We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding country hotel.”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding country hotel.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed at the Boat Hotel for the second year running and once more we were not disappointed. the accommodation has if anything improved, the staff were very helpful indeed and the food was outstanding. This is truly a gem of a hotel that is close to Aviemore, but remote enough to feel totally relaxed. We had a great stay nice again and will be back same time next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    418
    222
    132
    64
See reviews for
184
777
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magnetic Island, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We booked on line at the last minute so were open to what was available at the time. When checking in the lass at front office was very helpful and so were the bar staff. We ordered a meal - soup was good - fish and chips were disgusting. Brown chips swimming in oil. When we complained, the manager appeared and tried to justify the disgusting chips and after a few words took away the meal. The Supervisor obviously went into 'damage control' and handled the situation very well. I must add that this is the first time we have ever sent a meal back to the kitchen because it was not acceptable. Breakfast was OK. The staff are obviously working long hours and tired but continue to put a pleasant smile and perform their duties to a high standard. The room we had was clean and comfortable and in par for what we paid.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I have visited this hotel on a regular basis for 20+ years and have followed its ups and downs. Sadly, it is currently well in a down. Tired, lacklustre, empty and still no effective wifi service. So dated. No longer any excuse for this. An overall impression that no one cares.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were a group of 7, everyone had a great dinner, mine was a little underseasoned but that was easily rectified. The staff were all friendly and provided a warm welcome. Thanks to everyone involved for a good dinner.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Old_Fotofart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were at the hotel for our first wedding anniversary this weekend. My wife was a little anxious after reading trip advisor comments, however there was no need. We were in room 102 and it was lovely. The food was fantastic, perhaps 1 negative was the drinks were expensive £26.50 for a bottle of white, and £4.50 for a pint. The staff were friendly and attentive, yes the language barrier was an issue at times but was easily resolved. Their English is way better than our Polish. Definitely we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
281 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

An old and poorly maintained hotel, with some new rooms that are poorly designed and virtually without ventilation (garden rooms). The hotel has charm, but is borderline due to its many faults such as: extremely limited internet access, inexperienced waiting staff, poor maintenance, lack of lounge, unpredictable food quality ( although some of it was very good).

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank EKnive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Last minute booking to attend a family funeral we arrived late with a very warm welcome from the friendly receptionist.
We stayed in a Garden room in the more modern part of the hotel.
On first appearance the room looked lovely - spacious, huge bed and a good bathroom.
On closer inspection however there were a few things that result in our lowering our rating:
Dustwebs from ceiling to various parts of the bedroom - bedside lamp being one.
Dirty / stained bathroom floor mat and bath sealant coming away from the edges.

The sleep was good and the pillows were very comfy.

Breakfast was overall a bit disappointing.
The breakfast staff were all non-native English speaking which caused a few interpretation issues.
The marmalade jar was empty so I asked for some marmalade. The waiter said there was no marmalade and that it was jelly!!!
I sais - no, orange marmalade please and he said no - only jelly. Eventually I couldn't be bothered arguing so I said - yes get me some orange jelly please....... it was marmalade!

Secondly and more of an issue was the lack of white granulated sugar for breakfast cereal.
I asked for sugar for cereal and the waiter said it was on the table. Only sugar cubes were on the table.
I asked for granulated sugar to which he said that there was brown sugar by the cereals. When I asked for white sugar he said he would ask the kitchen.
He came back saying there was no white granulated sugar. I find that hard to believe - a kitchen that cooks and bakes dishes MUST have granulated white sugar.
I eventually had to sprinkle brown sugar on my cereals - it just tasted wrong so I left my cereals!
On a positive note - the cooked breakfast was perfect - best poached eggs I have had.
So in summary - good but not perfect and a few things the hotel could look at to make it value for money.
If I was asked how much I would have paid for the stay - I would not have paid more than £100. The room with breakfast was £140!!

Room Tip: Garden rooms are good - maybe overpriced but you get patio doors onto a decking terrace and then ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank davenutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
234 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
4.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
506 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Property: The Boat Hotel
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing