We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What has happened ?????” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blacksmith's Forge

The Blacksmith's Forge
Ranked #16 of 30 Restaurants in Dalkeith
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What has happened ?????”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Not been for a while, but none of the usual staff around and a huge drop in standards. Ordered 2 coffees. 1cup had a huge chip in it, the other, no handle!!!!!!! I asked if there was no management present, only to discover the coffees had been prepared by the manager. No saucers either. No excuse. Bring back Jonathan and the Polish girl.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    28
    18
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Prison food ???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We came here for breakfast . I knew it wasn't going to be fantastic but bloody hell . I could eat a scabby horse when I'm hungry . Burnt toast, rock hard eggs, sausages that only a chainsaw could get through and black pudding like hockey pucks . I wish I could comment on the bacon etc but after having my taste buds assaulted I felt it was only fair to just surrender . The manager was kind enough to give us a refund . I know it's a Wetherspoons but c'mon . They should do a version of man v's food here . Eat a breakfast within three days and not lose any teeth and win a t-shirt with a slogan saying " I should have gone for the scabby horse "

Helpful?
1 Thank Russell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“took far to long with food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

waited far to long for food when my wifes steak came it was quite burnt she ate what she could we will never go back

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good value and always busy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I frequent this bar often when I visit my son and daughter in law who live nearby. Four of us enjoyed a fairly pleasant feed on a very busy Saturday night. With Wetherspoons it is what it is - decent pub grub at affordable prices normally served with efficient staff. Excellent and varied drink choices. Good place to start a night out in a busy Saturday night town.

I'll be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OhDannyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great family dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Went to the blacksmiths forge for a family meal. It was great value for money.The food came within 10mins and was delicious. The kids enjoyed drawing and having their pictures put up on the wall. Very friendly staff. Would recommend a visit. Noticed they run food offers most nights so can eat out more often without breaking the bank

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank c r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blacksmith's Forge also viewed

Dalkeith, Midlothian
Dalkeith, Midlothian
 
Dalkeith, Midlothian
Dalkeith, Midlothian
 
Dalkeith, Midlothian
 

Been to The Blacksmith's Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing