We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Imperial Kushinagar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kushinagar
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at the Imperial Kushinagar from April 8-12, 2014 during the low season. We were the only guests in the hotel but were still charged high season rates. There was no hot water (perhaps not surprising since no one else was helping to move hot water through the building). The wifi never worked - for a couple days there was apparently an external problem, but even when the front desk could access the internet, the system was not set up properly - guests could not access wifi. This was surprising since just down the road, the internet cafe's had internet and wifi access continually during that period. The hotel's response was that there was a problem with my computer. This was not true since we had trouble-free access all through India for the three months previously and the weeks following. Finally, we needed transportation to the Gorakhpur airport when we left. The hotel quoted a rate of Rs 2500 and eventually backed off to Rs1800, but the standard rate was Rs 1000 to 1200, according to the travel agents. We eventually hired a car for Rs 1100. This was all very disappointing. Kushinigar is visited primarily because it is a Buddhist pilgrimage site. A good hotel would be appreciated, but our experience of the money-obsession of this hotel suggests it is better to try one of the other hotels or one of the monasteries - the Wat Thai, Tibetan or Sri Lankan particularly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John-and-Roxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

There is nothing very special about this hotel other than it offers a comfortable stay in this city which gets lots of visitors. The bedrooms are good It has a main restaurant which offers a variety of decent meals and an Indian...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VNS TOUR AND T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I was a wonderful experience, staying in The Imperial, Kushinager. Very neat and clean rooms and the ambiance is so excellent. It's a quite silent place near Bhudha Ghat. The restaurant was superb and extremely good service, both room & restaurant. The way they maintain their lobby and front office is superb. It is little bit expensive, while comparing the location with other metros.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jossy_Varkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The basics are offered, so if one just needs a bed this is fine, rooms are just ok, the food is just ok, nothing fancy, this hotel has no atmosphere, no style and I had the feeling the staff is not trained, does not make an effort to go beyond the minimum required. They seem to be used to deal with Thai Groups, so not a good place for individual travellers (buffet food is timed according to the Groups). Also the place had no internet access in rooms or lobby, although the manager offered his computer at the lobby to check e-mails.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuno K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Lovely warm welcome, greeted with a cold flannel and drink while signing in. The hotel was large clean and professional.

The staff were very keen to ensure that all our needs were catered for.

The hotel was ideally situated for visiting the Buddhist sites nearby, although the hotel is on a main road it is situated in its own grounds that removed you far enough away from the road so that you were not disturbed by the noise of the traffic.

The food in the restaurant was excellent.

This was one of the few hotels that were able to let us split our large denomination notes into smaller 100 Rupee notes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We organised Business Meeting at their hall . It was a warm welcome by their professional staff. Exacltly what i told them they followed. Extremely good service. Food was good (4/5)rating. But staff performance very good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rahulabrol1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I have booked my package through Indiahorizons site for complete buddhist tour, it included 9 cities, but the most happening hotel was Imperial. Its truly a 5* hotel with 3* charges...
a very warm welcome, with true professionalism...
Jz go n enjoy the true world class facilities.. our stay was of 1 night i.e on 18th Nov 2011, with total 06 rooms, not a single complaint in all 6 rooms...

Room Tip: go for any room, all are excellent, we stayed in standard room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nilesh_wagde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kushinagar
0 mi away
The Grand
The Grand
#2 of 8 in Gorakhpur
35 reviews
0 mi away
The Royal Residency
The Royal Residency
#1 of 4 in Kushinagar
15 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Golden Laurel Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Kushinagar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Kushinagar

Address: Buddha Marg, Kushinagar 274403, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Kushi Nagar District > Kushinagar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kushinagar
Price Range: £72 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Imperial Kushinagar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing