We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you expect and more.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boat House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Boat House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything you expect and more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Not to be confused with the boat HOTEL. Private off road parking. Lovely room, best shower I've had all week. Really nice bed. Friendly staff and a banging breakfast. And brilliant wifi! Will be adding this one to the favortes and visit it again! Thanks all

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madfatten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
we are please you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again someday

kind regards

Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    21
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
23
28
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was the first night stop on a week long tour of Scotland this August. It was a pleasant start. The staff are friendly, the breakfast is huge, the room was adequate and it was at a reasonable price

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
we are glad you enjoyed your stay

regards

Harry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Lewis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed at The Boat House for the third time in June of this year so that must say something for this delightful family run Guest House. Always a friendly welcome from Poppy (the dog) and the owners, You couldn't want for anything better in the comfortable atmosphere of this Guest House.
Central location for all locations to visit and more than anything a good breakfast after a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed in a warm and clean bedroom. There is a lounge where you can relax after a strenuous day out and about.
There is no doubt I will return to The Boat house in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsleofLewisRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Visited with family for a short, last minute break. Room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfasts were huge and delicious...cook to order! Would recommend for a short break in the Grampian national park.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Whuppity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

This was a fantastic last minute deal and I was impressed with the quality of service and the accommodation.

The room was comfortable and cosy and the bathroom facilities were shared which was not a problem. Also, breakfast servings were enough to allow me to skip lunch and almost pass on dinner!

Would recommend to anyone with a limited budget but looking for excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LainCoubert345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the boat house, it was clean and comfortable especially the four poster bed! Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. local bus to Aviemore takes 10 mins with the stop only a minute from B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenstujean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

My husband, sister-in-law and I went to the highlands for a bird-watching trip--primarily to see Capercallies at the Osprey Centre. The Boat house was an ideal location, and we were pleasantly surprised to have such a friendly welcome from the owner--Harry. Although he claimed he wasn't a birder, he gave us so many helpful tips on where to go and see wildlife. He was extremely accommodating when we ordered our HUGE cooked breakfast. It kept us going til dinner in the evening!

We were also impressed with the little tiuches: selection of hot drinks in our rooms (tea, coffee (decaf) & hot chocolate), as well as biscuits put out daily, and the water pressure was great in the showers too --small thing, but nice nevertheless.

We were staying in the 2 rooms with a shared bath, but it was only the three of us in that section of the house, so more like a private bath in our own wing.

A very friendly, relaxed and convenient B&B that we would go again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
0.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Docharn Lodge Guest House
Docharn Lodge Guest House
#1 of 2 in Boat of Garten
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fraoch Lodge
Fraoch Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.9 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#2 of 9 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House

Property: The Boat House
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family run guest house located within the Cairngorm national park near to ski,golf, fishing,wildlife, rspb ospreys,steam railway, climbing, and everything Aviemore and the Cairngorms has to offer etc the list goes on pet and child friendly etc. 1/2 hour from Inverness airport with good bus and rail links too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing