We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Host is a wealth of information”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Ranked #1 of 6 Dalkeith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Host is a wealth of information”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was my first stay on my first International trip outside the U.S.A. I traveled with a friend, she booked the reservations in Scotland (both were B&Bs). I felt welcome, safe and comfortable with all the amenities one would need when traveling. Our room had one queen bed and a set of bunk beds. Full size bathroom, dressing table, closets, TV, and double doors that led to the exterior garden (excellent view!). The location is walking distance to the small town of Dalkeith with lots of restaurants and a gorgeous public park. The B&B is centered between two bus stops if you are traveling by public transit (as we did on this leg of our journey).
Breakfast was a formal setting with a full menu as well as the standard continental breakfast. As always, chatting with other guests is the joy of staying at a B&B. Any questions one might have are answered fully by the host, he is very knowledgeable about the area and is a former university professor. I would highly recommend staying here - it is also pet friendly.
Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: It is better to book directly from the vendor - email him and he will tell you how. Prices are lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonLitSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    47
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
79
55
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Me and my husband stayed in a twin room. The hospitality is great. Great value for money. Being vegans we were treated with special breakfast.

I would recommend the place. Nice. Ewan is a great person to talk to. Away from the city but really nice place to stay.

If ever i travel again i would keep my extended stay locked in the rathan house....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangla100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nürnberg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The breakfast was a get together like in a students cummunity. Ewan was host, teacher and history-guide in one person. Rooms are clean, a little bit to small, but nice. Breakfast -specially the served fish- ist great!!!! By bus to centre of E. is easy and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klemens G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Very nice Scottish home. Room lovely and clean however breakfast....well breakfast was an absolute delight.

Presentation was superb...never in my life have I had breakfast served with fresh rosé petals. Each plate was an a floral achievement.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandFartravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
The rose of all the world is not for me.
I want for my part
Only the little white rose of Scotland
That smells sharp and sweet—and breaks the heart.
( H Macdairmid)

.....they gave up life to please you at breakies.

Many thanks for your kind note.....appreciation is great .........as Irene , I and Margena have to work quite hard to try to get it right and please..

Ewan Irene and Margena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
205 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Ewan and his wife are extremely nice hosts and they have a lovely house just outside of Edinburgh. The house is about a 2-3 min walk to the bus stop, which takes you non-stop (bus #3) into downtown Edinburgh (South Bridge stop) in about 35 mins. You can walk into Dalkeith in 5 mins to a nice Indian restaurant, and others farther down, maybe 10-12 mins. We had the "small family room" with a bed, bunk beds, and bathroom. A kettle was provided and coffee, tea, sugar, and cookies (biscuits, which were refreshed every day). The breakfasts were amazing! Fresh fruit daily, great coffee or tea, and a selection of at least 5 different breakfasts. I never thought I would eat fish for breakfast, but it is a Scottish thing to do, so we tried, and I'm glad that we did. The oat-encrusted herring was good, and my girls very much enjoyed the salmon. On our last day we had a special treat (not normally offered) of a haddock fish cake (with potatoes and leeks)--and it was nothing short of outstanding!

The owners (and their two dogs) were very nice. Ewan communicated quickly via e-mail during the booking phase, and they are easy to find with a GPS. They take credit cards, so no worries there.

My only recommendation would be to get WiFi in the upstairs rooms. You can get it in the breakfast room, but not upstairs (due to the construction of the house). I know that Ewan tried before, and spent hundreds of Pounds but a router blew-out on him. My only recommendation would be to try again. That aside, it would not keep me from strongly recommending Rathan House.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Many thanks for taking the review system seriously. You have clearly spent a lot of time and thought carefully about your review.

You are right about WIFI . We are hoist with our own petard a bit. In building the guesthouse rooms - we were absolutely clear that a critical build factor was Over the top noise insulation.
Double block walls hasnt helped the WiFI and post build testing means if we put a router in the upstairs and downstairs hallways - the signal is still miles better in the Guest lounge, Dining Room and the garden. The only way is cabling and 1 router per room. Anyway its a project we shall return to when we have few guests.

On breakies.....one of our subtexts is that, if you go with our flow, you get up from the breakfasts table with at least 4 of the 5 food elements the nutritionists & medical professionals say we should have daily. If we can keep getting guest comment that the tastes are great - ...job done. Its difficult for some guests when presented with things which differ l from their normal breakfast expectation. However we can not cook ( 8 different offerings ) 5 of which are authentic Highland breakfast in style....and do a fry up as well. ( I would need to have 2 great cooks like Irene) Its not going to work for 100% of guests.......but part of our rationale is that those on tour have had more or less the same wherever they go.......and then they get to Rathan. Its good that you liked the smoked haddock , leak, garlic , turmeric potato cakes. Full of flavour....I think the key to higher take up would be a more esoteric descriptor. We have a tendency to understate what we do....and its a confidence thing. Thank you - comment like yours does give us confidence - and we shall keep trying to improve.

Did we tell you the US was made in Scotland?......well it seems to work ! ( Joke!)

Irene and I would be delighted to see you at Rathan once again. There are 96 visitor attractions and great day out ideas in our list of suggestions.......AND its cheaper outwith the Edinburgh Festival period. Next time opt for the large family room....we think the extra space would have made all the difference.

All the best

Ewan Irene Hoolie and Willow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a pleasant stay here for two nights.

We stayed in the family room that consisted of a bunk bed for our two boys, which they loved and a king size for us. Very spacious room and with en suite.

The room opens out into the garden which was great for the kids who loved playing with the resident dogs, who are very friendly and playful.

Breakfasts are different with a selection of fish on the menu. But if you're not into that, you can still have cereal, scrambled egg, toast, and bacon. Personally I'd like there to be a choice of a traditional black pudding, sausages and eggs etc or even something classier like eggs benedict.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simba_dp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed in a family room for 3 nights with my 2 sisters. Very easy access to/from Edinburgh City Centre: less than a 30mins bus ride. We left the car in the Guest house and enjoyed our freedom in the City without any hassle about parking. The room was spacious, clean and pleasant. Excellent home-cooked breakfast with real coffee!!. Well maintained lovely garden to sit around and relax. Very kind and accommodating host who provided us with useful information. I would have liked to have our towels changed everyday but it was not a major problem at all. I Will recommend this guset house to my friends without any hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalkeith
0.6 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
926 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalkeith
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,300 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank

Property: Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Address: 45 Eskbank Road | Eskbank, Dalkeith EH22 3BH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Dalkeith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Dalkeith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BUS ( no. 3) to Edinburgh Royal Mile - 24 hra ( every 7 mins weekdays) from Rathan House driveway. Cost £1.50/ bus journey.Family Rooms - 2 doubles 3 twin 1 single 1 ( all ensuite)Airport ( 12 miles...95% dual carriageway) 16 minutesFamily holiday oriented upmarket Scottish Tourist Board quality rated 4 star guesthouse - with Parking in the Grounds - set in the leafy Eskbank conservation area with large sheltered peaceful 3/4 acres beautiful walled garden - with a croquet lawn. In an ideal location for park and ride to Edinburgh Scotland. . 7 all en-suite rooms with great memory foam medium firm mattresses. 1 very large and 1 smaller family room. 3 doubles and 1 twin . Near to Dalhousie Castle, Roslin Chapel, Dalkeith palace Adventure Playground and Country park & The Butterfly Farm. Well behaved dogs welcome. 13 Miles from Edinburgh Airport - along A720 (dual carriageway) making Dalkeith a great base for getting quickly to and from the airport for an Edinburgh fly/drive visit. It is also true that the road route into/out of Edinburgh is quicker than from any other direction. There are 6 restaurants/pubs within 2-5 min walk. 1 excellent - ITIHAAS - is 140 yds away. Bus runs every 10 mins to central Edinburgh from stop 30 meters from the driveway. Edinburgh Airport is a 14 minutes drive - 90% of which is dual carriageway...which makes Dalkeith a great base for Flydrive Edinburgh visits. Breakfasts:-Edwardian/ Highland in style - 10 cooked options including 5 seafood dishes - 3 courses - the opposite of an Ulster Fry. Signature dish - "Spealtragan" which few will have tasted. Curious? Let the fairy pipers DE-STRESS you at Rathan House in Eskbank! Dalkeith EH22 3BH ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathan House - The Guesthouse At Eskbank Dalkeith, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing