We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good all round”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very good all round”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a 5pm deal, 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast, and enjoyed our stay very much. All staff were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Food was very good; we had one meal in the bar area and one in the restaurant - both good areas, but especially liked the cosy feel of the restaurant. Our room, on the second floor, was comfortable, spacious and spotless, as was the bathroom (shower could have been more powerful, though, but this is a minor criticism). No sign of a hole in the lobby ceiling and, although one room on the first floor was being redecorated, this did not spoil our enjoyment. When do some reviewers think hotels get these jobs done? In the quieter season - obviously.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    425
    234
    140
    66
See reviews for
194
795
30
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We booked in here for a weekend thinking that it would be a pleasant change from Inverness. The only good think about this hotel were the staff, all were very friendly, helpful and courteous.

The hotel is tired and in poor condition inside and out, window frames are rotten and subsequently draughty as it's March. the curtains of our room were actually in tatters, the carpet was worn and tatty furniture from the early 70's.

The food was expensive and only of fair quality at £25/plate

Drinks were expensive at £3.95 / pint, Spirits £3.75, Dash of Coke £1.20, Malt Whisky £5.00. Luckily enough there's a cash machine across the street at the post office.

Room Tip: No good rooms here so go to Granton on Spey
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krosus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

In its hey day, this would have been a splendid place to stay. But at moment it is need of some TLC. Signs of old age everywhere. Threadbare carpets, carpets coming away from floor. I was with my girlfriend, and we had to ask hand towels, and a mattress protector. This was quickly rectified, but within a couple of hours the wardrobe door fell off!! Again, staff dealt with this, but we had paid £50 per night extra to upgrade to a deluxe room. It does make me wonder what the other rooms were like. The staff were all excellent and made our stay enjoyable. But to the owners............ Please spend money on the place because it really is only your staff that make it enjoyable. To them I send our thanks.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gusedinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

we were on a voucher stay with dinner included. We were in a green room which was a lovely big room with great views. We were aware of the renovations but it did not bother us as this was going on in the main hotel, although we were aware of the big hole in the ceiling in the lobby which i think should have been addressed. Dinner was great both nights but the wine was very expensive so we bought wine to drink at the shop across the road to drink in the room which was a shame, i think hotels/bars charge far too much for wine these days, also i wanted a draught beer the next day but there was a problem with the pumps so back across the road for some cider. The staff were outstanding,a special mention to sean, that guy has the gift of the gab and could sell sand to the arabs, also the hard working waiting staff were great and thanks to shona for arranging a breakfast bag for us as we were away early the last morning and in the bags were a sandwich, banana, mars bar, biscuit, crisps and water, well done guys.

Room Tip: garden rooms with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOBHAM5114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I have just returned from a 2 day, voucher, stay at the Boat Hotel. Room: spacious, clean and warm. Food: delicious varied and reasonable price. Staff: very helpful throughout. Situation: quiet village, with post office / shop across road, golf course/ tennis club nearby ( though didn't use), many short walks in area (woods), restaurant in village & steam train. I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: Front room over street ok Side room over railway also fine. Trains not running when stayed. Not ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Just returned from a two night stay using a Groupon voucher. This being our third visit to the Boat Hotel, we were looking forward to it, however we did not realise there was so much refurbishment work going on at the moment - although we were contacted by the hotel over the previous weekend to advise that they would have no dining facilities on the Wednesday evening, they did not mention the refurbishment works in most parts of the hotel. Had we known this, we would probably have re-arranged our visit once the works were complete. We are due to return to the hotel at Easter so hopefully works will be finished by then! Otherwise staff friendly, food great (although the fish supper night was a bit overpriced!). Love the area.

Room Tip: Estate room 210 good size, overlooks Strathspey Steam Railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay using an Itison voucher.
All staff are exceptional...very enthusiastic, friendly, very professional and most welcoming...they are a credit to the hotel and are it's best assets....especially the couple from Poland - Adam and Katie!
The quality of the food and it's presentation are also excellent.
However, We were unfortunate to be allocated one of the rooms which had still to be refurbished. The room overlooked the yard where all of the rubbish was being stored from the refurbishment. The room was very tired with stained carpet and soft furnishings. The tiny and very cramped bathroom had cracked floor tiles, ceiling in need of repair and mould on bath sealant. The shower over the bath was a mere trickle of water. We did not sleep well at all due to the rattling of the windows.
We were able to look inside many of the other rooms due to the refurbishment going on and these were much much better than ours! There were workmen varnishing beside our room and the smell was quite overpowering. There were electricians rewiring in the corridors and in the main reception area. Alarmingly, there was a big hole in the ceiling in the reception hall where guests had to walk under to reach the staircase , and restaurant areas.....would question health & safety?
On leaving the hotel we raised our concerns with the staff and were informed that if we returned once all of the refurbishment was completed we would be vey impressed. I am sure this will be the case but this did not help us to enjoy our stay.
I wholeheartedly agree with other reviewers that the hotel has excellent staff and quality and presentation of of food. Perhaps we we just unfortunate in the rooms we were allocated .....however we would think twice about returning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 289rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
252 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
559 reviews
4.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
532 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Property: The Boat Hotel
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing