We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful service”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Dreadful service”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Having enjoyed a coffee and morning rolls at this attractive hotel on a cycle ride, we returned for dinner, as a treat from our visitors. Sadly, the service was awful. Pleasant waiters & waitresses, but no-one in control of the dining room. Six of us had finished our main courses before the seventh had arrived. It had been "overlooked". The dessert menus were produced, but no order was taken.
The manager had "left"!!!
Nice food, but the chef is completely let down by the management. Not the fault of the waiting staff, that there was no one to coordinate the service.
Shame.
If you can get in, better to go to "Andersons" up the road.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Archiesenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    420
    228
    136
    66
See reviews for
188
786
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had to find somewhere to stay overnight in the Aviemore area. This place was perfect! I got a very nice single room that had everything I needed. Very clean with a good shower and window overlooking the steam railway (nice to see the steam trains going by). The restaurant was excellent and very welcoming for a single person. Breakfast was also delicious. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. A nice hotel in a beautiful part of Scotland. WIFI didn't work in the bedroom, but I was told that was being sorted out. Otherwise great!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AMcScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Boat of Garten Hotel is in the middle of Nowhere. But those that recall music by Talking Heads know that's alright. The hotel is a strange dark and old higgeldy piggeldy assortment of rooms in an old building with creaky floors and no lifts (heavy travelers beware). Luckily, we stayed in one of the garden suites - modern spacious rooms with good bathrooms and a deck that leads out onto the lawn. The midge proof design of the rooms means no windows and therefore no ventilation. When the temperature went to 30C, the room stayed at 27C in the night even though we left the doors open for as long as we could. However, the bed is comfortable, the shower strong and the ambience quiet. On the downside, the room is never vacuumed or dusted and there is sand in the cupboards. I'm still not sure why anyone would come here. We were hiking the Cairngorm Mountains and they were a 30min drive away.

The hotel has no useful wi-fi or mobile reception and lacks a comfortable lounge area so looking at trip notes on the iPad for planning the day is frustratingly difficult. No mobile reception may be a plus because it means there're no loud conversations to interrupt the peace, but is a minus if you need the comms.

The staff are from all over the world. They appear to work long shifts and despite that are friendly and helpful. The hotel does not have a comfortable lounge for guests. The restaurant/bar books out and is mayhem and doesn't cater well for guests. We arrived for dinner after traveling directly from Sydney - some 36+ hours without sleep and wanted a quick meal at 7 pm. We were still waiting at 9pm with jet lag and an apologetic waitress. When the food came it was bad - dry and tasteless. We observed the shenanigans over the next few days and decided it was bad management and bad cooking - aka Fawlty Towers. For the rest of our stay we ate elsewhere as breakfast proved just as bad. It's the first time we've seen hard boiled poached eggs and soft boiled eggs so hard they could be used as squash balls. One morning, when we tasked for the food to be replaced we waited thirty minutes before giving up and walking out, having waited thirty minutes for the original service. If it was just the once, we'd give them the benefit of the doubt, but it happened every day we were there.

All in all, give this place a miss.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very disappointed at the prices charged for 2 small coffees which were lukewarm and gone within 2 glugs a coke and a soda water and lime , there was no lime in the water and the coke was warm too. I spoke to staff about prices and were just told that it was an expensive area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on a Hotel Connexions deal which included breakfast both mornings, and dinner on the first night. Stayed in room 208, which is a "classic room" and overlooked the side and car park, room wasn't huge but for a 2 night stay was perfectly fine, exceptionally clean and well put together. The food in the bistro was really tasty and fresh, and so good in fact that some of the daily specials weren't available because they'd run out. The staff are really good, especially Reanna in the bistro, thank you for your patience and sense of humour! Also the lady on reception who was very patient with us on checkout. For a couple of nights stay this was ideal for us, a couple of hours drive from home, with a nice selection of food, the steam railway right next door, and the Osprey Cafe just up the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madsquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We went here for our honeymoon after a local (ish) wedding. The staff were extremely helpful. After our planned two nights we decided we weren't ready to go home yet. We booked another night and stayed in an equally lovely room.
If you have mobility problems I would not recommend this hotel, but if you can manage the stairs is well worth it for the views.
No complaints about the food, breakfast was great . And dinner really good too. Would recommend trying Anderson's restaurant too if your in boat of garten.

We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view towards the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had an evening meal here on the last day of our hols in the area. We arrived at the time we booked for and were greeted with a confused look and were shown to our seats eventually. We ordered drinks as we looked over our menus and when the drinks arrived we found that my wifes was wrong. It was changed but this happened once again when we ordered another round of drinks ( tonic water in the drink instead of lemonade ! yuk ! ) .
We ordered our food and waited.At this point I went to change the drink and was greeted as I turned the corner by a rather heated debate between the nice scottish girl who served us and two others one of whom looked like the manager and a foreign worker. This clearly should have taken place in an office and not in front of guests.
The meal arrived and all the food was enjoyed by all the family nice big servings ( although I would recommend they change their butcher as my steak was for the price paid not the best ).
We ended up eating our dessert with dishes from our main meal still on the table as service at the table was non existent after the place filled up with guests.
I would recommend some staff training in the place as nice as the foreign workers were they clearly didn't understand their duties nor what we were saying to them.
Have had better ( service ) for the money paid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weesav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
523 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
665 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Property: The Boat Hotel
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing