We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place so relaxing”
The Old Granary.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Granary.
Front door to cottage Devon cream tea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The Old Granary.
Front door to cottage
Devon cream tea
Granary lounge
Wood burning stove
Kitchen
Morning coffee
King size bed
Spiral staircase
relax on the balcony
En-suite shower room
steamers in the private garden
Views from the garden and balcony
Welcome flowers from the gardens
Some essentials provided in welcome pack
Morning coffee.
Done roaming!
Sunset from the Granary bedroom window.
Uninvited guests!
Relax in the garden.
Owlacombe Mill.
Owlacombe Mill thanks to google earth.
The new pond is filling nicely.
February 2018 snow in the valley first since 2013.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winkleigh, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sandraemm...
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place so relaxing”
Reviewed 3 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed for 4 nights and was made to feel so welcome, homemade jam and scones were awaiting us when we arrived among other goodies. Owners are on site if anything is needed like info or advice. Very peaceful and great to get away from it all, including the mobile phones. Clean and comfortable everything needed for a great get away. Plenty of quiet outside space to chill. Local pub serves good food and staff friendly, this is a small country inn only 10 minutes walk away with quite a selection of gins.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2018
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed yourselves during your stay here at Owlacombe Mill. The weather this summer has been glorious. Let’s hope when you next visit it will be just as sunny. Thank you for the great review. Will make sure The New Inn keep the gin well stocked!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazdacat6
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent quiet holiday location”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Booked Owlacombe Mill after Ryanair cancelled our flight to Spain.Thank goodness they did.This is the best holiday we have had in England for many years.Peaceful and tranquil set in a valley with a stream running past the cottage.
Very rural with views across the fields and your own private garden to sit in.Gareth and Carol were the perfect hosts who live next door and were on hand to answer any questions.Car is essential as there are some steep areas on the road to walk up to the village,but if you are fit it should not be a problem.The New Inn in the village is an excellent pub and restaurant.We ate there every night from their varied menu and food was reasonably priced.In conclusion if you want a quiet,peacful holiday or break Owlacombe Mill is the cottage you need to rent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Thank you too Ryanair. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Staycations are the way to go we live in such a beautiful country. Come back soon and enjoy our very special valley. Thank you for the 5 star review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Sep 2017
It was lovely to get to know you both. So pleased you enjoyed your short break. In this fast moving world it's important for us all to step off the merrygoround and take a moment to enjoy the natural world around us. Hope the sun shon for you when you got home and you managed to finish painting your shed. See you both soon. Thank you for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Holly A
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So peaceful beautiful setting would recommend”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

lovely little cottage in an idyllic peaceful setting, very well equipt. Excellent cream tea on arrival along with a warm welcome, glad i spent my birthday there enjoying a tasty meal in the nearby pub to celebrate and a few glasses of wine couldn't have enjoyed my birthday more.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a chance to relax and enjoy your birthday. Always a pleasure sharing our home with such nice people. See you both soon we hope.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Always a pleasure to have such lovely people to share our quiet corner of Devon. Thank you so much for leaving the cottage so tidy, we could hardly tell that anyone had stayed. We look forward to welcoming you both back very soon. C&G
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Discover5...
1 review
“We fell in love with your perfect little hideaway.”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed for a long weekend and felt that this wasn't long enough to take in all the beautiful, tranquil surroundings. Gareth and Carol really did think of everything and made us feel more than welcome during our stay. The photographs on the website really do not do this beautiful cottage justice and you must see it in person to fully appreciate this stunning Devonshire little piece of heaven!! It was even a joy not to have any wifi or phone signal for the duration as we felt we were able to really unplug from the outside world and really capture everything around us. Amazing place run by wonderful people....we fell in love with Owlacombe Cottage and we hope to return again one day soon. We really cannot rate this highly enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you both for your kind words. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon it's always a pleasure sharing our special corner of Devon with nice people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage in lovely peaceful location”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you love the countryside and peace, this is the place for you. The cottage is lovely and next door to the owners' property. The owners are great and couldn't be more helpful and friendly. It is a wonderful place to relax and, although very secluded, it is easy to get to lots of beautiful places for days out. We particularly enjoyed seeing the amazing variety of birds out of the windows, on the feeders. This was our second visit and the cottage is always very welcoming (with delicious scones) and extremely clean. We would definitely return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
Thank you for the great review. We very much look forward to welcoming you both back very soon. I may even have worked out a recipe for the scones by your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing