We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful luxury B&B experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorfield House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moorfield House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Culver City, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful luxury B&B experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I completely enjoyed my 2 night stay with Harvey and Gillian in Boat of Garten. They both really did everything to ensure my comfort.

The B&B was spotless. Room #1 was completely comfortable. The breakfast spread was generous. They even went over & above by helping me with some personal errands during my time there.

I understand why people make both this town and lodging a regular return vacation spot - there are so many great outdoor activity opportunities conveniently located, and this town is very quiet. I had no problem getting around by bus to do the activities I desired.

When I make it back to Speyside, I will not hesitate to call Moorfield first!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Many thanks for you kind review Anna. It was lovely to have you stay with us and we hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip to Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    27
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
127
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We spent a few nights here last summer.

Positives - The room was spotless, the breakfast was very good and the location and area are nice.

Negatives - We found the owners to be a bit cold and quiet. The bed was not kingsize and they turned off my electic toothbrush charger when we went out! We also found the whole house was not warm enough to get comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oligominerale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Many thanks for your review. I do apologise for your feeling cold and do wish you had mentioned this to us. With your stay having been in August it is more than likely that the central heating in the house was set to come on for a background heat , We can always provide more heat for rooms if you let us know that you need it. I do apologise for your charger having been unplugged, this must have been an error during the daily servicing of your room as we would never deliberately unplug guests' electrical devices . As for our personal demeanour... we are honestly not grumpy people and have to tread a fine line between being friendly and welcoming and being intrusive. it can be hard to get it right in every situation! You will always be welcome at Moorfield and hope that you consider returning in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Margaret S.

We have just spent a most enjoyable stay at Moorfield House . We were served tea and biscuits when we arrived and continued to enjoy excellent hospitality. The rooms were comfortable, warm and well-equipped . Breakfasts were delicious and a three-course evening meal could be served if required. We would highly recommend this excellent establishment.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have just returned from a most enjoyable stay in Moorfield House. Everything was perfect with tea and biscuits provided on our arrival. The rooms were warm, clean and comfortable with quality furnishings and accessories. The breakfasts were excellent and served promptly. Gillian was especially helpful in contacting a garage for us as we had a puncture on our journey north. We also found the same excellent service there! Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I am so please you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craftsbury, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here for six nights this past September. We were a little nervous about staying anywhere, sight unseen, for that long. But, not to worry. Gillian and Harvey are wonderful hosts. Our room was spacious, well-appointed, and spotless. The beds (we chose two singles) were comfortable. There was plenty of hot water for showers.

For those who absolutely have to stay "connected," the internet service was fast and reliable.

Breakfast was included, and it was excellent. Gillian offered several choices, including a full breakfast. Dinner was an optional "plat du jour," featuring a starter, main course, and dessert. We planned on eating out most evenings, but after the first dinner we were hooked on Gillian's cooking (and Harvey's attentive service), and ended up eating three of our dinners in. The wine selections also were very good. Breakfasts and dinners were served in a comfortable, intimate dining room.

The common areas at Moorfield House are warm and inviting. There are lots of games and books for rainy days, plus a ton of information on places of interest. The location is excellent too, with several restaurants within a few 100 years, and immediate access to walking trails.

I would highly recommend a stay at Moorfield House.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate it and look forward to perhaps
having the opportunity of welcoming you back soon! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

It was a flying visit but a great place to stay. (Very traditional) The room was large and the breakfast was excellent. The owners were set up and ready for those who want to come and go at odd hours wild life watching.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57russett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

this place is a gem in the highlands great place to stay for a golfing trip great food and nice people just had our 6th visit and will be back again soon

Room Tip: all rooms very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillianlaura, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you so much, you are always welcome. Harvey and I look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
0.2 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
4.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorfield House

Property: Moorfield House
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorfield House Hotel, a stunning Victorian Guest House / Bed & Breakfast offering luxurious accommodation, is located in Boat of Garten at the heart of the Spey Valley, in the Highlands of Scotland. We offer 4 Star (STB) accommodation where informality and a warm welcome are the key to your visit. We are fully non smoking and licensed to serve alcohol, ideal for those of you wanting comfortable, relaxed and peaceful surroundings. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities. WiFi is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorfield House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing