We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loch Melfort Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Cairnbaan Hotel(Cairnbaan)
US$129
US$124
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$223
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ranald Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$196
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$186
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$154
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Muthu Alexandra Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (825)
Filter reviews
825 results
Traveller rating
426
261
84
40
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
261
84
40
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarduaine gardenshighland cattlecedar wingbistro menunational trustthe main housestunning viewsdining roompatio doorscontinental breakfastgourmet nightscallopsboth nightswater supplywell worth a visitbrown waterlog fire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
434 - 439 of 825 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

One of the most beautifully situated hotels I've ever been to. Great staff, excellent food. The rooms aren't amazingly stylish but they are warm and comfortable (as are the beds) and everything works. We were there for 3 nights for the Hogmanay party, which was great, with a local couple singing and playing accordion and one of the hotel's owners playing fiddle - huge fun. Lovely lounges, one with a log fire, both with the same beautiful views. There was also a gorgeous panelled library that we did not have time to explore. We think we'll be going again ..... but will probably hire a car next time. There's only one decent walk straight out of the hotel (but it is great, up to the local trig point for fantastic views over the islands) and the local road is quite busy.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st floor of the Cedars wing have great views - but then, I'm sure, do the rooms in the house.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip_Timms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed Hogmanay as much as we did. We do hope we can welcome you back here again next year and you can get out to do some exploring!
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We were here on an offer which moderated the cost somewhat. The setting is quite beyond comparison and with a tremendous sunset and an almost as impressive sunrise the views were fantastic. The bistro was closed so all meals were in the dining room which was fine as we were allowed to mix and match from the two menus. The food is great if a bit pricey, but with our voucher it was within my normal budget. The room was well appointed but the wifi didn't get that far so we had to sit in the lounge to use it, but that wasn't a hardship. If we can get a similar deal in the future we'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Many thanks for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed you stay. We hope we can welcome you back here again soon.
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband saw a DBB deal for Loch Melfort online. Although we had been around Tarbert in Argyll and further north to Oban many times we had never visited Arduaine. What a stunning spot! Looking out on Arknish bay and view down to the islands of the inner Hebrides is just breathtaking.
Our room was lovely and even better dog friendly so our gorgeous black lab could join us. Although I am sure there are specified dog friendly rooms you would never know - they are immaculate! There were large patio windows which led to our private patio looking out to sea - perfect.
We ate in the restaurant as opposed to the bistro and although as a vegetarian I didn't expect much of a choice, the food was simply gorgeous. If you are a seafood lover as is my husband, this is the place for you.
Dogs are not allowed in the communal areas but this was no problem as we were out for most of the day and had our lovely patio.
We would highly recommend you visit this hidden coastline of Scotland - just perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay, including the dog! We do try hard to ask people for dietary requirements before they arrive and that way Peter can ensure there is a lovely choice of food on the menu, whatever you like or don't! We hope that you will come back and see us again soon.
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Loch Melfort Hotel can be found in the most beautiful situation beside the sea and with stunning views from your room. This was our second visit and the lodge rooms have been upgraded to a very acceptable standard. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and there is an abundance of information on the local area and the beautiful wooded gardens at Arduaine.
Food was excellent and we enjoyed a seven course gourmet dinner.
If I ever get married again I will surely book this hotel for my reception.
A little peace of Scotland you will never forget.
I look forward to another visit in the future.
My thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jil523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. If you ever pop the question, we would love to hold your wedding here! If not, come back for another romantic weekend instead!
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Spent a night here and a wonderful meal which included langoustine and lobster and the best hot soufflé dessert I have eaten. We were in a ground floor lodge room with a view to die for. Also available in main hotel are lovely suites with telescopes and binocculars provided. Staff delightful. Can't wait tomreturn

Room Tip: No wifi in lodge extension but free wifi available in residents' lounge and as a result probably in bedrooms in main hotel. I found this irritating as the mobile phone signal was almost non existent so my Ipad 3G was no good either...but then if you really want to chill this can be a plus.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a great review. It is really motivational for our staff to get such high praise. I am also a big fan of the souffle! We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews