We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Location and fab experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Arduaine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Idyllic Location and fab experience”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A sublime location with easy access to the islands, Oban and many picturesque places to visit. Every room has a lovely view. The staff are polite and helpful and the owner lives on site so any problems are quickly resolved. It's a great base for a variety of hobbies (we took our telescope as this is dark sky territory and simply amazing compared to the rest of the UK) like photography, fishing, walking, cycling, whale/dolphin watching to name a few. Good for both families (play area outside) and for couples or singles looking to get away from it all. As others have mentioned, there are a couple of quirks but you are in the middle of nowhere and the positives far outweigh the negatives. Good food and wine selection too, with the traditional bar full of Scotland's finest. Location could be an issue if you want nightlife or lots of choice of eating as you need a car. However, everything is provided on site so there's no need to travel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NightOwl1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, quirks and all! We hope you come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards

Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    237
    74
    35
    12
See reviews for
112
498
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed in Cedar Wing last week, it is certainly not new, being built in the '70's? A gale was blowing and the room was really well ventillated and cool! As was the rest of the Hotel. Could not get hot water ( evening time or morning ) and have subsequently heard this has been an on-going problem at the Hotel for a number of months! That is not acceptable and should be rectified. Food was good but Dinner Main course could have fed 5000! Can't be helping their profits! Would like to recommend but cannot, until they fix the boiler! It is not on!

Room Tip: You have to pay a supplement to be in the Main Building......probably worth it, if there's hot w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We are so sorry that you found your stay disappointing. Like the rest of the country, we have been hit by terrible gales this winter but to try and ensure all the rooms are kept warm and cosy, even when the wind is blowing at 80mph outside, every bedroom has an extra heater and extra blankets in it. You would have been very welcome to ask for more. We are bemused by your water problem. We have two boilers, both of which have 100kw capacity and operate year round. Plenty of boiling hot water for everyone. They are centrally located and you are asked in a polite notice in your bathroom to run the tap if you are at the furthest end of the Cedar Wing when we are quiet as it will take time to come through the pipes. You are the first complaint we have about this, so we will investigate and make sure that it is not a problem specific to the room you stayed in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great hotel for our 2 night break .
Views to die for (although we couldn't see them all the time). Every room has a sea view and views beyond to islands. Sampled both the table d'ote and Bistro menu and both were very good.
As time-served west coast visitors we appreciate that Scottish weather isn't always to be relied on - especially in February however the hotel was warm & welcoming. The log fire in the lounge was expecially warming & sitting here for afternoon coffee and a read of the Sunday papers was a treat.
Also ideal for exploring south of Loch Melfort. Not an area we had explored. Standing stones galore centred round Kilmartin. Further south Tayvallich on Loch Sween was lovely and the Tayvallich Inn did a great bowl of soup at lunch time.
Would centainly return to the hotel & to the area mentioned.
ps - if you don't like Z bends then don't go there!

Room Tip: Any room is good. They all have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gala-galavanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review and so glad that you found the hotel warm and welcoming on the same weekend as the review above yours! We can certainly have some dramatic weather being on the exposed West Coast and we always ensure that the fire is blazing and the rooms are cosy. We hope you will venture back to enjoy some warm summer sunshine and the fabulous views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

A gift of a night away with dinner from fixed menu. Hotel was comfortable and clean and everything was fine but not stunning. Would certainly go back if a similar deal was available and would just stick to table d'hôtel menu. Staff were fine and welcoming and continental breakfast was tasty. Bar prices a bit on the high side, but no more so than other hotels with a captive audience. Lovely setting

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmymac200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Many thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back here again sometime.
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Great views, great food and great staff. Unlike many weekend deals I have had in the past, I particularly liked not being stuck with the set menu and being able to use the meal allowance towards either the a la carte or bistro menus. Will return when we feel like another get away from it all weekend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Many thanks for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.
Kind regards

Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Attentive and pleasant staff, The food is outstanding and the views are stunning, Stayed in the Cedar bedrooms downstairs and are very Comfortable bedroom, only down point did not think it was worth the money

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianrayuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Many thanks for your review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do try and get the right balance of quality and value and it is always worth staying for more than one night to take advantage of a better deal on room rate.
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed another enjoyable and relaxing stay here recently. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped- we like upstairs in the Cedar Wing for the stunning views and ever changing skies. No light pollution here at night, only a few twinkling lights at Craobh Haven visible in the complete darkness.
The standard of the food remains high,although the menu is a bit complicated. Having no choice at all on the set menu means some people will choose from the lengthy a la carte list, causing more work for the kitchen staff surely. However, I could find no fault with our choices.
Service was friendly and efficient from the hard-pressed waiting staff on a busy Valentine weekend. A few extra pairs of hands would make a big difference at such times! We are fans of the American bus boys, who always ensure tables are cleared and reset as quickly as possible.
Please accept the small quibbles as constructive criticism, as I know you have won several awards,and we do love coming here!

Room Tip: Cedar wing balcony rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonzorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Many thanks for your review and we are delighted that you return to us time and again! Always happy to have constructive comments that we can use to help improve our quality and service. We look forward to seeing you back here again sometime soon.
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arduaine
24.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
18.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,428 reviews
12.3 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
429 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
72 reviews
20.1 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Arduaine, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Arduaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arduaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest location on the West coast of Scotland awaits visitors to experience this hotel and it's award-winning restaurant, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break at any time of the year... as long as you can put up with the amazing views, the fantastic food, the log fire in the lounge and the selection of malt whiskys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Melfort
Loch Melfort Hotel And Restaurant Arduaine, Scotland - Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing