We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Boat House
Nearby Hotels
Fairwinds Hotel(Carrbridge)
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nethybridge Hotel(Nethy Bridge)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairngorm Hotel(Aviemore)
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boat Hotel(Boat of Garten)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mountview Hotel(Nethy Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
50
26
11
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
26
11
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswildlife photographyquiet locationbreakfast was excellentguest housetea and coffee facilitiesenjoyed our staygood nights sleepsteam traincairngorm mountainharrypoppygartendogshoweraviemoretoiletrieshosts
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The Boat House Guest House is clean and comfortable with a warm and friendly owner who is full of tips and anecdotes to help make the most of a visit to this most beautiful part of the planet.
The bed was comfortable, there were plenty of clean towels and toiletries as well as tea, coffee and biscuits in the room. The shower in my en-suite bathroom was fabulously powerful - just right after a day of tramping about the countryside. Breakfast was substantial, the WiFi was free and I had a pleasant four night stay there at a very reasonable rate. I would like to have seen a couple of coat hooks on the inside of the bedroom door - a minor quibble.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swamprocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good holiday in the wonderful area
we take on board what you have said about coat hooks , we do have wardrobes in every room , however i understand that putting a wet coat in a wardrobe isn't ideal we also provide a drying and washing facilities , but the point is that someone may simply wish to hang their coat after being caught in a light shower, there for we are in the process of procureing and installing coat hooks in our rooms
we are always looking at ways we can inprove our guest stay with us and are greatfull for your kind constructive critisium
we hope too see you again some time in the future

Harry Hancock owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We arrived at this guest house after a long cycle ride and we were told that they had no knowledge of the booking. After a short wait we were allocated the three bedded room which was clean and comfortable but our friends were put into a very small room. This room had a four poster bed which took up most of the space. Fortunately they were moved to a larger room which again was clean and comfortable. We all slept well and breakfast in the morning was good. We were recommended to have dinner at a local restaurant, Andersons, close by which was very good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudburybob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

once again we apologise for the confusion , however 10mins before you arrived another group of 4 arrived with a simalar name and my step mother let them in ( i was attending an appiontment) thinking they were you and checked them into your rooms your party then arrived and she tried to accomodate you aswell giving you alternative rooms then 5mins after the other group realised they had not booked with us at all and infact should have been at The boat hotel , my step mother then offered all of you to move into the rooms which you had booked and apologised to you and explained to you what had happened, 10 mins or so later again i arrive back from my appiontment the situaton was explained to me by mystep mother who was very upset having made a mistake i also spoke to you guts at this piont and apologised again 2 of you had moved to the correct room and the other two didn't wish to move and were happy with the room which they had.

i'm glad you found the rooms comfortable and clean , and you had slept well also that breakfast was good. i beleive you also had a lovely meal in andersons that night also,

i apologised again on your departure for the mix up , we are deeply saddened that this mix up spoit your stay with us and can only apologise sincerly

Harry Hancock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed at the Boat House in May. Clean, comfortable, absolutely adequate. Paper thin walls--we could hear everything the couple next to us were saying, and since they came in after we were already in bed, it was annoying. They weren't speaking loudly, but it felt like they were in the same room with us. Breakfast okay, nothing special. We stayed in so many really nice B and B's while in Scotland that it's hard to give the Boat House much more than a 3 in comparison.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Dianagael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

we are glad you found things here to be clean comfortable and adaquate we are very sorry to here that you were disturbed by other guests in a neighbouring room , i'm sure they weren't just talking normally , occasionally we have guests that come in late and unfortunaitly have no respect for others who may be sleeping etc i'm not sure what time of night the disturbance occured had i have been informed i may have been able to either speak to the noisy guests or move you to a queiter room and i appriecate that some people are light sleepers too.
if you happen to return and give us a 2nd chance please let us know and we have a couple of rooms which are not adjacent to any others, therefore a little queiter.

i'm sorry to read that you weren't overly happy with breakfast we do have a large selection for breakfast cereals, porridge, toast ,fresh fruit, juices , and any of the 10 item full scottish cooked breakfast to choose from

again are apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My son and I stayed at the Boat House for three nights this Spring. Our room was the family room with three beds and an en suite toilet on the ground floor. The room was spacious and sunny. The room was immaculate and the toilet and bath/shower spotless with plenty of towels and toiletries.

The owner, Essay, could not have been more helpful and friendly. There was a large variety of foods for breakfast varying from the healthy (yogurt, porridge and fruit) to the "Full Scottish Breakfast" which was immense.

If you are interested in internet service (WiFi), I should note that we could not get it to work - I don't say this as a criticism of the B&B but possibly of the internet access in that area.

I would note one thing - they have a 5% charge for ;using a credit card (Visa) to pay your bill - so if you want to avoid that be sure to have the cash ready to pay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traintraveller155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

thank you for your kind review, and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us

the point on the wifi is fair however normally connection is good in the area , occasionally service goes for various reasons such as infrustructure works also i have noticed that some devices dont seem to be able to connect i'm not sure what the reason for this is but im endevouring to find out.

the other point on credit card payments , the card machine companys and the banks charge us a fee for processing payments and also charge for equiptment rental we feel to put are prices up for everyone who stays with us to cover this would be unfair as our prices are currently very competetive

thank you again for for kind review

hope we see you again soon

Harry Hancock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Not to be confused with the nearby hotel, The Boathouse Guest House is a six room splendid B&B. Good off-road parking. Very comfortable room with excellent en-suite. Pleasant and comfortable lounge. We were made very welcome and enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was excellent too. There is also an excellent restaurant [Andersons] just 100 yards up the road for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

thank you for your review we are pleased you had a very pleasent stay with us , and a exellent meal in andersons , hope we see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews