We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dancing Weekend”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Reviewed 18 September 2013

As we were dancing one night in Grantown-on-Spey & one night in Pitlochry we decided to have a weekend away & found the Boat Hotel suited us very well. the staff were very friendly & attentive. We didn't have time to have dinner but breakfast was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheilabilly6066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

881 - 887 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

Friendly welcome from staff. Spacious room, comfortable bed but could hear guest in room above, every time they walked about their room. For dinner, restaurant was used for a private party so was obliged to eat in the bar, which was cramped. Food was a disappointment in terms of quantity and quality. 3 scallops for a starter which were served barely warm. Main course was better but nothing special. Breakfast was OK, but very slow to arrive (25 mins), apparently, because of a 'printer' problem. Luckily, I has booked the room at a 'good' price, compared to oithers, which reduces my disappointment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stopped off here for lunch on the advice of the Strathspey railway ticket collector and the train driver.

Very nice food and splosh - but not cheap - close to West End prices - Cullen Skink £7.50, chips £4.50, pint of IPA £4.30.

Very pleasant staff, lovely dining room, great ambiance. Sometimes it's worth paying more for the surroundings and this was worth it. Just!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Several years ago we stayed at The Boat, some two miles away from Carrbridge, and kept pleasant memories. We returned there, alas only for a lunchtime coffee, having met with dire experience of customer care at a nearby Carrbridge establishment. Thus a nice friendly reception was much in demand. We were not disappointed. The hotel has undergone a considerable make-over since we were last in Boat of Garten, and the lounge-bar is comfortable and clean, if pleasantly old-fashioned in decor. We were met by a charming and welcoming member of staff who brewed up a fresh and first-rate pot of coffee. Next time we will make it lunch, dinner and an overnight as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Friendly staff, the main drawback is that the rooms can be very small, not for the claustrophobic. The furniture in my room was threadbare. Dinner was enjoyable, although the cheesecake was far too sweet and did not resemble cheesecake. Poor selection of cereals for breakfast and would have liked some fruit, preferably fresh. The staff were helpful, though they should be trained not to bring food out when the previous dish has only been half eaten.

Room Tip: Tell them that you are claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stopped for a cup of coffee and to meet up with a business partner - charged £4.50 for one cup of coffee - I did challenge this and they reduced the price to £3.50 - this was at 11am in the morning, no biscuits or any extras.

It was a shame because it is nice surroundings, but would not return to pay those prices.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moggy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Great location , staff all so very friendly and helpful. We had purchased a junior room as the reviews of the main bedrooms were very mixed, so looking for comfort we thought it worthwhile spending a few more ££££.
Sad to see that there is no bar or decent lounge, 2 settees and 4 large chairs at the end of the dining room was all that was available to relax with a wine or two.
The journey to get to our room, which was room 1 in the new wing was an adventure in itself.
Up through the creaky stairwell, OK it is a very old hotel !, We found one directional sign and that was it, So through more corridors all which need an upgrade.I went back to reception to ask how to get to our room, and we finally made it.
Reception told us that we could move our car to the upper car park which was nearer to our room and would save us walking through the hotel. This door was right next to our room and was an emergency exit that was kept open,, so at night while trying to settle down ,the banging of this door as other residents came in was off putting.
Our room was well appointed and good quality furnishings, the bed was beautiful, , a great sleep once the noise of the banging door had abated, partial views to Cairngorms and Steam Railway.
Breakfast was good, served by very pleasant young ladies.
BEWARE room 1 is slightly over looked by bedroom in main hotel, no privacy,
Internet access is NOT available throughout the hotel, on checking out I mention to receptionist that I could not get internet access, she said Oh! if you had come to reception we would have played about with the routers which may have allowed access?????? Why wasn't there a notice in the bedroom telling us this.

Room Tip: new rooms were well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 246aberdonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
3.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
583 reviews
23.7 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range: £27 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing