We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Boat Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Fairwinds Hotel(Carrbridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carrbridge Hotel(Carrbridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Nethybridge Hotel(Nethy Bridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Mountview Hotel(Nethy Bridge)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairngorm Hotel(Aviemore)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,397)
Filter reviews
1,397 results
Traveller rating
439
457
260
157
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
457
260
157
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomsteam railwayroll top bathtwo night staybottle of proseccoboth nightslovely hotelpatio doorsstrathspey railwayloch gartenfour poster bedboth morningsa bit tiredopen firerelaxing breakenjoyable stayfull scottish breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
734 - 739 of 1,397 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stopped over for one night from the north to Perthshire, at this hotel. It only came onto our radar as they were dog friendly. Although there was a nominal additional fee it appeared to be the only available option. On booking (by telephone) we were offered options, with the helpful reception staff. This enthusiasm was equalled when we arrived.
The room was ideal. Spacious and well appointed. Convenient for a late afternoon. Walk prior to evening meal. Very reasonable. Good choice. The "lounge singer" was unexpected, but entertaining nonetheless.
Early morning breakfast following a quiet nights stay and them off on the road.
Overall very good value at a nice Independant hotel.
Thanks.

Room Tip: The terrace rooms provided easy access outside for dogs (or children if you had).
Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ecosse66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Will be back with out a doubt good and central, not to far from Aviemore and surrounding areas.
Food really good hotel clean all staff very helpful had two nights no problems with ether nights
yes we will be back

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RICHARD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Second time at this hotel and loved it as much as the first time. Great ambience, fantastic location, brilliant food and rooms clean and inviting. Only downside was that the staff in the bar/ restaurant area appeared a bit stressed. However, this in no way spoiled our stay and we will be back again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Waggotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed at the Boat Hotel for the second year running and once more we were not disappointed. the accommodation has if anything improved, the staff were very helpful indeed and the food was outstanding. This is truly a gem of a hotel that is close to Aviemore, but remote enough to feel totally relaxed. We had a great stay nice again and will be back same time next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We booked on line at the last minute so were open to what was available at the time. When checking in the lass at front office was very helpful and so were the bar staff. We ordered a meal - soup was good - fish and chips were disgusting. Brown chips swimming in oil. When we complained, the manager appeared and tried to justify the disgusting chips and after a few words took away the meal. The Supervisor obviously went into 'damage control' and handled the situation very well. I must add that this is the first time we have ever sent a meal back to the kitchen because it was not acceptable. Breakfast was OK. The staff are obviously working long hours and tired but continue to put a pleasant smile and perform their duties to a high standard. The room we had was clean and comfortable and in par for what we paid.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Leonie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews