We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a stunning property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Docharn Lodge Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What a stunning property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Neil and Catriona have created an amazing house, full of light, comfortable furniture and colourful modern art which cannot be faulted - there was no detail which they had not thought of in creating the property in which they provide a truly top class service - nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts were a real delight. We know where we will be staying next time we are in Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonish31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
It was a real pleasure to meet you both and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us recently. We would like to thank you for your kind comments and would be delighted to welcome you back to Docharn again soon.
Best wishes Catriona and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
98
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester,
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The most wonderful views, excellent accommodation, and perfect hosts - thank you Catriona and Neil! We will definitely be returning. The choice for breakfast is brilliant and it is served with a smile - we couldn't have wished for better.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SandBWinchester_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you both for writing this review, we really appreciate it. We're glad you managed to spot the capercaillie and many other birds while you were here. We look forward to your return visit in September.
Best wishes
Catriona and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over the Easter weekend 2014. The guest accommodation is superb and the hosts, Neil and Catriona couldn't have been more accommodating and pleasant - they say nothing is too much trouble and I am sure they really mean that. We stayed in bedroom 1 - the furnishings are of a high quality and in very good taste as I am sure the other rooms also are. As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast is fantastic - possibly the best we have ever experienced. Afternoon tea is an extra complimentary service that you wouldn't normally expect but was most welcome on the day of our arrival. Hats off to Neil and Catriona - they have definitely got it right and we will certainly be back.
Paul and Sue, Canterbury, Kent, UK

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astins01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Many thanks Sue and Paul for your kind words, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Docharn. We enjoyed the little chats with you in the evening. Hopefully we'll meet you again soon.
Best wishes
Catriona and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Excellent in all respects. We has a very warm welcome and this continued throughout our stay. The room was lovely with a very smart en suite. The lounge area was relaxing with plenty of reading material and excellent views of the Cairngorms. Neil and Catriona helped us to make the most of our stay with their suggestions and were always prepared to give of their time.
The breakfast choice was great and beautifully prepared.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would love to be able to return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank S1AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Hello to you both, hope you arrived home safely last week. We thoroughly enjoyed your company and hope you do manage a return visit soon. Thank you for this kind review.
Best regards
Catriona and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Neil and Catriona have a diamond of a guesthouse here and they run it spot on. The rooms, the location, the breakfasts, the beds, the showers, the welcome, the friendliness, the EVERYTHING is perfect, cannot fault it. We can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MackemPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a lot of fun having you stay. Hope Linda's grandparents arrived home safely to Essen.
Kind regards
Catriona and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I arrived in the evening to be shown into a lovely bedroom with a great shower. I was given a cup of tea and a variety of shortbreads and biscuits and sat in the living room, admiring the fantastic conversion of an old steading using green oak construction and underfloor heating, all done by Neil (who was a builder) and Catriona.
The breakfast was delicious, with a bowl of fresh fruit, perfect porridge and poached eggs on muffins.
This must be one of the very best!
Thank you, Catriona and Neil

Room Tip: If using satnav, it works fine from Aviemore and Carrbridge, but not from the main bypass road, as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us recently, and we're pleased you managed to get some good photography shots. Thank you for this kind review, we're glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope that you return again soon.
Kind regards
Catriona and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Thank you Catriona & Neil for your wonderful hospitality!! Your house is beautiful, bedrooms better than top notch hotels, & so enjoyed chatting to you both.
Breakfast was delicious & you both went out of your way to make our stay as good as it could possibly be. We look forward to
returning. Sandy & Lesley

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nmm753, Owner at Docharn Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to Docharn again very soon.
Kind regards
Catriona and Neil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
1.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
2.1 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#2 of 9 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Docharn Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Docharn Lodge Guest House

Property: Docharn Lodge Guest House
Address: Docharn Lodge Boat of Garten, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Catriona and Neil would like to extend a warm welcome to you at Docharn Lodge. Our home is a recently restored steading with spacious oak framed extension and has the latest in sustainable and efficient hi-tech energy systems. Docharn Lodge was designed on a beautiful elevated position to take in the unfolding panorama of Strathspey and the Cairngorm Mountains and maximize the views. If you are looking for that special place to stay in the Cairngorms National Park, then Docharn Lodge is for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Docharn Lodge Guest House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing