We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Arduaine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good, but not perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Before I start this review, let me say that overall we enjoyed our stay and would gladly return. We do, however, feel that some of the reviewers have failed to point out some of the more negative points.

Firstly, when arriving, you are confronted by the original house and to the left the “Cedar Wing”, painted in an unappealing dark brown colour. Think 60’s American Motel and the vision is about right. The hotel literature does admit it was originally built as a “Motor Inn”. While it may look dated, the view from the rooms out to the isles is still as good as ever. During our stay there were also highland cattle grazing in the field between the hotel and the foreshore. (Rock and pebble beach accessed by overgrown muddy path)

We stayed in the Cedar Wing, where the room had a dated appearance. It was however, well decorated and clean. The bathroom had been modernised in the recent past, so no complaints there. What was unforgiveable at the price charged, was the mattresses on the beds. They may not date back quite as far as when the Cedar Wing was built, but they were worn out, hollow in the middle and you could feel the springs. All in all very uncomfortable and not what you expect from a hotel of this standard.

We did have a few housekeeping issues, but these were quickly sorted out. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, although there was some forgetfulness at breakfast. “ May we have the tea we ordered 10 minutes ago......please” A special mention has to go to, I think it’s Angela, who was normally on reception. She was always very helpful with any requests you may have.

There have been mixed reports about the food, although most have loved it. Our rate included Dinner, so we had the Table d’hote menu. Most of the dishes had clearly been pre-prepared, which is not surprising given the number of guests eating in the restaurant. As “Harry” from Falkirk said in an earlier review, you had the impression the chef had not tasted some of the dishes, because they were clearly lacking in flavour and balance. The desserts, which were chosen from standard menu were generally very good. I can particularly recommend the soufflé. It has to be remembered that two AA Rosettes is not gourmet dining and overall we found the food quite acceptable.

As others have mentioned, when booking we were not warned about reserving a table for dinner and there was no note about this in the confirmation e-mail.

Hoteliers will often say “Why did you not raise these points during your stay”. The simple answer is that you do not want to spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay, by risking an aggressive response.

If you are paying full price, you may consider Loch Melfort Hotel over-priced. I see a double room is currently discounted on Laterooms for £78. That’s a bargain, but ask about the mattresses!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkAlwaystravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. All our matresses have been replaced over the last 3 years, but of, course sometimes they do get damaged and you would be surprised at how many guests do not complain! We have now checked all our matresses and replaced any that were showing signs of wear and tear.
Please do feel that you can talk to either Calum or myself during your stay, you would certainly not get an aggressive response! We always appreciate feedback and can't improve if nobody tells us when something is wrong.
We do hope you come back and stay again sometime soon

Kind regards

Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    219
    65
    29
    8
See reviews for
107
463
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the hotel while travelling in Scotland. The views from our room were amazing, looking out onto the water with highland cows, rabbits and geese in the foreground. The food was a nice selection of local seafood with some beef dishes prepared well. Breakfast was a combination of buffet and served hot selections, with generous portions.
The lounge area was a wonderful place to relax both before dinner and after dinner for coffee etc. The staff were extremely accommodating and friendly.
The rooms have been recently refreshed including the ensuite bathrooms.
A relaxing oasis in a beautiful part of Scotland.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MMSmillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back here again sometime soon.

Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weedon Bec, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I booked a two night escape at this location as my birthday treat to myself. It is a charming, extremely friendly country house on the shores of the Western Highlands in the Oban area, set in the beautiful Arduaine Gardens. I was rather disappointed to be shown to the "Cedar Wing" which is accessed from the main building by a covered walkway and looks like a motel but the double room was actually splendid - stylish and spotless and had a stunning sea view across Asknish Bay towards Jura Shina, Scarba and the Western Isles beyond. Also complimentary toiletries, huge fluffy towels and a tea and coffee tray. In the hotel there was a cosy fireside bar and comfortable sitting room, a holistic therapy room, WiFi, internet access and a well-stocked library of books, board games and DVDs. The food was great - I arrived just in time to try the afternoon tea and a slice of the famous shortbread, then that night slept in peace!

The next day was my birthday and I woke up to a big Scottish breakfast with creamy porridge, then took a gentle stroll past endearing Highland cattle through the grounds, down to the edge of the loch. Then I visited Arduaine Garden, right by the hotel, a haven of rare, tropical and native plants.

The hotel's renowned rather grand two AA rosette-winning restaurant serves delicious seasonal produce like game and seafood sourced from local famers and crofters. However I ate in the lively brasserie which dishes up fantastic fish and chips - and as it was my birthday they brought out a little dessert with a candle in and everyone sang "Happy Birthday".

One final point for those deciding to stay here, don't worry about the brown water, it's the peat from the surrounding hills!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely and lengthy review. We are so glad you enjoyed such a special treat to yourself over your birthday and hope you come back again soon. Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

My husband & I have just come home from a one night stay here. It was our first visit but not likely to be our last. We were there for the gourmet dinner - great food & wine, enjoyable company, excellent hosts, comfortable surroundings & stunning views. To be recommended!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our gourmet night. It really is a labour of love for the chefs and always gives them the opportunity to show off and try something different. With a combination of lovely wines and great company it really was a fantastic night. We hope you will return to another one in the future.
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just spent a few days in this lovely hotel ! The view is wonderful,looking out on to the loch and a few highland cows belonging to the hotel. The food also was great especially the seafood,all very fresh and delicious.We were particularly delighted with the service we received from one of the waitresses Mckenzie,she always had a smile on her face and remembered which wine we had etc, and was just a credit to the hotel ! Everywhere was clean and rooms were nicely decorated.Be happy to return here again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary05Marlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Mackenzie is indeed a credit to the hotel and we are lucky to have such a strong team of people working with us at the hotel to help make everyone's stay special. We look forward to you coming back on a visit again soon.
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Having passed this location over the years we decided to have an overnight there during September.Our problems started before we got to the Hotel. The only road to the south of the hotel was flooded resulting in our having to take a 50mile detour.
We arrived at the Hotel and were shown to our room-in a wing adjacent to the main building.Access to the room was up an external staircase which was roofed but was otherwise open. The room was spotless and well appointed.To go to dinner we had to negotiate the stairs again.The weather was foul and the rain did not make the stairs easy negotiate.
Having said all that the food was good without being exceptional.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMBEastKilbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Sorry you had such a terrible journey to get to us. It sounds as though it spoiled your stay before you even arrived. I do hope you get to come and stay with us again sometime. Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmacolm
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Loch Melfort hotel is a very well run establishment. All staff are extremely helpful and courteous.The room was spacious and very comfortable, as were the public lounges, with everything you need for a relaxing stay.We dined in the Chartroom Bistro, there was a very pleasant ambience and the food was good.Service was excellent, but there could have been more variety on the Menu.We enjoyed a very pleasant stay here and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex all have a balcony or patio, great for enjoying the lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arduaine
18.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
12.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
24.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
13.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Galley of Lorne Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Arduaine, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Arduaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arduaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest location on the West coast of Scotland awaits visitors to experience this hotel and it's award-winning restaurant, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break at any time of the year... as long as you can put up with the amazing views, the fantastic food, the log fire in the lounge and the selection of malt whiskys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Melfort
Loch Melfort Hotel And Restaurant Arduaine, Scotland - Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing