We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Ranked #1 of 5 Dalkeith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I needed a bed and breakfast place close to Edinburgh as we were collecting our daughter and all her stuff from the University. We were welcomed by a very genial, friendly and knowledgeable host who gave us lots of useful information about good places to eat. Our room was very comfortable and clean and looked out on to a nice garden area. The room was well equipped and had a good shower. At breakfast we were entertained by our host with more stories and anecdotes and enjoyed a freshly cooked breakfast, not a full Scottish breakfast but traditional Scottish dishes, as well as the usual buffet cereals, fruit and bread rolls. The location was ideal for its proximity to the city, there are plenty of places to eat locally and ample parking at the guest house. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Room Tip: The ground floor at the rear overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crayolp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    47
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
79
57
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CillDroichid
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We chose this B&B as the location was very close to family, staying for two nights. Handy bus route into town & very frequent service. Nice, clean, well kept rooms, though oddly mine had an elastic cord across two curtains in place of tie backs.

Nice garden at the back & the owners are evidently happy to have children play there, so good for families.

Other than fruit & porridge (which was nicely made) I didn't have a cooked breakfast so can't comment on it. As Sunday morning breakfast was being served at 8:30am, I skipped it completely.

Two suggestions for improvements would be to remove the key pads on the doors and return to standard keys and also put room numbers on the doors. Both of us found the key pads a nuisance, not having a room number the other member of my party found himself knocking on the wrong door!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CillDroichid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi

A lot of thought went into switching to keypads. The most important factor appears to us is that they give freedom to come and go 24 hours a day and are common in the workplace nowadays. They have helped preserve guest privacy / security and ours. We have been using them for 11 years and your suggestion that we go back to keys is the first . security is of course not a trivial issue.

Obviously it is not a precise science and you cant please 100% of the people 100% of the time. We certainly get the opposite view quite a lot and in the year after they were installed we asked most guests what they thought. Very good idea was the response from 69%. Good idea 12% and not strong view 22% ...leaving the balance with a keys preference. The switch to keypads cost us many 100's of £'s so a switch back would only be something to do if a new survey produced different results. We do normally do a practice keypad use with guests and run through bus and eating out options, but you were tired and obviously just keen to get a rest when you arrived....so I did not press ( pun) the practice.

It is true however that a spring in the outside guest door keypad was broken last weekend. ( Sorry) The new spring arrived 2 days ago and it is now fixed (and the handle no longer a bit droopy.)

Door numbers - something to consider but we only have 6 rooms ...and its in with the pile of things we could do which might make us just like a hotel ...one of our keys to success is not being hotel like....ensuring total guest privacy ( and ours) but having the feel of being homely. However it is certainly in our list of suggestions and we review all suggestions once a month.

We hope you enjoyed your trip and we are sorry the weather was not better.

Ewan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Family run and has homely feel. Host was easygoing and gave us a flavour of Highland culture, for example the breakfast on offer includes dishes that are different from traditional English or Scottish fare. Good location and ample parking if you have a car to access Edinburgh - a half-hour away. Great fine dining in the evening (Indian and Scottish) within 20 minutes walk.

The family has pet dogs, so although they're very friendly, guests have to be prepared for their presence! They barked a few times in the night and woke us up. Then again, watched a guest family's kids playing gleefully in the garden with them, so some people will enjoy them.

Breakfast is served on large communal dining tables, so be prepared to share space and chat with others. Personally I found this a bonus, as fellow travellers were friendly and exchanged useful tips.

Room Tip: Ground floor room has nice shower, but on the other hand, will be close to dining room sounds in ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mabliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Best and most refreshing breakfast I have ever had on my travels. Personaly the absense of a cooked breakfast on the highland breakfast menu was not missed. The alternative more than makes up for it. Great place and very near route 3 for buses.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seumasmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
We dont get many Gaels. Thanks for the kind comments.

Ceud Mile Faite !
Tigh na Rathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congleton cheshire england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Not a good place to go if you fancy a cooked breakfast or you want to watch tv in your room also if you want to have a shower everyday take your own towels as they only give you clean ones every second day

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netty765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan M, Owner at Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
I am the cook and am hurt. Surely the comment is defamatory?

Course 3 Mushrooms & Blue Cheese wrapped in bacon
French Toast & Bacon
Scrambled Egg/Bacon
Spinnach and poached egg
Welsh rarebit and grilled tomatoes
Boiled Egg & cheese chunks
Stornoway Black pud baps
Finnan Haddy and poached Egg
Grilled Kippers with Fennel & tattie scone
Spealtragan ( Herring, oatmeal breaded & fried) with tattie scone
Salmon poached in milk & Rosemary
Grilled smoked and peppered Mackeral

+ toast - home made jams and marmalade / Rowies / oatcakes
occasionally selection of cold meats platter & cheese selections

We can and do ensure fresh towels can be provided every day. More Defamation?. We are encouraged by the Scottish Tourist Board to provide heated towel rails ( we do) -( people come out of a shower clean) - but to help reduce our carbon footprint by encouraging fresh towels every second day.

TV's in every room, Guest TV lounge. Defamation number 3.

We pointed this out the defamations to Tripadvisor but Tripadvisor allows obvious defamation

I am hurt and wish Tripadvisor would enhance its systems so that obvious deliberate attempts to promote untruths and hurtful comments are not allowed.

I wonder what Rick Stein would do if his chef skills recieved untrue comment.

Irene MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This October (2013) I stayed at Rathan House for the second time. As in the year before, I enjoyed my stay very much, thanks to a clean, quiet and comfortable accomodation and to the kind, friendly and well-informed (esp. concerning Scottish history) hosts. That Edinburgh city centre and several other destinations can be reached quite easily from Rathan House is another advantage. If I can make it happen, I would like to return.

Dieter Fritsch

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed here for three nights whilst I visited family and found it delightful. The decor was appealing and of a high standard. Everything was thoroughly clean. The breakfasts were superb - everything was fresh, and the fish dishes were a lovely change from boring old bacon and eggs. I quite enjoyed the communal eating, it was a bit like being on a cruise. The resident dogs were well behaved and added a homely atmosphere. The host appeared a little eccentric, but it just added to the whole experience of the stay. I will certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olderlady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalkeith
0.6 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
0.5 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalkeith
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#2 of 5 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank

Property: Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank
Address: 45 Eskbank Road | Eskbank, Dalkeith EH22 3BH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Dalkeith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dalkeith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BUS ( no. 3) to Edinburgh Royal Mile - 24 hra ( every 7 mins weekdays) from Rathan House driveway. Cost £1.50/ bus journey.Family Rooms - 2 doubles 3 twin 1 single 1 ( all ensuite)Airport ( 12 miles...95% dual carriageway) 16 minutesFamily holiday oriented upmarket Scottish Tourist Board quality rated 4 star guesthouse - with Parking in the Grounds - set in the leafy Eskbank conservation area with large sheltered peaceful 3/4 acres beautiful walled garden - with a croquet lawn. In an ideal location for park and ride to Edinburgh Scotland. . 7 all en-suite rooms with great memory foam medium firm mattresses. 1 very large and 1 smaller family room. 3 doubles and 1 twin . Near to Dalhousie Castle, Roslin Chapel, Dalkeith palace Adventure Playground and Country park & The Butterfly Farm. Well behaved dogs welcome. 13 Miles from Edinburgh Airport - along A720 (dual carriageway) making Dalkeith a great base for getting quickly to and from the airport for an Edinburgh fly/drive visit. It is also true that the road route into/out of Edinburgh is quicker than from any other direction. There are 6 restaurants/pubs within 2-5 min walk. 1 excellent - ITIHAAS - is 140 yds away. Bus runs every 10 mins to central Edinburgh from stop 30 meters from the driveway. Edinburgh Airport is a 14 minutes drive - 90% of which is dual carriageway...which makes Dalkeith a great base for Flydrive Edinburgh visits. Breakfasts:-Edwardian/ Highland in style - 10 cooked options including 5 seafood dishes - 3 courses - the opposite of an Ulster Fry. Signature dish - "Spealtragan" which few will have tasted. Curious? Let the fairy pipers DE-STRESS you at Rathan House in Eskbank! Dalkeith EH22 3BH ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rathan House - the Guesthouse at Eskbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathan House - The Guesthouse At Eskbank Dalkeith, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing