We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable short break”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyable short break”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

After reading very variable reviews on TA regarding dining, tried to book at Andersons but full.
So arranged to eat in hotel and pleasantly surprised. On arrival asked staff to reserve us a window table in the bar/dining area and got very nice table overlooking the steam train. Service was prompt and food excellent. At breakfast , again very prompt service and great breakfast with the black pudding being nicely spicey and the Smokies superb.
Great ambience at hotel with many lounging outside in the sun when we arrived. And this area still in the sun at 8pm.
Unlike many Scottish hotels of this age and location, it does not have a separate public bar for locals, so I can imagine it may be quite different at weekends as no other hotel in town.
Yes our standard room was a bit tired looking and the first floor hall carpet was in a very poor state as others have commented.
But overall we really enjoyed our one night break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidPik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    418
    222
    132
    64
See reviews for
184
777
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Scotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Public areas are comfortable and welcoming and staff were very friendly, smiles and lots of eye contact. Made to feel welcome. Meals were excellent, both dinner and breakfast. Good choice and nicely presented.

Bedroom was small, it looked out over the back yard and bin store and was above the kitchen, with noise from deliveries in the early morning. Carpet was threadbare in parts and the bathroom, which was small, had dirty grout on some of the tiles.

The staff try hard, but the fabric of the bedrooms badly needs some attention if the hotel is to compete in a busy tourist area, with Aviemore just a few miles away.

The hotel is located beside the Strathspey Steam Railway station and on one of the nights we were there, the Royal Scotsman luxury train was parked there overnight. Was interesting to see the guests arriving in the diner in their tuxedos!

Room Tip: Avoid room 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caley956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Returned for another stay at the Boat Hotel and since our last vist in March rooms are being upgraded.We had alovely room with a rolltop bath in the corner off the room veiw was lovely the only thing I did not like is bathroom having no blinds are curtains you could close.Food is lovely and your breakfast to.One or two new staff not as friendly as the March vist but overall a excellent stay.

Room Tip: Rooms looking on to Steam train track or garden veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The staff make this place great. Almost all of them are so helpful, smiling and happy. The head of catering was a miserable so and so, and should learn a lot about the hospitality trade before he is let loose on the public. A whole list of things went wrong, and got put right immediately. I could not eat in the restaurant as I have a dog with me, and dogs are not allowed in restaurant or bar. Dog friendly here means an extra £15 a night. I had a refurbished room that was spotless clean.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnnerussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Well ,where to start? Faulty towers would have been better!
It's a shame as the Scottish staff were great,and the food was excellent.
The rest of the team were a complete shambles. the room requested was" quiet with a view" well it was quiet but dismal. The view was of the propane gas tank and car park.I'm sorry but the non English speaking is not acceptable! Ran out of tonic,glutton free bread and croissant !
Clip board Napoleon does no favours for the hotel either!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GTH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Fillans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A lovely little hotel in the Sottish Highlands. Receptionist really friendly and very helpful. Room was a nice size. Supper was good value for money although the service in the restaurant was slow. Would definitively return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AchrayHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

On the plus side, the staff are friendly and they do genuinely aim to please, despite variable standards of spoken English.
On the down side, do not come here if you're looking for a 4-star Scottish experience. Most of the (very friendly) staff are not Scots. The entire fabric of the place desperately needs an upgrade. Some of the "features"; dirty shower, tiny room, hard lumpy bed, threadbare carpets, broken lights, creaking floorboards, non-existent sound insulation, tired décor, non-functioning TV, no reliable internet and shabby furniture. I can't believe that Visit Scotland awarded The Boat 4 stars; its 3 at best, and that's pushing it!
I would love to be able to place more clients here, but until its comprehensively improved, we won't be using the hotel again. Boat of Garten really needs a true 4 or 5 star hotel. I really hope that the owners realise the potential and invest the large amounts this place needs to bring it up to scratch.

Room Tip: I believe the larger rooms in the more modern extension are of a higher standard (would be hard to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeatroutItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
234 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
4.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
506 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Property: The Boat Hotel
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing