We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit this year”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Love this hotel, over the years we have stayed here on numerous occasions, usually for a short break, two to four days. The perfect location not to mention the beautiful scenery. The staff are always friendly and attentive but also let you get on with your break. The hotel is warm and comfortable, the food is excellent whether its "bistro" or fine dining. The steam railway is always a bonus, when it is operating, check timetable.
Love it.

Room Tip: King rooms garden terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights 4/5th November. Room lovely and comfortable, staff amazingly pleasant and helpful. Area of natural outstanding beauty. Food not bad. Only grouse was no heating on in hotel in dining area or breakfast room which no-one seemed to know why, I would definitely go back and would r3commend staying here.

Room Tip: Book early, there is no lift however for those who have poor mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdwatching62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just back from this hotel after staying 2 nights. The place was so lovely and cosy, food was great and the staff were really friendly and attentive. Also, it's in a great location as it's just outside of aviemore and the stream train railway is right next to it too.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UlsterScots2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a great hotel. I have stayed here twice now and would come back any time. The smell of burning wood from the open fire in every public room fills the air and for me provides a warm atmosphere. The service is excellent. On our last stay the kichen staff stayed on to provide us with a meal after the kitchen was closed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve3873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Really liked this hotel, good location, away from the busier town of Aviemore with great views of the Carnigorms
Room was very nice, comfortable with all the expected comforts.
Food was very nice, great breakfast!
We would go back for another visit and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Myself and my boyfriend, had a lovely two night stay here. We had bought it two nights prior to going so it was very last minute booking. First and foremost, It was extremely easy to get to the hotel, only a 10 minute drive at most from the centre of Aviemore and it was nice to be out of the centre and in a very peaceful area. The appearance of the hotel from the outside was good, and inside was even better. It was the epitome of what a scottish hotel should have, a lovely tartan carpet, smelt beautifully of food and there was even live scottish music on the Saturday night which we thought was a great touch. The service at the beginning was great, very helpful and polite and breakfast was beautiful and just the right food portion size. However, at dinner it took the waitress 15 minutes to give us a menu and ask for drinks, while the couple next to us arriving 10 minutes after us, got their starters before us! We found this quite rude and speculated it was a result of our being only 20 and 21 years of age compared to the majority of visitors who were older than us. This was confirmed after when the waitress, apologised for the slow service and for if we felt "neglected" which was a strange comment but regardless it didn't put a damper on our night.
The room was nice, very clean and tidy, fresh towels and tea coffee and hot chocolate available for free. However, the shower was probably the worst part of it all, it was very weak and was either roasting hot or freezing cold, which being a girl is incredibly frustrating! Apart from that we couldn't complain.
Overall we would definitely return here, and probably stay an extra day or two as there is so much to see in Aviemore. Great hotel overall.

Room Tip: Room not next to car park as you can hear people coming out their cars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Could not fault this hotel at all, perhaps a tiny moan about accessing our garden room. Good location, garden room top quality fittings and decor, restaurant really great on both nights. We ordered breakfast in our room, not disappointed at all. Views from garden are special. lovely Scottish traditional welcome, standread esp high given the other hotels wee used during our trip which were v old fashioned by comparison. From the back top car park we accessed our room through a loose fire door,a security issue surely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
827 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
592 reviews
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range: £39 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing