We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL MEAL”
Review of The Cavaliere

The Cavaliere
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cavaliere is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Dalkeith
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL MEAL”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Have been here twice & will be back again excellent meal & wine - very friendly staff - great value especially mon-thurs discount & set menus thanks again

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheila h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavaliere D, Owner at The Cavaliere, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Sheila,

Thank you for the excellent review.

We have just updated the midweek offer, please pop in and let us know your thoughts.

Glad to know this has become a regular for you, and look forward to seeing you soon.

Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    74
    22
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Epic little traditional family run italian restaurant”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great food, from the home made breads to the daily specials of a standard well above your typical italian fare. That said, the pizza's and pastas are lovely too. Now a regular haunt for us, Service is great and genuinely friendly too - knowledgeable and passionate about the dishes. Highly recommended. Front room of the restaurant feels much more open and traditional.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavaliere D, Owner at The Cavaliere, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Garry,
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.
The waiting staff are very passionate about food and wines.
We have passed your kind comments on to them,

Gemma & Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and staff”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The staff bend over backwards to accommodate your needs, and the food was absolutely beautiful. We had starters of bred and olives and olive oil. They were perfect with a special blend of olive oil, Mmmmmm. They made a special Italian pizza for my 12 year old daughter and we had seafood risotto, it had more than enough seafood in and the rice was gorgeous. The wine and coffee and ice cream sundae we had just topped the meal off perfectly. I wish this restaurant would move closer to me. I would definitely be a regular

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavaliere D, Manager at The Cavaliere, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Christine,
Thank you for the wonderful review.
We import our olive oil from our home-town in Italy!
We do pride ourselves on our service and quality of food! We have passed on your comments to our staff.
Next time you are in the area, please pop in to see us!

Regards
Gemma Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalkeith, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Monday night meal”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Restaurant now has a midweek menu at last and it is excellent value with a good choice of starters and mains. The service was very good and attentive.
Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GordonMcGhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavaliere D, Owner at The Cavaliere, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Gordon,

We are glad that you like our midweek menu, it has just been updated, so please pop in to see the changes!

Gemma & Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friends night out”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had a lovely meal in the Cavaliere. Food excellent great choice service very good. Very reasonably priced. I would recommend this restaurant for a very nice meal in comfortable surroundings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank legseleven37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavaliere D, Owner at The Cavaliere, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

We do pride ourselves on the quality of our produce, and have a excellent team of experienced waiters!

We look forward to seeing you once again at the Cavaliere

Gemma & Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cavaliere also viewed

Bonnyrigg, Midlothian
Dalkeith, Midlothian
 
Dalkeith, Midlothian
Lasswade, Midlothian
 

Been to The Cavaliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing