We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for French families”
Review of Cheribourg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheribourg Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Orford
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I can see how a family with children would have a good time here, as there is lots of activities for kids. As a mature english speaking couple, we felt we treated with indifference. The resort really could use some tidying up and upgrading, especially outside and on the walkways. The room was comfortable enough, and was relatively quiet. The restaraunt was only average, as was the service. We wouldn't stay here again, but I would recommend it for a young family if they at least have a working knowledge of the local language.

Room Tip: If you would like a bit more quiet, ask for one of the outside villas. They are just that little bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsVillegia, Responsable relations publiques at Cheribourg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your comments concerning our Hotel. We`re very sorry that you had that feeling. Everyday we strive so that everyone is welcome to our Hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Very accommodating staff, nice room, ample breakfast buffet a very good dinner menu and not outrageous wine list pricing. There were fifty of us and the Hotel was on the ball, Reception traced wandering people to their rooms, gave us weather reports, and booked restaurants.
Fred is a wonderful Maitre D, Charming and generous with the green tea bags my wife needed
Cold hut tub was the only surprise. Easily fixed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALLAN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsVillegia, Public Relations Manager at Cheribourg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thanks for all those great comments. Hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

If you are looking for a hotel stuck in the 1970s then this is the place for you. The hotel rooms are in desperate need of an upgrade. The beds are rock hard and the bed covers smell of dust. When walking down the halls the floor shifts beneath your feet ...

Food at the restaurant was okay.

Service was fairly good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Proudcdn-Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsVillegia, Public Relations Manager at Cheribourg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

First of all, we wanna thank you for those comments and We wanna let you know that our team is working hard every day to make sure that type of situation doesn’t even exist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We strongly recommend this hotel for families, the playing area offers endless fun and the pool/hot tub are clean. The breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice on the buffet. The hotel itself is a little outdated but clean. I put a 4 star rating for its family value but the hotel itself should deserve a 3 star, at best, since it is a bit expensive for the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Just spent 1 night at this property and I loved it !

Just beside Mont Orford great nature setting. The rooms are spacious but basic, no extended cable but you don't go there to watch TV ! Front desk staff super friendly and helpful. I only had dinner there but what a dinner ! The food was excellent cooked to perfection and presentation was amazing ! The staff at the dining room were great and knew the menu inside out !

Great place for family and business !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrFeelgood89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our family reunion is at the Cheribourg every year. The hotel is convenient for all family members to attend and they provide us with special amenities for the group. The staff is polite and helpful. The rooms clean. The area, near Magog, is a nice in summer and winter with many restaurants and shops in Magog. The pool is great for kids. We've never tried the spa. Don't expect a bar scene here. The hotel seems to host a lot of weddings, at least while our group is there. The hotel is good for group functions. I would say the downside of the hotel is the quality of the food. The hotel is pleasant, the staff is pleasant but the hotel could use some refreshing of the interiors.

Room Tip: The have rooms large rooms in the main building which and smaller detached buildings with townhouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ehad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Every room comes with a balcony. Rates are good considering the location. Close to Magog and Orford for skiing. Rooms are big and clean. Rooms could use a little reno but it is still fine. The breakfast buffet is expensive but has a nice variety of food for everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crccrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orford
1.7 mi away
Espace 4 Saisons
Espace 4 Saisons
#1 of 7 in Orford
267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Estrimont Suites & Spa
0.4 mi away
Manoir Des Sables
Manoir Des Sables
#5 of 7 in Orford
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Parc Orford
Hotel du Parc Orford
#6 of 7 in Orford
32 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Etoile-sur-le-Lac
3.6 mi away
Auberge du Grand Lac
Auberge du Grand Lac
#6 of 18 in Magog
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheribourg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheribourg Hotel

Address: 2603 Chemin du Parc, Orford, Magog, Quebec J1X 8C8, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Magog > Orford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Orford
Price Range: £87 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cheribourg Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cheribourg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheribourg Hotel Magog
Cheribourg Hotel Orford, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing