We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bombay Lounge

Bombay Lounge
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Dalkeith
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$24
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Bangladeshi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We visit the Bombay Lounge on a regular basis and it never disappoints. The food is always excellent, very tasty and always very fresh. Would highly recommend the Bombay Lounge for sit in and takeaway.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    57
    25
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth trying”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have been loyal Itihaas customers since they opened however their takeaway has declined somewhat to the point we don't use it anymore. We decided we'd try Bombay Lounge and we weren't disappointed. Good portion sizes, tasty dishes and excellent customer service. We will definitely be using this restaurant again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzytop70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Claire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have a love for very spicy food, of course it has to also have taste and flavour and so often the food we purchased just could not manage this and one always won over the other. We exhausted Midlothian trying to find a curry that could meet our requirements, but nothing impressed us. We even started venturing into town in the hope of finding the right curry until Bombay Lounge opened in Dalkeith. We have never ordered from anywhere else since, the food is fantastic and the chef is happy to cater to our specific tastes. The spices do not overpower the flavours and it all comes together brilliantly, we like to try different curries as we know they will always taste great and the kids really love the haggis pakoras (everyone should try these) We just wouldnt eat anywhere else now.

Helpful?
1 Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better even than the weather!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My first visit here - and it won't be my last! After a lovely day seeing the best of the locality, we had a fantastic meal .... The Haggis Pakora seems legendary and indeed the food was excellent .... And very reasonably priced ... you will not be disappointed. Have eaten in many great Indian restaurants and this one is now added to my list. What really makes a great restaurant with great food special, of course, is the staff and the atmosphere. From our initial greeting to Rony's friendly service and the facility to take leftover stuff away with us, we were treated like family!!!! A truly magical meal... Thank you!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sit in & take away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I have both sat in and ate and phoned in and they have delivered both meals were high quality and very good service

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Norrie1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bombay Lounge also viewed

Dalkeith, Midlothian
Dalkeith, Midlothian
 
Dalkeith, Midlothian
Dalkeith, Midlothian
 
Bonnyrigg, Midlothian
Loanhead, Midlothian
 

Been to Bombay Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing