We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Outing”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Family Outing”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Really loved this hotel. Rooms were nice, staff were great, and the food was excellent. Was here with wife and 2 daughters 5&7 and the walks that start and finish at the hotel are amazing. My girls walked 5 miles through the Forrest's and loved it. Nice log fires on our return. Will be going back definately.

Room Tip: Go for the delux as very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berniee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    418
    222
    132
    64
See reviews for
184
777
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel was a nice way to finish a winter mountaineering mini break. The previous two nights were in a local youth hostel so I thought I'd be good to myself! I'm not a proper mountaineer: I like my creature comforts.

The cost of the package (room, evening meal and breakfast) actually cost less than my SYHA bunk bed and three course meal in Aviemore on the previous night (the Old Bridge Inn if you're interested - excellent but pricey food). I couldn't quite believe it. Admittedly it was a very quiet Sunday night in January. I'd happily return in season and pay the corresponding fee.

The fixed price menu (included in my package) had half a dozen starters, mains and deserts to choose from. Wasn't quite up to Old Bridge Inn standards but I think the rest of the menu is designed to compete - looked excellent.

Lovely staff too. A special thank you to the receptionist who gave me some ibuprofen for my aching neck. I had taken a tumble on the hills earlier, it was a Sunday night and there wasn't a shop open for miles.

The classic room was spotless. There was free wifi in my room as advertised. Not huge bandwidth (maybe 3 meg) but fine for most stuff.

The breakfast menu looked great too - pity I was in a rush! I'll be having the Arbroth smokies next time. I did have time for the museli and coffee - from my own cafetière no less.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumyumpowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The resturaunt food is fantastic value. All the staff in the hotel are helpful and friendly.

The hotel is a little bit tatty but I love the ambiance of the old building. It is a very pleasant place to be.
Great location.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have been renovated, my room was not and there was quite a big difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Downhillsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

To all the staff at the Boat House Hotel,

Thank you for a very enjoyable two night stay and for looking after us. Beautiful traditional charming hotel at a good location. I’m looking forward to my next stay with yourselves. Food was lovely and the mulled wine by the log fire went down a treat!!

Lindsay and Jayme

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Booked on TripAdvisor. Best points - great location; great staff; good food at the price point; free wifi.

Less good points; parking is a pain and the bedrooms are very tired. Stairs are an interesting geometrical challenge.

Book again? maybe yes but you do need to deal with the bedrooms.

Not spamming BTW.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKH325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a lovely time here one weekend.The food in the restaurant was good as was the full cooked breakfast.A bit of a drive into Aviemore though...had to take taxi at night.Situated right next door to the steam train station.

Room Tip: Rooms with patio doors must be nice in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oneloveonelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We had 4 rooms for all the family over Xmas , the hotel was warm and welcoming log fires , great food and lovely staff from reception to dining .
They even let us have a downstairs room xmas day to put the presents out for our 2 young children to open their presents by the lovely fire

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
234 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
4.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
506 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Property: The Boat Hotel
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing