We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to getaway from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Arduaine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston MA USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to getaway from it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

This hotel is in a beautiful location, staff are excellent and the restaurant outstanding. I went for a one night visit off season and had a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LHE_BOSTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    225
    66
    30
    9
See reviews for
109
472
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

Stayed 2 nights in November 2009 on an advertised 'gourmet weekend'. Absolutely not disappointed and had a fabulous time.

Some of the previous comments led me to think the chalet wing accomodation was Butlins style. So my expectations were low on arrival. However I have to say the room was modern, clean, comfortable and had of course an unbeatable view. No problem whatsoever and very happy with the room.

Very professional welcome and the staff very attentive. If anything, perhaps a little too good. You want a typical Scottish welcome in a Country house like this, so the human touch is very important. It does seem a strange thing to say, but a slightly less formal approach would have been nice.

The food and wines were just fabulous. A marvellous meal on the Friday night from the normal dinner menu. Really excellent and the langoustines in particular were sensational. A good wine list too and not overpriced at all. Lovely meal and a really nice night.

The Saturday was excellent. We choose to share a table with other guests and that was the right thing to do. Some couples had decided to opt for a table for two, which is understandable. However I think that may have caused them to have lost a little over the evening. Always risky sharing a dinner table with strangers, but not a problem on a one night basis like this. This enhanced the overall experience.

The food was fantastic. From a welcome reception with delicious canapes and champagne, through the next seven courses with accompanying wines.... Fabulous. Every course was wonderful and the wines were perfect. The introduction to each course and the passion demonstrated when the wines were introduced, really made the entire evening very special.

A weekend like this really makes life worth living.

Fantastic and looking forward to doing it again. Looks like there is another similar event planned for Spring, so just hope we can make that also.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

We spent half term on a tour of the UK, and this was easily the best place we stayed. Everywhere was very good, getting good trip advisor reviews, but the Loch Melfort Hotel stood out. We found friendly and professional staff and a hotel with a real sense of quality and individuality. We stayed in the main house and our room really was beautiful, stylish and with lots of thoughtful touches. The location is stunning and we could have looked at the view all day! We ate in both the Bistro and the restaurant - the Bistro was great for the kids or a good, simple dinner. It was a real treat for us to have dinner in the main restaurant - quite exceptional. The breakfast was also outstanding and set us up for a good, long walk both days. A perfect place for an active family stay or relaxing adult one!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyHSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east lothian
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

We stayed for 4 days and enjoyed every minute.The views from the public rooms are simply beautiful.The hotel is well run and staff attentive and callum is a good host.we stayed in the adjoining chalet style rooms which were adequate ...and very good value for money ..(as the rooms in the main building were all booked ) and the views ...wonderful.Food was excellent and a joy to be taken in the dining room with superb sea loch view.If you enjoy simply chilling out then this is one of those great places to do it ..with good food and wine.Highly recomended for that.We will return soon

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bootsnsaddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilwinning
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

Had three lovely nights here,everything was first class.This was our first visit but we will be returning.Charming is a thing of the past in some modern,it does not apply here.The staff are allway's on hand,owners are allway's,looking after you,and the food,is wonderful.Add this to lovely rooms with fantastic views,Loch Melfort has it all.One of our best ever short breaks.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

Had visited the Loch Melfort several times and after my last visit, vowed never again but relented with the new owners three for two nights offer. Very pleased we did, they have made their mark and the whole feel to the hotel is again magic, service, food, as always good.
We were in the cedar wing with our dogs and whilst they are due refurbishment we had no complaints.

Pleased we went back and to judge by the occupancy other people seem to be in agreement.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biddy4758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sevenoaks kent
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We were given a very warm welcome upon arrival and also throughout our three day stay by all the staff.
The hotel has created a very special homely atmosphere and makes for a very relaxing stay.
The standard of food is among the best we have tasted for a very long time with an equally impressive standard of service. The menu's created by the Head Chef's are inspiring offering freshy prepared food from local produce.
Our bedroom in the main house was extremely comfortable with a very high standard of hygiene.
Loch Melfort Hotel offers stunning views in a very tranquil surrounding which makes for a memorable experience in this beautiful part of Scotland.
We would highly recommend this hotel and intend to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jansen060555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arduaine
18.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,337 reviews
12.5 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
24.4 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
21.3 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
3.9 mi away
The Galley of Lorne Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Arduaine, Arduaine PA34 4XG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Arduaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arduaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The finest location on the West coast of Scotland awaits visitors to experience this hotel and it's award-winning restaurant, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday or short break at any time of the year... as long as you can put up with the amazing views, the fantastic food, the log fire in the lounge and the selection of malt whiskys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Melfort
Loch Melfort Hotel And Restaurant Arduaine, Scotland - Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing