way we can.

Although our two marked routes are as smooth as we can make them, it must be realised that this is a hillside woodland garden and tree roots sometimes have a nasty habit of growing under the paths! As you say, however, the lower garden is more or less on the flat.

Do hope you will pass on your kind comments to your friends and maybe come back again yourself sometime.

All good wishes,

Maurice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
134 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a wonderful garden and I strolled around there for some time. There are both flowerborders and lawns, small path by pionds, view over the loch and plenty of bif trees, giving part of it the feel of a forest.
Afterwards I had tea and a scone at Loch Melfort Hotel.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maurice W, Prperty Manager/Head Gardener at Arduaine Garden, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your review - I'm glad that you had a good time. You're right - we have a huge mix of both plants and styles, from the intimate corners around the Water Garden to the tall trees of the Woodland Garden.

The climate allows us to grow a wide range of plants, from shrubs, trees and climbers to perennials, ferns and palms - I'll be experimenting with South American cacti too!

On top of that we have a superb location and a coastal viewpoint with a wonderful panorama of islands and ocean. I do hope that you manage to come back!

All good wishes,

Maurice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arduaine Garden also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Kilmartin, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Arduaine Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing