We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highland Haven” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boat House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Boat House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Highland Haven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The Boat House Guest House is clean and comfortable with a warm and friendly owner who is full of tips and anecdotes to help make the most of a visit to this most beautiful part of the planet.
The bed was comfortable, there were plenty of clean towels and toiletries as well as tea, coffee and biscuits in the room. The shower in my en-suite bathroom was fabulously powerful - just right after a day of tramping about the countryside. Breakfast was substantial, the WiFi was free and I had a pleasant four night stay there at a very reasonable rate. I would like to have seen a couple of coat hooks on the inside of the bedroom door - a minor quibble.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swamprocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good holiday in the wonderful area
we take on board what you have said about coat hooks , we do have wardrobes in every room , however i understand that putting a wet coat in a wardrobe isn't ideal we also provide a drying and washing facilities , but the point is that someone may simply wish to hang their coat after being caught in a light shower, there for we are in the process of procureing and installing coat hooks in our rooms
we are always looking at ways we can inprove our guest stay with us and are greatfull for your kind constructive critisium
we hope too see you again some time in the future

Harry Hancock owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    21
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
23
28
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We arrived at this guest house after a long cycle ride and we were told that they had no knowledge of the booking. After a short wait we were allocated the three bedded room which was clean and comfortable but our friends were put into a very small room. This room had a four poster bed which took up most of the space. Fortunately they were moved to a larger room which again was clean and comfortable. We all slept well and breakfast in the morning was good. We were recommended to have dinner at a local restaurant, Andersons, close by which was very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sudburybob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
once again we apologise for the confusion , however 10mins before you arrived another group of 4 arrived with a simalar name and my step mother let them in ( i was attending an appiontment) thinking they were you and checked them into your rooms your party then arrived and she tried to accomodate you aswell giving you alternative rooms then 5mins after the other group realised they had not booked with us at all and infact should have been at The boat hotel , my step mother then offered all of you to move into the rooms which you had booked and apologised to you and explained to you what had happened, 10 mins or so later again i arrive back from my appiontment the situaton was explained to me by mystep mother who was very upset having made a mistake i also spoke to you guts at this piont and apologised again 2 of you had moved to the correct room and the other two didn't wish to move and were happy with the room which they had.

i'm glad you found the rooms comfortable and clean , and you had slept well also that breakfast was good. i beleive you also had a lovely meal in andersons that night also,

i apologised again on your departure for the mix up , we are deeply saddened that this mix up spoit your stay with us and can only apologise sincerly

Harry Hancock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed at the Boat House in May. Clean, comfortable, absolutely adequate. Paper thin walls--we could hear everything the couple next to us were saying, and since they came in after we were already in bed, it was annoying. They weren't speaking loudly, but it felt like they were in the same room with us. Breakfast okay, nothing special. We stayed in so many really nice B and B's while in Scotland that it's hard to give the Boat House much more than a 3 in comparison.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianagael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
we are glad you found things here to be clean comfortable and adaquate we are very sorry to here that you were disturbed by other guests in a neighbouring room , i'm sure they weren't just talking normally , occasionally we have guests that come in late and unfortunaitly have no respect for others who may be sleeping etc i'm not sure what time of night the disturbance occured had i have been informed i may have been able to either speak to the noisy guests or move you to a queiter room and i appriecate that some people are light sleepers too.
if you happen to return and give us a 2nd chance please let us know and we have a couple of rooms which are not adjacent to any others, therefore a little queiter.

i'm sorry to read that you weren't overly happy with breakfast we do have a large selection for breakfast cereals, porridge, toast ,fresh fruit, juices , and any of the 10 item full scottish cooked breakfast to choose from

again are apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My son and I stayed at the Boat House for three nights this Spring. Our room was the family room with three beds and an en suite toilet on the ground floor. The room was spacious and sunny. The room was immaculate and the toilet and bath/shower spotless with plenty of towels and toiletries.

The owner, Essay, could not have been more helpful and friendly. There was a large variety of foods for breakfast varying from the healthy (yogurt, porridge and fruit) to the "Full Scottish Breakfast" which was immense.

If you are interested in internet service (WiFi), I should note that we could not get it to work - I don't say this as a criticism of the B&B but possibly of the internet access in that area.

I would note one thing - they have a 5% charge for ;using a credit card (Visa) to pay your bill - so if you want to avoid that be sure to have the cash ready to pay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traintraveller155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
thank you for your kind review, and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us

the point on the wifi is fair however normally connection is good in the area , occasionally service goes for various reasons such as infrustructure works also i have noticed that some devices dont seem to be able to connect i'm not sure what the reason for this is but im endevouring to find out.

the other point on credit card payments , the card machine companys and the banks charge us a fee for processing payments and also charge for equiptment rental we feel to put are prices up for everyone who stays with us to cover this would be unfair as our prices are currently very competetive

thank you again for for kind review

hope we see you again soon

Harry Hancock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Not to be confused with the nearby hotel, The Boathouse Guest House is a six room splendid B&B. Good off-road parking. Very comfortable room with excellent en-suite. Pleasant and comfortable lounge. We were made very welcome and enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was excellent too. There is also an excellent restaurant [Andersons] just 100 yards up the road for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frantonwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
thank you for your review we are pleased you had a very pleasent stay with us , and a exellent meal in andersons , hope we see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Wahaay the Boat House,

Thanks again for a wonderfull stay. Spotless clean and comfy as usual and breakfast!!!!!!
Still the perfect place to stay in that area with plenty to do in close proximity.
Richard will be in touch about Easter.Keep us some snow.

John Vi @kids @ dogs

Room Tip: Great family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us hope to see you again soon

Harry Hancock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

I write this review following our second stay at The Boat House. Our first was during the heavy snowfall at the end of 2010 and although the Scottish scenery and temperatures were different this time all things at The Boat House were thankfully unchanged. Once again we were greeted by a warm family welcome and genuine hospitality by the owners Ez and Harry.

The Boat house is set in an ideal situation for visiting the local attractions without paying the premium prices of accommodation at neighbouring Aviemore. There's plenty to do and see all within a short car journey - If you're stuck for ideas just ask Harry he'll offer suggestions and formulate a good day out for you whatever the weather.

Upon our arrival I noted that there's ample off-road parking which Harry meticulously kept clear of snow with a snow-blowing contraption. In fact, it's obvious that the owners keep this property scrupulously clean and well maintained throughout. The bedding smells fresh and clean and there was not a trace of dust in our bedrooms which we found both airy and well equipped. The en-suite showers are really powerful and come with a complimentary selection of soaps and shampoos which is a nice touch. We found the rooms and beds warm and comfortable and always slept well.

Aside from the hospitality the best thing about The Boat House surely must be the hearty breakfast. Ez provides an excellent selection of fresh tasty home-cooked food and even haggis! Fantastic. There's one thing for sure - you won't starve at the Boat House.

To the rear of the guest house there's a quiet garden to enjoy the Scottish wildlife which flock around the well-stocked bird tables - red squirrels and finches in abundance!

Once again we had a delightful stay. Great value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAngry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
thank you for your review , it was a pleasure having you stay here with us , we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we may get the chance to accomodate you again sometime soon

Harry Hancock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
0.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Docharn Lodge Guest House
Docharn Lodge Guest House
#1 of 2 in Boat of Garten
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fraoch Lodge
Fraoch Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.9 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#2 of 9 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House

Property: The Boat House
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family run guest house located within the Cairngorm national park near to ski,golf, fishing,wildlife, rspb ospreys,steam railway, climbing, and everything Aviemore and the Cairngorms has to offer etc the list goes on pet and child friendly etc. 1/2 hour from Inverness airport with good bus and rail links too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing