We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Treated as Second Class”
Review of Fraoch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fraoch Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 January 2010

I would like to start by pointing out that I have not stayed at this Hostal. I did however phone to book for my family 2 adults and 2 children aged 9 and 12. I was greeted over the phone by what appeared to me as someone with a very short and brisk attitude who I was inconveniencing by calling to enquire about a booking. I can handle this as after all we all have a bad day.
I explained that I was looking for a room for 1 night to the immediate reply "we don’t do rooms for 1 night only 2" well I only want 1. I then negotiated that if the hostel was not full and I called the day before my booking would I be able to pay for 1 night, eventually the answer was "yes I suppose so”!! I then enquired about the price which I was informed was £20 per person with a light breakfast, I asked if there was a family deal, again a very swift and short reply of "no not in peak season" I negotiated again explaining that I understood the need for a business to make a profit in the busy season but also the fact that applying a blanket rule like this was short sighted and that people like me who live in Scotland and use the mountains and its facilities may return again and again and not just in the "busy season". I did not get any leeway and was told that families pay the same so my children aged 9 and 12 would pay exactly the same as 2 adults!!! I refused to book on principle and feel that yet again as is sometimes the case families are not given a fair deal, the owner was not willing to show any flexibility and stood firm on the policy of maximising profits at all costs during the busy skiing season, little do people know that some of us use these facilities all year round and sustaining custom is just as important as maximising profit in the peak season. This is short sited and takes a very short-term view. I am disappointed as the hostel actually looks very nice and I am sure would be a great place to stay.

Fortunately not all hostels take this view and there are many who do treat families as families not as 4 adults. I did manage to find a pleasant alternative “an old favourite” we have returned to often.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
2  Thank JeromeFinlayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 133 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2008

Stayed here three times over the last five years and always trying to find an excuse to go back -shame it 400 miles from home..

Food is great, lounge is great, rooms are great, owners are great - nothing really to complain about, even the summer midges here aren't as bad!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EricCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nana1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebsf1, Owner at Fraoch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dorothée M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebsf1, Owner at Fraoch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebsf1, Owner at Fraoch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
0.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,334 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.0 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Columba House Hotel
Columba House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kingussie
351 reviews
4.4 mi away
Silverglades Holiday Homes
5.3 mi away
High Range Hotel
High Range Hotel
#1 of 25 in Aviemore
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraoch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraoch Lodge

Address: Fraoch Lodge Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Boat of Garten
Price Range: £46 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraoch Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite guests in to our home, Fraoch Lodge, to use as if it were their own. You can sit in our lounge in front of the open fire, join us for meals (or cook your own); share stories of your adventures or play board games. We have chosen not to put a TV into the Lodge, but instead supply games and books. We also offer guiding services for walks and tours around our local area showcasing places which enhance your knowledge of our area; some of which you may well not have heard about. We have a single room and a triple room, but most of our rooms are twins. 2 Rooms have private bathroom facilities. Some rooms can be combined to offer as family accommodation areas. We hope to see you in the Highlands of Scotland shortly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fraoch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraoch Lodge Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing