We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service!”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had dinner on Saturday May 17th. Two adults, one child. We had to wait 50 minutes for our starters. Then only 2 out of the 3 arrived. When the third eventually arrived part of it was inedible. Two of the mains were really good but unfortunately the third main had to go back because it was incorrect and when it reappeared (as ordered) was bland to say the least. The dessert was poor and overpriced. The service was straight out of Fawlty Towers! Went to reception to pay. After waiting and waiting we were eventually presented with the wrong bill. Tempted to pay (as it was less than our own) but pointed out the error none the less. Two attempts later we obtained the correct bill. We've eaten here on four occasions this year, prior to this visit, and have vowed not to return. You can put up with the food and drink being overpriced but not the terrible service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Having booked a room at The Boat Hotel, we checked in quite late and booked dinner at the Hotel's own restaurant.

We were ushered into the bar area of the restaurant, which was a bit short sighted, given that we were sitting down at 8:30. After we were seated, we were swiftly ignored by all the waiters and bar staff as we sought to order both drinks and dinner. After our starters, we got our mains. The rare steak that was order was sent back because it was so well done. We finally got our main course at 10pm, by which point the bar was getting quiet boisterous. When we tried to order drinks, we noticed the waiting staff all seemed to be trained in walking past customers and looking at the ceiling. We were ignored for so long, that we decided to get the bill and leave. Three requests for the bill and twenty-five minutes later, we still hadn't received the bill. We went back to our room, and the staff were at our room within two minutes with the bill.

All in all, we were at dinner between 8:30 and 11:20, during which time we managed to get two drinks, one incorrectly cooked dinner, one correctly cooked dinner and many handfuls of ignorant staff.

If dinner wasn't so expensive, it would have been laughable!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thehappytraveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a lovely stay. The room was excellent with a separate bedroom and sitting room as well as bathroom with bath and shower . Food was excellent ate in 3 of the 4 nights we stayed. Lots of choice for breakfast. Staff were very friendly and polite. Towels were changed every day.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite which was excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I booked this hotel through an offer deal so wasn't expecting it to be a luxury hotel but was very disappointed when I saw the standard of the accommodation. The bedroom was clean and sheets and towels were good quality but bed and pillows not so much. The carpeting in the main areas was a disgrace,especially stairway where it was mismatched and shabby. On our first morning we had no hot water which to be fair was a fault throughout the hotel and was sorted very quickly.The food at dinner and breakfast was very good but the service was very slow. Some of the staff couldn't do enough for us whilst others need some intensive training. There was a bus group in visiting whilst we were there and it looked like the staff were having problems coping at breakfast.Gorgeous location and if the hotel was given a makeover would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dexsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My last experience of this hotel couldnt be any more different from my first. I was so looking forward to returning here we had such an amazing time Jan 2013 in what was a basic room and this visit i had decided to pay that bit more and go for a king delux garden room. On arrival i chatted happily with a very nice receptionist all seemed well Before i say anymore i have to say that the staff where lovely some not as competent as others but trying hard none the less, I have to make a special mention for Kasia who was very professional and absolutely lovely every time we saw her. The food was lovely I have no complaints about anything we have eaten dinner on our first night was very well cooked though the ripped up piece of news paper under my husbands fish n chips was a bit tacky instead of being quirky n fun like the places that buy in the news sheets cant help but wonder who has handled that news paper!!.breakfast service this morning was a bit hit or miss but food was lovely. Ok on route to our room the corridors filled me with dred tbh the carpet was stretched and very lumpy i was glad i was wearing flats it was that bad!! it was also extremely thread bare in places at one point there was a very dirty rug covering goodness knows what! .On entering our room my heart sunk ok king size bed check Delux makes you think of somethin a bit plush bit more than basic room NO old shabby furniture a rub down and re varnish would help most of that easily the walls have run marks and pitted and stained in places BUT worse than needing general maintenance it was dirty!! Gone are the fancy touches like the swan towels the fancily folded toilet rolls but worse the dressing table made my black sleeve white with dust the cob webs around the room even had dust on. The bathroom we had no hand towels on arrival?!?! not a prob i always take one i dye my hair dont want to stain towels. We had no hot water on arrival then 2nd night didnt have heating or hot water didnt get hot water till 9am next day!!!!. For me having had worked 15 years as a head housekeeper i am a little fussy the bathroom the taps sink plug and shower screen where splattered with toothpaste on arrival the cold water bath tap black with damp the bathyroom floor and outside of the toilet where filthy with hair dust and urine i cleaned with shower gel and toilet roll. I know i should have complained more while there but it was ment to be a total chill out time for my husband and myself as we dont always get to spend much time together because of work commitments. Unfortunatly i cant see us returning to the boat after thyis experiance

Room Tip: cant they arent what they used to be
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

I booked the boat hotel through a 5pm.co.uk deal. It was cheap, offering 2 nights bed and breakfast per couple in a classic room for £99, as we opted to stay at a weekend there was a further supplement. I suspected that a classic room would not offer the same standard of facilities available in the more expensive range of rooms on offer and i was right. The room we were allocated was extremely dated with thread bare carpets and very old bedding, nevertheless it was very clean. The bathroom too appeared extramely worn and in need of an upgrade. The hotel offers a cooked breakfast as well as a continental. The continental choice was slightly lacking however the cooked breakfast was delicious. The staff at the boat hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. If i was to return to this area i would opt for a different hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed for three nights in an estate room. The bathroom had been refurbished but not the room which was fine but let itself down on some details. There was a bracket to hold a bed drape but no drape was in place. This was not a problem but more serious was the total lack of pillow or mattress protectors. The bed was very comfy but the room was too hot for comfortable sleep.

Our price included breakfast but when we went down the first morning we found chaos and were sent away to wait as everyone had arrived for breakfast at the same time and the tables had not been set. This did not happen on the other two mornings. Breakfast was served by very friendly people although their full Scottish breakfast did not include lorne sausage or potato scones. I am not sure why breakfast came garnished with pea shoots.

The hotel is ideal for exploring the Cairngorm National Park and we were able to visit all the places that we planned. The service in the hotel lacks polish although all the staff are charming and helpful. Perhaps some training is required.

The hotel only has one disabled parking space which appears to be reserved for the managers car which meant my husband had to drop me off and then take the car away to park it while I waited for him. Unfortunately the two seats provided were often taken.

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
827 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
592 reviews
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
7.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range: £39 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing