We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can we take it home please?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Docharn Lodge Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Can we take it home please?”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This has to be the most fabulous guest house in Scotland! If Carlsberg made hosts... then they'd definitely be Neil and Catriona! Welcoming, friendly, helpful, and relaxed - what more could we ask for.
The steading is fabulous, no corners cut at all in the design and build - wonderful oak beams, stunning rooms, and beds so comfortable there's no worries of getting a good night's sleep - only problem is forcing yourself out of it in the morning! And a lovely relaxing shared lounge area with fabulous views of the Cairngorms....oh and the best breakfasts ever!

Thoroughly recommended - we'd say it was just like home, but it's not - home isn't as good!! (5 star ratings not enough!)

Thanks for a fabulous few days (L & S)!

Room Tip: All rooms were fab, so any would be a delight! Room 1 has door onto private patio area, but all are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orchidsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Many thanks for your kind words, we are so pleased you had a good experience here. It was a real pleasure to have you stay . We look forward to seeing you both again soon. Hope the dogs & horses were OK on your return.
Catriona & Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
107
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here when visiting Aviemore because we wanted somewhere a little quieter.
What a find. Absolutely stunning. Neil & Catriona were so welcoming, & their home is stunning.
The breakfasts were excellent, with the best fruit salad we have had. Homemade breads & jam too!
The lodge is in a lovely position with fabulous views. Easy to find even at night, as there are small lights around the roof. Also a welcoming wood burning stove for those chilling evenings.
Ample & good parking.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Well, thank you both for this, you are so kind. We thoroughly enjoyed your company last week as did our other guests. We would love to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Catriona & Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here with a couple of friends for a golfing break in the Highlands at the end of May. We were most impressed with this stunning property which has a spacious, airy feel and wonderful views over the valley to the mountains beyond. The owners built the house themselves and have created a lovely home with all the best fittings and furniture. Chocolates and wine greeted us in the bedroom on arrival, the breakfast menu was extensive and we felt thoroughly spolit by Catriona and Neil who took great care of us. We were able to watch an Oyster catcher which was nesting in the garden through a webcam linked into the house. I'm not easy to impress ( and this is my first review on Tripadvisor ) but it was a first class place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Hello to you all and thank you for your kind words. We were delighted to meet you and have you stay with us. It was a great weekend. So glad you enjoyed the golf at the 'Boat'.
Best regards
Catriona & Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I recently stayed here for 7 nights. Neil and Catriona's home is stunning. Their welcome was warm, inviting and friendly. The rooms, bathrooms and all facilities are beautiful, crisply clean and the quality that one would expect in a top hotel. Easy to find, stunning uninterupted views of the Cairngorms and within easy reach of all the activities we were planning that week. Definately worth a stay and hosts are just lovely.. Fab coffee too

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thanks to you all for this kind response. We are looking forward to seeing you again in September.
Best regards
Catriona & Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
1.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,270 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
5.9 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
4.7 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Docharn Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Docharn Lodge Guest House

Property: Docharn Lodge Guest House
Address: Docharn Lodge Boat of Garten, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Catriona and Neil would like to extend a warm welcome to you at Docharn Lodge. Our home is a recently restored steading with spacious oak framed extension and has the latest in sustainable and efficient hi-tech energy systems. Docharn Lodge was designed on a beautiful elevated position to take in the unfolding panorama of Strathspey and the Cairngorm Mountains and maximize the views. If you are looking for that special place to stay in the Cairngorms National Park, then Docharn Lodge is for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Docharn Lodge Guest House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing