We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great family meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cavaliere

The Cavaliere
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cavaliere is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 31 Restaurants in Dalkeith
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another great family meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Thanks to all the staff at The Cavaliere for another great family meal. Service fantastic and choice and quality of food very good. My husband had the seafood special and was very impressed. We will be back again soon.

Helpful?
Thank Evans1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavaliere D, Owner at The Cavaliere, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you very much for your great review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your meal once again with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon

Gemma & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    69
    21
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gluten free heaven! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I visited here in a party of eight for Mother's day having lived in the town for four years but never eaten here before. We were seated in the back room, but when I realised that my grandmother wouldn't be able to manage the stairs, the staff very quickly organised a table at the front of the restaraunt very near the door. The menu was extensive, and the quantity of gluten free food was fantastic and tasted excellent. We were taken very good care of, and will certainly return regularly. Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Good home cooked Italian food, good service and excellent value for money. Well worth the visit really enjoyed the atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Plain, honest - simple!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Does what it says on the tin.... lovely warm welcome, food fresh & tasty.... would return & recommend!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“No complaints from us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

The Cavaliere is a family friendly restaurant with an extensive menu. Prices are reasonable (we were just shy of £70 for 4 mains. 3 desserts, 3 soft drinks & a large wine). Food is fresh, well presented & tasty.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VickyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cavaliere also viewed

Bonnyrigg, Midlothian
Dalkeith, Midlothian
 
Dalkeith, Midlothian
Dalkeith, Midlothian
 
Dalkeith, Midlothian
 

Been to The Cavaliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing