We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch time catchup”
Review of The Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sun Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Dalkeith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lunch time catchup”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Nicely set out with plenty of space. Good atmosphere and attentive staff. Food was ok but nothing special have had better in similar establishments. I had pasta and it was a bit stodgy. It's a big isolated in terms of location so you would only drop in if you lived locally. Would possibly go back though

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AlexCath0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    38
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
46
5
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights taking in the tattoo and the festival. We stayed in the signature room which was excellent and well worth the extra money. Loved the copper bath at the end of the bed! There was no traffic noise at all despite the pub being on a main road. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday evening and were very impressed with the choice, the food and the service. We were glad that we pre-booked however because they were full. Obviously a sign of popularity. We visit Scotland every other year and would definitely return and recommend to other people.

Room Tip: Pay for the signature room as it is not on the front of the pub and offers excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank impressedguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed one night on a tour of Scotland. Room modern and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Had a meal in the pub in the evening fantastic food and breakfast was delicious and hott with good choice. The only down side is the pub is on a major road which if you have your window open can disturb your sleep but was not a big issue for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floridadream04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I agree with the reviews in general about the food being good but found the experience with friends a bit embarrassing.It was my choice to stay here for 2 days.Booked the restaurant for the first night as the second would be at the Tattoo [written a separate review on this] We ordered a half Lobsters,2 Beef shins and Fish and Chips.The Beef came out with tiny portions and with no Vegetables but had 6 stacked chips on each plate [yes 6].The Lobster came out next and unfortunately for me,was the smallest served in Restaurant and was to be honest hardly legal size and i politely mentioned this to the waitress who agreed [but did nothing] but then quickly followed a HUGE plate of fish and chips .The comparisons were ridiculous .The prices for these were expensive for such poor quality surroundings.Having said all that,what we did have was delicious as were the Breakfast.Really nice Breakfast !! 5 stars for breakfast.Lastly,although the rooms were well presented with very large beds,traffic noise could be heard all through the night and as all bedrooms faced the main road.Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our first night in Scotland was spent in this wonderful little inn. The food was just superb - which was a great joy as we'd been traveling for close to 20 hours and had been living on airline/airport food (and a few cocktails). We luckily found the patio, and enjoyed the lush and beautiful greenery, a smattering of rain - and the heat lamps next to our table (hey, we're from the desert, 60 degrees is chilly to us!). The entire staff was fabulous and couldn't have been more accommodating.

The room was comfy if a bit smallish, but what a wonderful view of the bridge, and how great to wake-up a bit jet-lagged and only have to stumble down the stairs to breakfast!

Speaking of breakfast - it was far too much to contemplate, with a myriad of selections - we enjoyed the fresh coffee, a bit of toast, some fruit, but above all the friendly service. A taxi was called for us by the lovely folks working that morning, and we were off - a perfect beginning to a perfect vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Have already reviewed the restaurant for this wonderful Inn but just wanted to add a couple of comments about the room I stayed in. Top class bed, bathroom & power shower, Wifi was not working too well but the staff assured me that top class BT system will be in place soon. My room was at the front of the Inn which is on a busy main road so if you want to sleep in then ask for one at the rear. Breakfast is top class with a warm welcome from the staff who want to make your stay a good one!!! Will I be back too true, but at the rooms away from the road :-)

PS book a table if you want to eat the top quality food here it was 80% full on the Tuesday night with no special promotions!!! speaks for its self eh??

Room Tip: Away from the main road if you can!!! Honest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ril8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Went to the sun inn today and had high tea, I was a little disappointed that you only got one piece of bread each and a large amount of butter and dip, but after that we got a lovely next course and then a surprise selection of cakes on a miniature picnic table which we were not able to finish but we were asked if we wanted them wrapped to take home. Slightly pricey but the food tasted good so didn't mind paying a little extra.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalkeith
1.6 mi away
Melville Castle
Melville Castle
#2 of 3 in Dalkeith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalkeith
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.7 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Newcraighall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Inn

Property: The Sun Inn
Address: Lothianbridge, Dalkeith EH22 4TR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Dalkeith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dalkeith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sun Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun Inn Dalkeith, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing