We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it used to be”
Review of The Cavaliere

The Cavaliere
Reserve with OpenTable
The Cavaliere is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Dalkeith
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have eaten here for a number of years usually 4 or 5 times a year. Our last two visits have been a bit disappointing though. The service is as friendly as it has always been and the prices are very reasonable, especially on weekdays. However, the food is not as good as it used to be. On our recent visit the chicken salad had very little salad with it, the burger was rather tasteless and the burger bun was very dry as if it was not fresh. If this had been a one off then I would have presumed it was just an off day but unfortunately our last three visits have been similar. Has there perhaps been a change of Kitchen staff?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ROAMINGSCOT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavaliere D, Owner at The Cavaliere, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
We are sorry to hear that you have had a disappointing experience in the restaurant.

We have had no change in Kitchen staff.

I am glad to hear that our service has stayed the same standard though!

Please email me at enquires@thecavaliere.co.uk with your details.

I hope to see you once again, and give us the chance to show our quality is the same as always!

Thanks Gemma & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    73
    22
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"A little slice of Italy...."”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had another fantastic meal last Friday. Staff prompt and helpful as always. Food fresh and very tasty. Would definitly recommend the mussels as a starter. Great value for money too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lothianlad2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavaliere D, Owner at The Cavaliere, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Many thanks for your review. We always like to hear feedback from our customers!
we hope to see you soon

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauder Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“On the whole....very good”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a meal here to celebrate my brother's Birthday. Unfortunatly the gin and tonic/bitter lemon tasted very musty and the bitter lemon was out of date, we told the waiter that the gin did not taste right, he brought us another gin to try, it smelt the same, we decided that maybe it was musty glasses and put up with it. Some of us had the King Scallops which were divine, my husband had the tortollini which sadly was tasteless. However the service was first class. They let us bring a cake and all the waiters gathered around the table and sang Happy Birthday...a nice touch but maybe would have been better if they asked if we wanted that.

It was an expensive meal and ther was no offer of a reduction given that the bitter lemon was out of date and the gin did not taste right.

However we had a lovely evening, thanks to you all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenlauderscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL MEAL”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Have been here twice & will be back again excellent meal & wine - very friendly staff - great value especially mon-thurs discount & set menus thanks again

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sheila h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavaliere D, Owner at The Cavaliere, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Sheila,

Thank you for the excellent review.

We have just updated the midweek offer, please pop in and let us know your thoughts.

Glad to know this has become a regular for you, and look forward to seeing you soon.

Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Epic little traditional family run italian restaurant”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great food, from the home made breads to the daily specials of a standard well above your typical italian fare. That said, the pizza's and pastas are lovely too. Now a regular haunt for us, Service is great and genuinely friendly too - knowledgeable and passionate about the dishes. Highly recommended. Front room of the restaurant feels much more open and traditional.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavaliere D, Owner at The Cavaliere, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Garry,
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.
The waiting staff are very passionate about food and wines.
We have passed your kind comments on to them,

Gemma & Tony Crolla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cavaliere also viewed

Bonnyrigg, Midlothian
Dalkeith, Midlothian
 
Dalkeith, Midlothian
Lasswade, Midlothian
 

Been to The Cavaliere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing