We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To Boat on a bike!”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

We rode from Boat of Garten to Aviemore and back on the stunning Speyside Way - and arrived back in Boat at tea time.

We popped into the hotel and asked if they had any cakes. "We have tea & scones if that is ok?" was the very friendly response from the waiter/manager.

We sat outside in the sunshine and were served lovely fresh, warm fruit scones, each presented beautifully on a platter with a split strawberry and a squirt of strawberry coulis ... and butter that had clearly been warmed slightly to aid spreading. The tea was lovely. The ONLY gripe was the jam. Would love to have seen locally sourced jam ... this would have been the proverbial icing on the cake!

And the hotel also provided free wifi to boot - enabling a v quick catch up on emails and a tweet or two!

Thoroughly recommend it - and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boat Hotel M, Front Office Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and for sharing your great bike journey to the Boat Hotel on the Speyside Way. We are delighted to read your comments and will certainly pass over your comments in regards to the jam.

Look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Front Office/Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

984 - 990 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed at the Boat Hotel on 26 - 28 March as part of a gift from our daughter.On arrival and all during our stay the staff were very attentive to our requirements and very friendly.The room we had(114) was clean warm and tidy.Food in the restaurant was excellent but found the drinks a bit expensive,overall our stay was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boat Hotel M, Front Office Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read you had an excellent stay with us and we appreciate your feedback in regards to the prices of our drinks which we will certainly take on board.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Front Office/Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed at the Boat Hotel on the weekend of 22nd March 2013. The staff were welcoming, the room was quite small but clean and had the usual facilities and swan towels. The food was very good but on our first night our table was in the dining room come bar which was rather crowded, however on the next two nights we asked to be in the other more quiet dining area. We enjoyed our stay but would have liked a lounge bar area to sit and relax in before and after eating.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boat Hotel M, Front Office Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for sharing your comments with other travellers. I am delighted to read you had a nice time with us and thank you for your feedback in regards to the preferred lounge area which we have certainly taken on board.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Front Office/ Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Myself and my husband stayed for 1 night here for Valentines Day.
From the outside, the hotel is very pretty but had some building work going on to the front of it. We never saw any builders or heard any work being carried out so it did not interrupt our stay.
Inside the hotel, the reception and hallways are a bit tired looking and the carpets are worn. Our room itself was lovely, with a big double bed and huge bathroom with shower and separate stand alone bath. It was all very tastefully decorated. Maybe some of the rooms have been renovated and there are plans for the rest of the hotel too? That's what it felt like to us.
We ate in the bar/restaurant that evening and the food was amazing which isn't surprising as it has won awards for it's cuisine. It was really well priced too at around £25 each for 3 courses. The only complaint I would have was that I had read online that there was a special valentines menu and when I asked the waitress about this, I was told that to get that menu, we had to book a package with a room. I was a bit confused as we had booked a room but just not directly with the hotel.
Breakfast the next day was good with a freshly cooked hot breakfast and all the usual items at the self-service area.
I would stay here again if I was in this area as it's a beautiful part of the world to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Around the world in 80 days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boat Hotel M, Front Office Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for sharing your feedback in regards to your past stay with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay with us and can only apologise for the confusion in regards to our Valentines Menu. It certainly was available to all guests.

We are working on a room care programme which will see us refurbishing rooms on a regular basis, the works outside the hotel which was part of the local council upgrading of the station square has also now been completed.

I hope to welcome you back to the Boat Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Front Office/Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here for five nights on a romantic break. We arrived at the hotel at approx 15:30 and were given keys to our "Garden Room" and directed. The room was big and nicely decorated and the bathroom was also very nice. The patio doors opened on to our own decking area which then led on to the garden.
The food at the hotel is very nice - compliments to the chef/s. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice and the evening meals were cooked to perfection!

All the staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Having stayed in the Aviemore area many times I would defiantly recommend this hotel (the best one!) and was sad to leave.

Thank you Boat Hotel for making our holiday memorable :o)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boat Hotel M, Front Office Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind and flattering words in regards to your previous stay with us at the Boat Hotel. I am sincerely delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Front Office/Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Excellent two night stay at the week-end as part of a deal. We had a garden suite which was lovely although a bit of a walk to the restaurant and reception. We ate in the restaurant the first night which was lovely although the drinks are expensive. Very comfortable, and a great location. In particualar the staff are very pleasant and attentative. The breakfast menu was extensive but of a good quality.

Room Tip: We went for a garden suite (there are 6 of them) which although a bit away from the "hub"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boat Hotel M, Front Office Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments and for advising other travellers on your experience.

We value all guest feedback at the Boat Hotel and I am pleased to read you enjoyed our facilities and accommodation.

I hope to welcome you back to the Boat Hotel on your next visit to the Cairngorms National Park.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Front Office/Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We had a lovely stay at the boat: lovely room, discreet and friendly service, great food and very child friendly. The only small issue was that the corridors in the hotel are looking a bit tired and need a refurb. That is the only reason I didn't give it a 5!

Room Tip: Decorate hallways as a bit shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boat Hotel M, Front Office Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to advise us of your feedback in regards to the hotel corridors. We are working on a hotel refurbishment programme which will eventually see the corridors being refurbished, but the hotel bedrooms are main priority. I am glad to read however that you had a lovely stay with us.

Kind regards,

Shona MacLachlan
Front Office/Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
3.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
583 reviews
23.7 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range: £28 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing