We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place !”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place !”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for the night for our wedding anniversary. From the second we arrived, the staff made us feel very welcome . The food was amazing and not too pricey. Our room was very clean and a HUGE comfy bed. Loved it. We will be back !

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rockchic91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    420
    228
    136
    66
See reviews for
188
786
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way back down form the highlands. The service was terrible, we sat near the bar and heard the barman swear several times. He also made us very uncomfortable as he whispered to other members of staff whilst looking in our direction. The bar manager rushed around at 100 miles an hour and rushed us into giving our order. There was one young Scottish girl who was very attentive and helpful, the rest of the staff were uninterested and unpleasant! The room was small, there was a vent from the kitchen outside our window and the shower was the worse one I have ever come across, no more than a trickle! There was a dog in a room close to use that barked and whined. However, the food was very good, our evening meal and breakfast couldn't be faulted, it a shame it was spoilt by the staff. They have free wifi, but it's so slow and you can only connect by the front door.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband booked this hotel for 2 nights he stayed the night before our wedding on Saturday 19th July and we also spent our wedding night in the hotel after our local wedding in Boat of Garten.

We were very disappointed to say the least absolutely no effort or even a Congratulations from the hotel or staff at all!!! Very poor service.
We later found out that the best man's wife had called before the wedding and asked if they could do something special as it was our wedding night and yet absolutely nothing done seems a bit bizarre as they spent one night there the year before on their wedding night and there were lots of special touches (bottle of prosecco in room, chocs and towels folded prettily!!) so I am not sure what their logic is?? Stay one night you get spoiled and stay 2 nights at £160 per night and you get nothing???? Even a Congratulations would have been nice.
Best man's wife went to hotel and complained she thought it was pretty poor no effort at all made after specifically asking them, they told her they would look into it and call us that was on the 20th of July still waiting we have heard nothing from the hotel??

Some of our wedding guests also stayed at the hotel for a few days so the hotel were benefiting from that.

Room was clean, breakfast horrible, certainly not worth £160 per night and would certainly not recommend this hotel for your wedding night go elsewhere. We are local to the area and very unimpressed by lack of interest shown by hotel and no one even having the decency to get in touch with us.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Speyside27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We had to be in the area for a bereavement and felt lucky to get a room anywhere within 50 miles of Inverness. The room was clean but noisy as it was over the kitchen and we had the smell of the food as it was so hot we needed the window open. We booked a table for dinner and it was like staying at 'Fawlty Towers' . There was no communication, staff didn't know who needed to do what and service was slow. People were being turned away for meals but with a little more organisation could easily have been catered for as the breakfast room was empty. Husband was a bit upset at having to wait 45 mins for his breakfast to arrive and the porridge was only Luke warm, pancakes were delicious though. As we checked out no one even asked if we had enjoyed our stay or anything else. Poor management team.

Room Tip: Not on the first floor near the kitchen, room 109 avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetandBrian2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

They staff at this hotel are lovely and are very helpful. However the hotel itself is very poor and in desperate need of a whole revamp. The room we were in was 115. It tiny dark and hidden away at the back of the hotel. Even the hall floor was uneven. This caused huge problems for kids who kept tripping up and falling over the floor surface. I would go back to this hotel again if it underwent major refurbishment as it has potential to be excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I have been visiting the Cairngorm region for the last 20 years with my family and in particular, Boat of Garten for the last 10.
We love the area and enjoy our early evening beer at "the boat" for our 2 week stay. This year my wife and I had a meal at the hotel which we found to be of a high standard and enjoyed the evening. my last visit on my last evening at the boat has left a sour taste in my mouth. I am very much a dog lover but I find it rather offensive and "unbelievable" that dogs are allowed in the restaurant area of the hotel while other diners are eating or waiting for their fayre... surely this is wrong. We will not be eating at the Boat Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JackieBrianH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Having enjoyed a coffee and morning rolls at this attractive hotel on a cycle ride, we returned for dinner, as a treat from our visitors. Sadly, the service was awful. Pleasant waiters & waitresses, but no-one in control of the dining room. Six of us had finished our main courses before the seventh had arrived. It had been "overlooked". The dessert menus were produced, but no order was taken.
The manager had "left"!!!
Nice food, but the chef is completely let down by the management. Not the fault of the waiting staff, that there was no one to coordinate the service.
Shame.
If you can get in, better to go to "Andersons" up the road.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Archiesenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
522 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
665 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Property: The Boat Hotel
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing