We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made to feel very welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Arduaine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Made to feel very welcome”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My husband booked us a night here a surprise anniversary gift on the Solstice and it was so memorable. Our room was stunning and the view over the Loch was incredible. We had a lovely meal in the fine dining restaurant with another stunning view and every member of staff was good humoured and charming. We were able to walk on the beach and to the gardens after dinner and watch the sunset, before returning to our room and balcony. Such a gem of a hotel and very well run. Thank you!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review and we are so pleased you had a great stay. The long summer nights are fantastic here on the West Coast, just perfect for a romantic walk after dinner! We hope you come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    232
    69
    32
    9
See reviews for
110
483
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hartford, NY
Level Contributor
237 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

OK accommodations about 20 minutes outside of Oban. Fantastic view of the sea from the rooms, which are spacious, but kind of blah in appearance. Beds ok. Restaurant ok. Nothing fantastic except the view. And the midges, tiny bugs, were awful in the early eve. Take a head covering insect net! Driving back and forth into Oban for dinner was a nuisance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYBob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review and we are glad you had a good stay. Hope we see you back here again one day soon.

Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Thank you to all at Loch Melfort Hotel for making our wedding day so special. We had a small group (21) and there is nothing else that could have been done to make our day any better. The staff were very attentive and looked after us over the course of a long day - James, you deserve a medal. You were very patient!

The meal was superb and the room set up for dinner was beautiful, all our guests made comment on the quality of food served. Everything was presented to an exceptional standard.

We all loved our rooms, so beautifully decorated and welcoming.

And finally, the location. This must be one of the most scenic and beautiful locations in Scotland. Not much would beat Loch Melfort - perfect.

Thank you all so very much and we look forward to our next visit to Loch a Melfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mard0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thanks for writing a review. It was a pleasure to host your wedding, really special because both of your daughters have worked here for us in the past. We wish you every happiness and look forward to seeing you back here again soon.

Kind regards

Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had a lovely stay at the Loch Melfort Hotel. The weather was stunning ( uncontrollable but lucky!) views were to die for, meal in Bistro was lovely, the freshest haddock with chips :-) just a beautiful place to while away some time.

Room Tip: You couldn't choose a bad room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonBennett1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Many thanks for writing a review and we are so glad you had a great stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I decided to visit Loch Melfort Hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary and booked a 3 day break which was simply fantastic. Flowers and Champaign in our room on arrival, stunning haute cuisine dining, excellent service, everything presented to a very high standard and warm, welcoming and friendly staff. A fabulous location and a stunning outlook over the Loch, this hotel is a real gem and should be enjoyed by as many people as possible. Thanks for a great break

Room Tip: Book a room in the main house if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGarcarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your review and it was a pleasure to look after you. We hope to see you back here again soon.
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My friend and I have stayed at Loch Melfort many times because we like its location, the accommodation and the food. Access to gardens and other places is easy and it is a good starting point to visit parts of Scotland further North or West.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Cedar wing offer excellent views of the loch. Access is covered and they have all the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMW274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoy visiting us and you find us so homely. It is our home and we look forward to welcoming you back here again!
Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardersier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just come back from our second visit to Loch Melfort Hotel. As usual the food was out of this world - the seafood platter is not to be missed but the rest of the menu is also excellent. Apart from the fantastic views from every window of the hotel the point of difference is the excellent service from al of the staff. We were fortunate to have Callum in the lounge for 2 evenings and he sets the standard that he obviously expects from everyone else. As all the staff are so focused on customer service and really push the boat out to make sure the guests have a fantastic stay it is hard to single out anyone in particular although Samantha and James (Supervisor) probably deserve a special mention. My advice to anyone reading this is to go and try out the hotel for yourself - I'm sure you won't be disappointed. We will definitely be back for another visit!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms in the Cedar wing are deal for dogs with direct access from the car park and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlasgowHugh, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Many thanks for your fabulous review. We are so lucky to have a great team of staff working for us and giving great customer service is, we hope, what makes us special and stand out from any other small independent hotel on the West Coast. We do hope we see you back here for your third visit sometime soon!

Kind regards
Rachel and Calum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arduaine
18.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
12.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
24.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
21.3 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
3.9 mi away
The Galley of Lorne Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Arduaine, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Arduaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arduaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest location on the West coast of Scotland awaits visitors to experience this hotel and it's award-winning restaurant, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break at any time of the year... as long as you can put up with the amazing views, the fantastic food, the log fire in the lounge and the selection of malt whiskys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Melfort
Loch Melfort Hotel And Restaurant Arduaine, Scotland - Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing