We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Building a bit weary but great room, first class food and excelent service from a very friendly and helpful staff. Location by the Strathspey Railway station an added bonus. We are certainly intending to return before long for another weekend.
No lift to the upper floors so a bit of a faff with luggage but well worth the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the railway and the Spey valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

A comfortable hotel in a beautiful location. We would have liked to stay longer but our itinerary allowed just an overnight stop. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast and dinner were exceptionally good. Our dog was also made very welcome. The room was a little scruffy but it wasn't noisy and we slept well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Overall very good. Breakfast excellent. However, we had to request additional butter for the toast every day, which was provided. The pop music in the breakfast room was a pain to our ears at 8:00am. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I visited on business and found the hotel to be perfectly fine. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, even making me a packed lunch as I was up and away, both mornings of my stay, by 5am. The room was nice and clean and the food quite good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing views, good food and very helpfull staff. We stayed for a night and it was perfect. The building could do with a bit if refurbishment, but it was a lovely experience and really value for money. The sorroundings are stunning and we'll definetely be back during winter time.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Room was basic but clean and that was the highlight. As for everything else well we were very dissapointed. Myself and husband went for a 3 night break to what we thought was a gorgeous hotel going by the pictures..... sadly they were misleading. Our room view was a large gas tank. we thought we would try their "lovely" food but after waiting almost two hours for a starter we had to complain to the manger who went on to explain this was a regualr occurence then ever so kindly explained other issues that regulary arise in the hotel. We returned the second night hoping it was a one off but...... no we were placed in an overcrowded bar with live music instead of a quiet almost empty dining area? As for breakfat well they gave us a completly different order and before we could even make them aware of the problem we were approached with a response of sorry it happens all the time! I struggle to understand how the hotel is recognised as a 4 star as the RAC and AA plaques have actually been removed?

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank MagsG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Booked through Booking.com - a 40% discounted rate of £130 for 2 'classic' double rooms. Going by the photos on Booking.com, it looked like I had found a bargain price for a stay at a luxury hotel. The rooms we stayed in however were much more dated than those in the pictures (especially the bathrooms). So I would have been disappointed if paying the full price.

We stayed only 1 night and arrived early enough in the evening to enjoy a drink in the beer garden before moving inside to eat in the restaurant. The food was very tasty (I had the mussels, rump steak and chocolate fondant). The only minor fault was the collapse of my fondant (which was made fresh and took 15 mins to prepare). I was given the option of the chef preparing another one, but preferred to accept it as it was than wait another 15 mins. It wasn't going to remain on the plate for very long in any case - and was delicious if not perfectly presented.

We also had breakfast, just managing to make it down before the kitchen closed, after a good nights sleep.

So all said, a nice place to stay, staff were very kind and friendly. The hotel would benefit from a bit of money being spent on it I guess. I'm sure were the rooms to match the promotional pictures, they'd have fewer complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
3.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
583 reviews
23.7 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range: £27 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing