We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“tip top” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorfield House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moorfield House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“tip top”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

well situated B&B and good value for money. Great local restaurant - Andersons within 100yds - but booking essential. If you are looking for mobile reception - try the station. Attention to detail appreciated and a bit of an egg connoisseur!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian H, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us this super review. Harvey and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will be back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    27
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
127
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I were walking the Speyside Way with friends. The welcome with tea and cakes in this beautiful period house was wonderful. The recommendation to have dinner at the restaurant close by which Gillian and Harvey booked for us was well worth it as it was popular, no wonder with such great food. We enjoyed playing Monopoly Deal with our friends in the atmospheric sitting room that evening. A very comfortable room gave a good night's rest and breakfast was great with good choice of tasty food to set us up for the final day's short walk to Aviemore.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian H, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us this super review. Harvey and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will be back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

A lovely place to stay for a break in the Cairngorms, with delicious food and great service. Tea and cakes on arrival were fantastic, and the breakfasts were exceptional. A lovely quiet village setting, with loads of easy trails nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian H, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us this super review. Harvey and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will be back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leven, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a very clean and well appointed small hotel. My wife, father-in-law and I only spent one night here, but we were impressed by the friendliness of the hosts, the homely feel of the rooms and the scrumptious choices for breakfast. I would thoroughly recommend it. We will go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOldDairy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian H, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Harvey and I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to send your super review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Warm and friendly welcome and a genuine interest shown in our holiday with advice and help readily given. Very comfortable en-suite room with a high standard of cleanliness, ample and beautifully presented breakfasts. For golfers the Boat of Garten course is a must and Moorfield House provide a discount voucher against green fees. The RSPB Osprey centre at nearby Loch Garten is well worth a visit as is the Funicular Railway on Cairngorm. For evening meals we would recommend Anderson's Restaurant just across the road or the Golf Club a ten minute walk away.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
Green Features: Every effort is made to encourage environmental awareness e.g. Re- using bathroom towels.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian H, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us this super review. Harvey and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon and wish you both many,many more Happy Anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at the Moorfield house for two days. The house was pretty and well-kept. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The service was very good and helpful. Unfortunately, the feeling was very businesslike ... something unexpected in a B&B.

WiFi & Skype worked well downstairs, cell phone service was spotty to non-existent.

Room Tip: Boat of Garten is a very quiet village so all the rooms at Moorfield are quiet, and most likely, ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amirinisrael_again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian H, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. Harvey and I are so pleased that you found most of our facilities good. Having read your review in full, I do agree that the village is quieter than Aviemore but this is a feature that most of our guests find attractive. We do try to ensure that our pricing is in line with other similar properties at all times. I do apologise for your finding us "businesslike" We do try to reach a happy medium in that respect by mixing professionalism with informality, as much as possible, being a guest house rather than a smaller B&B. We do hope that you will consider returning to Moorfield on your next trip to the UK. Apologies for the lack of mobile phone signal at times..a notorious problem in parts of the UK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our last overnight on walking the Speyside Way was Boat of Garten and our group of friends felt in need of a good meal, a good nights sleep and breakfast to set us up for the final leg to Aviemore and the drive home. Moorfield House more than filled the bill. We were greeted with tea and cake - glorious lemon drizzle cake- and beautiful rooms, each based in a Scottish clan. Mine was Gunn from the Hebrides, lovely room with an immense bath. Aaah!
Breakfast was a feast indeed. We left with a pleasant glow of satisfaction. Thanks Moorfield.

Room Tip: If you like a bath - with shower - I recommend Gunn, number 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rieverrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian H, Owner at Moorfield House, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us this super review. Harvey and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you all back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boat of Garten
0.2 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
4.8 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorfield House

Property: Moorfield House
Address: Deshar Road, Boat of Garten, Aviemore PH24 3BN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Boat of Garten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boat of Garten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorfield House Hotel, a stunning Victorian Guest House / Bed & Breakfast offering luxurious accommodation, is located in Boat of Garten at the heart of the Spey Valley, in the Highlands of Scotland. We offer 4 Star (STB) accommodation where informality and a warm welcome are the key to your visit. We are fully non smoking and licensed to serve alcohol, ideal for those of you wanting comfortable, relaxed and peaceful surroundings. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities. WiFi is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moorfield House Boat Of Garten, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing