We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon suite.... lovely for a couple married 33 years !!!!!!!”
Review of Melville Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melville Castle
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dalkeith
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here Sunday with my husband and was so impressed with our room.... beautiful.
Dinner was average with salmon starter rather bland. Main salmon potatoes and broccoli all cooked lovely but very dry and could have benefited with a suitable sauce .We were served by the owners nephew who told us all bad reviews were filtered....I did not know you could do this on trip advisor.
Breakfast a total disaster. We had to wait for a table to be cleared (5 mins)
No glasses for juice had to wait (8 mins)
No milk on table had to get some from another diner despite waiting for (10 mins) for the waiter to bring me some.
Two waiters running...literally like headless chickens and a manager avoiding all eye contact. Cold toast put on table and if it was flashed in a toaster for 10 secs would have been browner. Asked for fresh toast to be told we have run out of white bread ???????????????
A hotel running out of bread....first experience of this.
Went to buffet and there were 8 uncovered dishes with congealed beans, a dish with 10 tiny mushrooms, a dish with half a tomato and a poor selection in the other 5 dishes. cereal was sparse with 2 bowls and a few cereal boxes. All pastries eaten and we came to breakfast one hour before the restaurant closed!!!!!!
You have to arrange your buffet better as it is situated at the end of the restaurant where the waiters are not able to see what needs replenished.
I asked for a cheese and onion omelette as I don't eat meat and 20 mins later it finally arrive albeit a bit greasy and overcooked. I have give a rating of very good for the location, the room, the receptionists and the lovely waiter who I tipped for his lovely smile and service. I did not get his name unfortunately. would I go back. Yes if the above issues are addressed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottiewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

806 - 812 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 night after securing a deal on Amazon Local for £99 dinner, bed and breakfast. Whilst I wasn't expecting the world, I have to say I left feeling very disappointed.

The location and actual building are fantastic but overall the building needs a lot of TLC and redecoration to make it a decent standard. We booked a twin room but on arrival at our room, we had been given a double (situated at the end of an extension - not actually in the beautiful castle itself). We asked for the beds to made into twins which we were told was not a problem. We went for a drink whilst this was done but later we were told that housekeepping had gone home but there was another room which was already made up as a twin (fortunatley this was in the actual castle) so we took this instead. Overall this was handled very well and I have to mention Rory, on reception who handled this for us and was extremely friendly and poilte.

Unfortunatley the room really was a bit dated and the bathroom full of cobwebs and had mud splattered all over the window. The beds, whilst comfortable, were the narrowest beds I have ever seen!

We had a table booked in the Brasserie at 8.30pm (15 mins before last orders we were told). Overall the food was extremely disappointing with our main courses arriving seconds after our starters were cleared, clearly having been left under the hotlamp (as the chefs had gone) as they were lukewarm with lumpy mashed potatoes swimming in a puddle of watery gravy. Desert was Ok but clearly bought in, maybe something that should be thought about for all food given the rest was inedible.

Unfortunatley this is where we experienced one of the rudest waitresses I think I have ever had the misfortune to endure. Close to the end of the night, we were speaking to Ben (another very friendly, polite and professional staff member) who was explaining (at our request) about the history of the building. The waitress in question was very loudly setting up for breakfast around us (which I appreciate needs to be done but there is way of doing this when guests are in the room!) when she stopped beside us, cleared her throat VERY loudly and glared at Ben, basically demanding that he stop talking to us and help her. Completely unprofessional given he was speaking to guests, and to be honest I was completely shocked. If you don't want to service the public and be polite then may I suggest that you do not work in the service industry!

Overall, a very disappointing stay given the potential there is for this to be a stunning hotel. Somebody please rescue this place before it goes to ruin

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Nice building and good setting but a rubbish hotel.
Mediocre to poor service, dated and unattractive decor. Uncomfortable beds.
Particularly poor breakfast with dirty dishes, no crockery or cutlery and unappealing food. Sadly we weren't the only guests for breakfast who were experiencing the same thing.
So much potential in this building, just a real shame that it's not taking advantage in any shape or form.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a great time at Melville Castle. After travelling around Scotland for two weeks, it was great to come to residence Melville to relax. It was a perfect place to get back the energy and think about everything that we have just experienced.

The atmosphere is good, and you will finally get time to heal your soul.

The Castle is specialized in weddings, but is now also open for other guests. It is about 25 minutes outside Edinburgh, and 15 minutes from the airport. The bus stops just outside the gate to the castle.

Have you ever dreamed of sleeping in a castle, then this is the place for you.

- Kristoffer
www.kinggoya,com

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KingGoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

was treated to a night in this beautiful place ,its a shame my stay was not longer we had what they called a standard double room which was lovely the bed was huge and very comfy,the room was clean as was the bathroom, we were a bit worried what it would be like after reading some remarks we could not find fault with a single thing,the staff were all very pleasant and helpful the meals were very good,it was self service at breakfast after they came with your tea and toast but you had loads to choose from so will definitely be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizwaitt-adamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

On arriving , our first impression was how lovely the setting was . Check in was easy with our Groupon voucher . The room was very spacious with a large bed , ample storage space and good sized bathroom . The dinner was of a good standard and we couldn't fault the service either and they were very attentive . We had good evening's sleep as the area is very quiet . Breakfast was a buffet style with cereals, yoghurts, croissants and fruit juices to choose from . Toast , tea and coffee are brought to your table and the staff were good at asking if you wanted any more . There were eight different options for the cooked breakfast that you helped yourself to and we found that was more than ample . The hotel is only 5 mins too the nearest park and ride for Edinburgh and about 20 minutes from the Royal Yacht Brittania which we recommend highly . Also easy access for visiting the East Lothian coastline . We enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely return in the future . And would happily recommend to anyone . Very helpfull staff made the visit even more enjoyable .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is really spacious, wide open staircases and immaculate decoration. The room was spacious with a couple of arm chairs. The food was of quite a good standard but we felt was let down by the dinning room being below ground level with the only natural light coming from the very top of the windows which were just about level with the ground outside. It was also rather cramped. Breakfast was fine, and although all pre-cooked in warming plates the scrambled egg was still soft and not congealed. The view from our window was over a large open green with a fountain and it was very quiet. There were no banging doors or noises through the night. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalkeith
2.4 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,473 reviews
3.1 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A7 (Dalkeith) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Edinburgh A1 (Musselburgh) Hotel
4.9 mi away
Best Western Edinburgh South Braid Hills Hotel
3.5 mi away
Best Western Kings Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Castle

Address: Gilmerton Road, Dalkeith EH18 1AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Midlothian > Dalkeith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dalkeith
Price Range: £75 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melville Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Castle, once home to the influential Dundas family, is set within a 50 acre estate of wooded parkland on the picturesque banks of the river North Esk. Located just 20 minute drive from Edinburgh’s city center this luxurious castle offers the tranquility of a country setting on the doorstep of this thriving city. The 32 classically styled bedrooms offer all the luxury & comfort you deserve and our friendly team will take pleasure in catering to all your requirements during your stay. The Castle provides Bed and Breakfast accommodation and there are a number of award winning and highly recommended restaurants within 5 minutes drive. At one time the hunting seat of Mary Queen of Scots, the Castle was commissioned by the first Viscount Melville in 1791 for entertaining, which it continues to do to this day. We have ample free parking and a frequent 24 hour bus service to Edinburgh from the bus stop at the Castle Gates. Complimentary city maps and bus timetable are available at reception. Whether lounging with a drink next to a crackling fire in our library bar, or relaxing over a game of croquet on the lawn, we are sure you will enjoy your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melville Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Castle Dalkeith, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing