We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Boat House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat House
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Bedroom and bathroom sizes were about average for places of this sort. Bathroom sink plumbing was outdated, and the hot water faucet side leaked. Shower head had to be hand-held continuously in order to control its direction. This was because of a rusted set screw that needed replacing. Hot water was plentiful. No hair drier. When water was in use in adjacent rooms the pipes made a loud humming noise audible even with ear plugs in place. A fan of some sort was needed to help cool the room, even if the window was opened. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Delbert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, 27 December 2014
thank you for your review

firstly as I have stated on another response my staff has changed....I can assure you that the shower and tap was fixed the day you left as I recall you informed me abut them in the morning you departed....as is the airlock causing noise in pipes

I also note you couldn't find the hair dryer this is kept in a draw in every room

as regards to it being warm in your room and needing a fan...you were unfortunate to stay during the hottest weather we had for over 5 years 30c is not normal for the highlands in summer 20-25c is considered a hot day although had you of asked I ma well of been able to find a fan for you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    24
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
24
28
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Strathcarron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed at the Boat House in Boat of Garten for just one night last week while working in the area. I was not impressed at all. My work booked me into the place for 2 nights, and i decided to leave after just one (no refund offered).

Im not normaly one to come on trip advisor and give a poor review, but this place was really disapointing.

As soon as i knocked the door i was greeted by a very very friendly dog who immediately put his nose into my crotch, without a word from the eastern european girl who then gave me my room key & directed me through the living area to my room.

The Living area itself was quite dingy and smelly. It has several large fish tanks in it & it has that fish tank smell around the place. I still dont know if this was a communal area or a private area for the hosts.

I was then directed to my room, and my face must have told the story, a TV from the 1980's and around one foot space either side of the bed.... Cramped isnt quite the word for it. I said to the girl who showed me to the room that i would only require to be here for 1 night (as i couldnt face 2nights here) and she said that my room had already been paid for by my company and she wouldnt refund it. The result of this my work will dock the evening i didn't stay from my wages, and to be honest it was worth taking the hit not to stay here for a second night.

The shared bathroom had a decent shower, but toilets with carpets always give me the creeps. Its fair to say i skipped breakfast so cannot comment, i skipped it due to me starting work at 7.30am and no breakfast being offered before that time.

I wont be back im afraid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightfireuk2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theboathouse, Owner at The Boat House, responded to this review, 27 December 2014
thanks for the review

firstly the member of staff you are referring to was greek not from eastern Europe...secondly is no longer here ...

there is a friendly dog here ,she is not normally at the door to greet guests however my staff at the time had left the door to reception open ...

there are some fish tanks in the house including the guest lounge ...most people find them relaxing ...and im unsure if water smells...

when I saw you in the evening I asked what time you were wanting breakfast and you didn't want any as you were leaving early I also offered an earlier breakfast as I do for many guests ....some have had breakfast as early as 5.30 am before...

your company had paid for both nights stay....however we did not know you weren't staying until the following evening when you never returned...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Very good accommodation and value for money. Friendly, welcoming owner and staff – well done for our delicious breakfast on New Year’s morning following a "festive" Scottish Hogmany! We joined friends for New Year celebrations in Boat of Garten and would stay at the ‘Boat House’ again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerr1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

A last minute booking made after seeing the weather forecast was good enough to drive up from Penicuik to Cairngorm to ski. We arrived late (no problem at all for the owner) and received a friendly welcome from the owner and his dog, Poppy. Room basic but warm and good tea and coffee facilities allowed us to fill a flask of chocolate for our ski trip. Bath and shower was a bonus. Breakfast was hearty and freshly cooked to order at the time of our choosing (helpful when wanting an early start to get on the slopes asap). Would stay again as good value and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HillwalkerEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Having had a brilliant time staying at this hotel during a ski-ing weekend break in Aviemore last season, I have always intended going back. In the interim, knowing their high standards I booked a 2 night break through social living for my parents as a special treat. They have just returned and a really fantastic time. They had a huge gorgeous room and thoroughly enjoyed their meals both nights in the restaurant. The icing on the cake was the helpfulness and professionalism of the staff who all ensured they had an amazing customer experience.

Unfortunately my parent's printer had developed a fault and I was on a weekend break in Warsaw so couldn't fix it, they had to turn up at the hotel without a printed copy of their voucher and they were a bit worried about this. The Reception Manager on their arrival was fantastic and extremely understanding and I was able to forward the voucher on my return. Outstanding as my parents are in their early 70's and though sprightly, if they had been made to feel awkward about the voucher it would have ruined their trip - THANK YOU for your understanding and outstanding customer service. Strongly recommend this hotel and now looking even more forward to my return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Came up for Aviemore half marathon and stayed here with wife and 2 girls for second year running. Harry (owner) and Poppy the dog very nice and great breakfast. Very convenient for Aviemore and many local attractions. Room clean and comfortable and wifi so important for girls!
Will stay again next year if able to run again!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PathheadHibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was my last night's accommodation on my walk over the Speyside Way. I had been so pleased with all my choices & this was no exception. Clean room, great shower & a smashing breakfast as well.- I was most comfortable - also good wifi. Add to this, a quiet location & a great night's sleep & you get a very happy woman! Good value too as a single traveller occupying a double ensuite room - I would happily stay here again if in the area. Oh, and eating out at Anderson's Restaurant in the village is a must as well - wonderful food! Thank you, Harry (and Poppy the dog) for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a four-poster bed - very comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
0.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,253 reviews
3.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
4.9 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Docharn Lodge Guest House
Docharn Lodge Guest House
#1 of 2 in Boat of Garten
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fraoch Lodge
Fraoch Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
130 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#5 of 8 in Carrbridge
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House

Property: The Boat House
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly family run guest house located within the Cairngorm national park near to ski,golf, fishing,wildlife, rspb ospreys,steam railway, climbing, and everything Aviemore and the Cairngorms has to offer etc the list goes on pet and child friendly etc. 1/2 hour from Inverness airport with good bus and rail links too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing