We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Romantic Retreat”
Review of The Boat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Boat Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We booked a two night stay via Expedia which included a “All your Need is Love” package in one of the king sized garden rooms. On arrival we were shown to our room and assisted with our luggage. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were delighted with our clean, bright, modern room with large comfortable bed and large decked patio area leading to gardens. Our room had a chilled bottle of champagne, chocolate dipped strawberries, plate of large bath bombs and candles for our enjoyment. The bathroom was modern with a large bath and large shower head fitting. We had two big fluffy bathrobes to relax in. The room had a large flat screen walled mounted TV although the channels were limited. The tea/coffee facilities and bathroom products were replenished daily as were our romance package treats! We had our breakfast delivered to the room along with glasses of champagne which was wonderful. Be sure to ask for 2 of each item on the breakfast menu otherwise they will assume only one is required.

We ate in the bistro one night and thought the food was to a good standard and offered a wide variety of good quality local produce.

We would recommend this hotel as it is clean, modern and offered good value for money. It is in a lovely quiet spot and was just what we wanted to relax and get away from it all. Its location is superb with a cycle hire shop across the road, near golf courses and it is next to one of the stops for the steam railway (which is worth doing). It is only a 5 min drive from Aviemore where there is a wealth of activities and things to do. We will definitely return and hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling_pandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JONEDI, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2010

Dear Guest Thank you for your generous feedback following your recent stay at The Boat Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and am particularly proud to read that you experienced great service from my colleagues. I very much hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Jon McConnachie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,238 - 1,244 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2010

This is a lovely hotel with a good standard of room, although some visitors might think it is need of abit of an update. I liked the typically scottish heavy decor. A good restuarant, cosy bar and an excellent breakfast. Would definitely reccomend, especially in the dinner, b&b for £90 deal we had.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wasapea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JONEDI, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Thanks for such a great review. We're all pleased that you had such a good time and look forward to wecoming you back in the not too distant future. Regards Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We thought we booked two twin bedded rooms then were told after the booking that if we wanted single beds we would have to have 4 single rooms and pay the extra costs. We agreed to pay as on internet the rooms looked pretty comfortable.
Our rooms were so shocking and disappointing, dark, air freshner plug in smells, iron scorch mark on one bedroom carpet, glass shelf missing from the cheap plastic brackets above the wash hand basin, shower tray stained yellow, and the vynyl bathroom flooring stained and badly damaged in places. Rowdy, drunken neighbours next to room 205 in the middle night.
The towels and linen were clean, and the breakfast food was great, but it was also most disappointing to be given 4 such outdated rooms and a big sign outside advertising rooms available.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackCmabridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Stayed at The Boat with another couple who made the booking for us all some weeks before our visit. It all looked most attractive on the website and much of it was. But we were allocated room 107 which should, frankly, have had the door locked on the outside and the key thrown away. It was tiny and gloomy and the bathroom was like something out of the 1950s with none of the retro charm. The flooring was ancient vinyl with the odd crack, there was no lock on the the door and I had to ask reception to make sure that the black splash marks on the back of the door were washed off before we got back from our day out. What really astonished us was the fact that our travelling companions had a lovely room which had obviously been recently refurbished and, worst of all, we were all paying the same room rate.
The staff were all delightful and most apologetic about the state of the room, stating that the public areas and some of the bedrooms were due to be refurbished this year. There was, however, no suggestion that they would do anything to rectify the situation despite the fact that there was a board at the front of the building advertising room availability for both the nights we were there.
The food in the restaurant was good, and the full Scottish breakfast memorable, despite the smallest table in the world for four people, but until we can be assured of a decent room, we won't be back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caerurfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JONEDI, Guest Relations Manager at The Boat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2010

Thankyou for posting a review following your stay. I am sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay with us. We do have a planned refurbishment programme in place for our Classic guest rooms which has commenced and we are already receiving positive feedback from our guests. If you are planning to return to the area please contact me directly as I would welcome the opportunity to renew your faith in The Boat Hotel. Regards Jon McConnachie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We planned to go here last minute, so didn't really know what was in the surrounding area. It's very quiet as we hoped and a trip down to the RSPB Osprey centre and a walk through the woods would be recommended. It's a really nice traditional hotel, staff are friendly and helpful. They're in the process of refurbishing their second dining room, so I didn't see that. Rooms were clean and spacious and the corridors had great creaky floorboards which my wife loved and reminds you that it's a traditional hotel with history.

Food and wine in the restaurant were also to a high standard.

Only problem was that the advertised free wifi is only available on the ground floor, but it was no problem taking our laptop to the bar.

Great hotel if you're in the area, possibly a bit quiet for some, but if you're in this area you probably want to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horcrux7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Staff all very helpful and friendly
Our room was excellent with a super comfy bed, but some areas of the hotel are in need of a little TLC
A little disappointed that fine dining offered now consists of the same menu with the same 2 starters and main courses over our three day stay served in the bar bistro, not the fine dining room which does not appear to be used now.
If you want to hire a bike to explore the area do use Cairngorm Bike Hire opposite the hotel . The owner was so helpful, lending us a cycle lock, clips, a repair kit, his own OS map and even a rucksac if you didn't have one. The bikes are all cleaned on return and seem much beter cared for than those on offer in Aviemore nearby. There a many great cycle ways including routes to visit the Ospreys nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

We stayed at the Boat Hotel for 5 days as part of a coach holiday tour. Rooms were beautiful and provided everything you could need, we had a gorgeous bathroom with little extra touches like "Spa Therapy" products and the towels were huge, white and fluffy !! :-) Our shower was powerfully invigorating and I only wish mine was like this at home! The staff were very well mannered, courteous , attentive and helpful. Due to the fact that we were a large party, we were on a "set menu" for dinner and breakfast, so there wasn't too much choice. Although the quality of the food was first class, the portion sizes could do to be a lot bigger !! I'm vegetarian and I was catered for adequately. I loved my stay here and would definitely recommend this hotel AND would love to go back again soon !

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharpie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
5.1 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
3.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
3.8 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
583 reviews
23.7 mi away
Newton Muthu Hotel
Newton Muthu Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Hotel

Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boat of Garten
Price Range: £28 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Boat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arriving at The Boat Hotel for the first time can be compared to returning as house guests of a close friend, where needs are anticipated before arrival and the welcome is genuine. Where else can you wear your Hunter wellies at 8am, golf spikes at 3pm and dress up or down for dinner? But while we offer our guests comfort, some luxury and indulgence, this is not a stuffy hotel where you can’t sit on the furniture or let your kids enjoy themselves. Nestled in a tranquil picturesque setting deep within the heart of the Cairngorms National Park, near Aviemore, lies the historic and unique award-winning Boat Hotel & Bistro. Adjacent to the renowned Boat of Garten Golf Club, we boast 2 AA Rosette food and stylish yet relaxing accommodations with exhilarating views. The Boat Hotel is a place where you can relax and enjoy your well deserved leisure time, then put your feet up. Hotel Highlights: * Dining options - 2 AA Rosette Bistro & Bar Dining * Range of guestrooms including king bed, deluxe garden terrace & four poster junior suites * Child friendly hotel near Landmark Forest Adventure Park and kids stay & eat free * Meeting & events facilities for up to 65 * Close to the Cairngorm Ski Resort and adjacent Boat of Garten Golf Club Events Diary. Whether you're looking for an active or relaxing break, an inspirational meeting or private dining venue for your next event, planning a fabulous wedding, looking to indulge in a glass of your favourite tipple by the log fire or simply join us for some of the best food in the Cairngorm National Park. The Boat Hotel & Bistro combines historic charm with modern facilities to provide the leading destination and first choice country retreat hotel in the Aviemore area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Hotel Of Garten
The Boat Hotel Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing