We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Described And Certainly Not As Shown On The Web Site - Beware !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Arduaine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not As Described And Certainly Not As Shown On The Web Site - Beware !”
Reviewed 17 April 2009

I am afraid I can’t agree with any of the reviews posted for the Loch Melfort Hotel.

We were supposed to stay for a three night break with my wife, two children and the dogs. We stayed for one !

We stayed in the Cedar Wing which is not part of the hotel but a sort of “Butlins” wooden cabin bolt on job ! Terrible.

For the price I was to pay I expected the Cedar Wing to be something half decent, it wasn’t. Although very clean it was very dated and had no sound proofing – you can hear peoples conversations not only in the next room but the one beyond that !

There was a musty smell on the bed linen and indeed in the room as a whole which came with you on your cloths when you left !

The views from the room are great however !

The photo on the web site are very cleverly taken and don’t show the wooden cabin “Butlins” Cedar Wing. Cleaver that !

The inside of the hotel however is very nice and the dining room and sitting room are also very nice. Obviously the refurbishment money has been spent on the main hotel so if you are staying their then you are lucky !

The food is very good, not out of this world, but good. The staff are very good and the owners are very pleasant.

I think you could have a lovely stay in the main hotel, we just didn’t have a very nice stay in the wooden cabin Cedar Wing.

I would suggest knocking the wooded cabins down and starting again.

Not worth the money I am afraid !

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Room_101Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJRatLMFT, Owner at Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 April 2009
We are very sorry you found your stay disappointing and you are the first negative reviewer that we have had since taking over the hotel 8 months ago. We have been working round the clock to improve this hotel from the dire situation it was in when we took it over and feel we have been completely open and honest about this on our website. I will endeavour to address some of your points below.

Firstly, we do not believe our website is misleading about Cedar Wing rooms and below is the same text used to describe our rooms under Accommodation/Cedar Wing:

We have 20 ensuite bedrooms in the Cedar Wing, all individually designed and each with either private terrace or balcony overlooking the stunning views.

These rooms are all bright, spacious and comfortable with a full range of facilities, including tea trays and colour TVs. By mid-2009, ten of these rooms will be upgraded to superior rooms as we continue our rolling refurbishment programme.

5 of the ground floor bedrooms are specifically available for our many guests who like to bring their dog with them – the immediate access to the gardens via the terrace is always welcome by your faithful friend!

I think this is clear that they are not luxury rooms and that they are not yet refurbished and there are several photos of the whole hotel on the website showing the Cedar Wing to the right of the main house. It also specifically states that are different rooms for dog owners.

Our upstairs rooms are in very good condition, and the ten downstairs rooms are all due to be refurbished this year, now that we have finished our main house refurbishment - see our blog. Furthermore, we are working with architect Tom McCardel in Ardfern to redesign the whole facia of the Cedar Wing to make it less 60s motel looking and more 2010 Nova Scotia. Perhaps this will be more visually appealing!

Our dog-friendly rooms are on the ground floor. All our dog owners love the fact that they can park their car directly outside their room and that the dogs get free access through the patio doors to the grounds beyond. We are the only hotel near Oban that takes dogs so our rooms are booked all year round. Unfortunately, by bringing a dog, guests have to realise that other dogs will have stayed in their room before them. A succession of long haired golden retrievers and springer spaniels may have left a musty smell of dog in these rooms which is why they have not been refurbished first and is why only dog owners ever stay in them.

Our bedclothes are washed on site by our lovely laundry lady using ecofriendly detergent, which admitedly is not as strong smelling as Persil or Comfort, but is far better for the environment. Our water goes into a reed bed filtration system and then direct into the sea in front of our hotel where we fish our seafood from, so I am sure you will agree that Ecover is better for us to use, despite the lack of smell!!

In terms of value for money, our standard rate for Aprll was £80 per person per night (down from £95 charged last year) and a charge of £8 for a dog. The negotiated rate for this booking was £750 for 3 nights for 2 rooms - this works out as £62.50 per person per night not including the dog, which was not charged for. If you consider that we normally charge £35 for dinner in our restaurant, this means that the equivalent of £27.50 per person per night Bed and Breakfast was paid. We believe this is excellent value for money.


Rachel Ross
Partner, Loch Melfort Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    237
    77
    36
    13
See reviews for
113
504
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2009

We stayed at The Loch Melfort Hotel last weekend, and found it to have been refurbished to a wonderful tasteful style. We walked round the botanical gardens next door, it was such a treat to see the beautiful scenery and breath fresh air (We live in London). The Management and Staff we so professional. I am happy to recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CollinghamApartments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Spent 2 nights at Loch Melfort Hotel (along with our dog) - the room and bathroom were spacious and clean with incredible views over the Loch and Islands. We ate in the formal dining room and all the meals we had were of a very high standard. The service given by all the staff deserves a special mention (especially Brendan and the girls) - it was truly exceptional! During our stay The Bistro was being re-launched as The Chartroom with a new menu - despite a large opening party being underway, the staff still offered attentive service with a smile - we really had the feeling that nothing was too much trouble. We have left having had a wonderful, relaxing weekend and will definately be recommending this Hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortonFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2009

We stayed at the Loch Melfort for 2 nights at New Year 08/09. The new owners went out of their way to welcome us and ensured our stay was most enjoyable, indeed all the staff were very friendly and were great with our kids. The views across the loch are absolutely stunning and the food and wine served at dinner was outstanding. Sitting comfortably in front of the log fire, sipping a rare malt, and enjoying the spectacular view is a memory I will cherish. Forget any negative comments about the old regime - the new owners know exactly what it takes to look after their guests properly. I will return to the Loch Melfort time and again.

  • Liked — The stunning views + food
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PeeseeEnsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2009

I cannot sing the praises of this hotel highly enough. our 3 night stay at New Year was unforgettable. We had a charming and very comfortable room with magnificent views accross the loch, which can also be seen from the dining room and lounge. The owners were very hands on and their staff couldn't have been more helpfull or friendly. As a bit of a foodie i was very impressed with everything in that department particularly the New Years day seafood buffet. By the time i'd left (and believe me, i really didn't want to) i felt completely relaxed and satisfied. have already recommended it to friends and family and plan on visiting again myself in the not too distant future.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank X44Lor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arduaine
24.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
18.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,456 reviews
12.3 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilchrenan
649 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Galley of Lorne Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Arduaine, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Arduaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arduaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest location on the West coast of Scotland awaits visitors to experience this hotel and it's award-winning restaurant, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break at any time of the year... as long as you can put up with the amazing views, the fantastic food, the log fire in the lounge and the selection of malt whiskys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Melfort
Loch Melfort Hotel And Restaurant Arduaine, Scotland - Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing